Fiction logo

Strange Love

The north wind roared with snowflakes, like a huge beast with its bloody mouth open, as if it could swallow me as a small snack in one bite.

By Linda T HarberPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Strange Love
Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

The north wind roared with snowflakes, like a huge beast with its bloody mouth open, as if it could swallow me as a small snack in one bite. At this point, the young me was already overwhelmed by its fright - although I am now in my mother's arms, I still have palpitations.

It was a New Year's day when I followed my mom and dad to a big supermarket for shopping. The naughty me had long seen a toy store and thought to myself, how exciting it would be to buy a new toy. However, there were already countless toys at home, and my mom would not approve of me buying anymore. I decided to sneak into the toy store and have a look around, just for the fun of it. I quietly left my mom and went into the toy store, immersing myself in my own "toy world".

One minute, two minutes; ten minutes, twenty minutes ...... With time, I suddenly found that I could not find my mom and dad! I suddenly became anxious, eyes like a scanner, not a moment to "scan" the crowd of people coming and going. This is my familiar parents? No! Is that the parent I know so well? Neither! At that moment, I saw a couple rushing by. I couldn't see their faces, but I felt that they were my parents! I called out loudly, and with a start, their faces under their hats became clear: small eyes, big noses, two pairs of strange eyes looking at me like aliens - they were not my parents! Sadness, embarrassment, and disappointment crowded my little heart, crushing me with pain.

Looking at the couple leaving behind me, my vision blurred and tears came to my eyes - my mom and dad would never find me again, I would be living on the streets and become a poor orphan! I was like a bereaved dog, cowering in a corner and crying. At that moment, an aunt noticed my strange appearance and gently asked me, "Little friend, what's wrong with you?" I looked up and saw her bright eyes looking at me with concern. She squatted down, touched my head with her hand, and took a tissue out of her bag to help me dry my tears. I saw that she must not be a bad person. So I told her exactly what had happened. "No rush, no rush, I have a good way to find your parents." Auntie smiled at me and went on to say, "Let's go to the radio station and shout on the radio to find your parents, they will surely hear you." When I heard that, I burst into tears and laughed like I had eaten a "soul-calming". I nodded obediently and followed her to the radio station ......

"Hello Hao Guoyi parents, your child is waiting for you at the radio station, please go to the radio station to find your child ......" I was so excited to hear the announcement and to think that I was about to meet my dear parents that tears came out of my eyes. After waiting for a while, I found my haggard-faced parents running toward me. Seeing their messy hair, excited eyes, and excited faces, my nose tingled and I rushed over to them, hugging them tightly. The strangers around me understood what had happened, as if they had all become my relatives, kindly comforting our stunned family, and the sound of laughter and chatter echoed for a long time on the radio station. The aunt also smiled cheerfully at us, and without our noticing, she left quietly, not even in time to receive a "thank you" from me.

Years later, I still remember that strange aunt from time to time, her voice and smile lingered and remained deep in my heart, and her memory has never faded. Thank you, strange aunt!

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Linda T Harber

Love to read, love to create, love to live

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.