Fiction logo

On Hold

Microfiction

By Ada ZubaPublished 16 days ago 3 min read
2
On Hold
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

Being on hold is annoying. We all despise it, the dumb hold music that sounds like it belongs in an elevator and of course it gets stuck in your head playing over and over. Yet, here I was just bopping along to the music waiting for someone to pick up. I would normally hang up, but someone had hacked into my bank account and treated themselves at one of the most expensive hotels in the world: Four Seasons hotel for 45, 000 grad which was mean to go to my downpayment for my house and last time I called they simply closed down that card and gave me a new one they did not even refund that money that was taken away. My husband was to be contributing 50,000 luckily, they only got me this time and I can still hear my husband's voice in my head "It's probably from shopping on Temu". Yeah, I do spend a lot of time scrolling, but I bought something last week and it was not them. My item arrived without fail and the card would have said Temu transaction or something of that effect. I started to unload the dishwasher, then suddenly came on the voice that I had been waiting for:

"Hello, this is Walter with TD Bank, how can I assist you today?" he asked.

"Oh, hi, I was going through my transactions, and I did not stay at four seasons or get a spa experience, then when I reported it all of the money that was drained from my account was never replaced," i said.

"Oh, that does not sound good at all, may I have the credit card number ma'am", he said. Ugh, ma'am it makes me feel so old whenever someone uses that. I am not a ma'am I am not even thirty yet. You might be wondering why on earth do I have that much money in my bank account well working four jobs certainly helps and there's a few side hustles like being an amazon associate that helps, you know with the you should buy this:

Insert link here:

and people certainly buy it, it's so nice having income constantly coming in without doing a whole lot of work, it was the only reason I am able to buy a house now!

"Oh right, my card, just one sec," I said, and I scrambled to find my purse, I had used it last to buy gas and I threw it in loosely. I should know better than to do that.

"Take your time," he said and for some reason that made me rush even more, where was the damn thing? I took my purse and threw all the contents out: there goes my compact mirror under the couch, there goes the loose change, my pack of gum, extra socks, an old broken watch of my husband's, a rock because you never know when you need one of those! My husband's ray bans, which look so stellar on any man, in case if you're interested you can get them off amazon:

Damn it! where was that dang credit card, I emptied my pad pocket with haste, my keys were on the floor. I shook the purse some more and there fell out my credit card.

"Ma'am, if this is a bad time I can call you back?" he said.

"No, no. I have it right here it's 1234 5678 910233" I said reading out the card.

"Okay, so you say the transaction that is March 14 is incorrect?" he asked.

"Yes, that's right." I told him.

"Okay, so I do see we gave you a new card and the transaction is now...hmm...it looks like we are still pending that money back into your bank account it, was quite a lot of money, so it's probably taking a while to get that back into your account and you called the day it happened, which was two days ago?" he asked for clarification.

"Yes."

"That's why. You need to give it at least five days," he said.

"Oh, okay yeah no one told me that, I should wait the five days and see if it's there and if not, I should call you back in five days?" I asked.

"Yes, call back again," and with that the conversation ended.

I was on hold for nearly three hours, and nothing was resolved. Guess I will have to endure the hold music once more.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.