Fiction logo

Last Chance.

The new world we live in.

By Theresa HinesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

So, I'm staying at this gas station for the night. While searching for supplies, I found a empty notebook. Luckily its full of paper, so I can be write often on my journey home. I've raided shops, which i'm not proud of but it's how I managed to survive. Trucking through a deep sea of ash and little light to make home.

How many days has it's been now... a week, a month? i'm not sure anymore I've lost count a few days ago. All i'm focused on is finding my family. All I had left was a picture heart shaped locket of them. On the left heart was a picture of her husband and herself on there wedding day, on the right was a picture of there kids.

Well so much for this fun trip, my friends and I that was supposed to happen in Jamaica. My husband and I live in the Seattle, WA with our children. A ten year old boy, fourteen old girl, and an adult eighteen year old boy whose away at college. Luckily he went to "Seattle University" so I would see him often... I'm trying no to cry while writing this under a flashlight. My family encouraged, my girlfriend and I to go on vacation. So as a group we agreed to go to Jamaica. Unfortunately, we are still stuck here because of cancelled flights.

That's when the tragic events happened, we were so excited chatting about what would we do once we landed. That's when an emergency system broadcasted throughout the entire airport.

"Attention! the Yellowstone volcano is about to erupt, the smoke is extremely high and every needs to evacuate now!" the message repeated, the was a video of a clear visual of the disaster that's about to hit.

I was ignorant enough not to care, thinking it was a false alarm or a prank... but that's when the earthquake happened. Screams erupted throughout the airport and people was rushing towards the exit. For some reason, something told me to hide. Go to the bathroom and hide! but my friends did the exact opposite and joined the crowd trying to rush out. So I was the only one walks to the restroom and crouched down in one of the stalls... After that I waited...

In the end, all I could hear was the sounds of chaos, I don't know how i've managed to survive, through the destruction many days of the world as we once knew it was gone. When I walked out, or rather crawled out from the rumble and all that was around was destruction and the world was silent. All that could be heard was the mini drops of water from pipes. It was freezing, but luckily in my bag I had a coat. But I had to find something else. It's a good thing I'm a nurse, so I knew the basics of survival. The windows were completely shattered, but outside it was much worse. The sun... was gone... only a few rays of light managed to leak from the thick clouds in the sky. While wondering around the air port, there was bodies everywhere even though the ground was covered in soot it was clear from the outline of men, woman, and children. It as smart for me to hide in the bathroom.

After about a month now, I am here at this abandon gas station, with the few supplies I found. A few cans of food, bottles filled with water from a stream nearby, first aid kit, and other items i've found. I had received a message from my husband, "We're okay", "Please be safe and hurry home...", "I love you..." was the last message sent before everything went down. No time to cry, while i'm trying to make it back home. We live in the mountains, so hopefully they are safe. But it's been so long i'm unsure, and I have another few days before I get home. Is this really the world now? I haven't come across survivors yet but i'm sure they're out there.

I pray that when i return, my family... Is okay... They have to be right?

If not I don't know how i'll move on... All I have left, is the heart shaped locket that reminds me of the life I used to have. A life now gone forever...

Wish me luck

I'll write when I can...

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.