Humans logo

A Night to Remember.

My dream date wasn't supposed to happen like this.

By Theresa HinesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

"6:30 PM"

The time read on the clock, on my stove. I am still sitting here on my couch, watching "Bridgerton" on Netflix. My name is Theresa, I just got off work, as a data engineer. I changed into my oversized bunny shirt and short shorts, while opening a bottle of Merlot wine to celebrate the weekend.

I had many text messages left on read. I was suppose to meet my date around 7:00 PM at this fancy resturant downtown. However, I decided it was not worth it, so I chickened out and decided to go.

Yes, I ghosted him! But to be fair, I did come up with some excuse not to see him. At least thirty minutes or so ago that I wasn't coming. And before you jump to conclusions, No he wasn't a catfish or a creepo... He was actually perfect... He checked all of the boxes, on my mentail list.

A god fearing, empathic, confident/cocky, and someone I could talk too for hours... I was scared, that he was to good, to be true... so I decided to save myself the heart ach

It was for the best... right?

But I feel a little guilty. Even though, I technically didn't owe this indiviual anything, since we never met in person. Part of me feels bad, for using the rain as an excuse to bail. Stuck in traffic, the typical but great excuse even though it was an obvious lie.

I know I’m pathetic...

As I sit on the couch, drinking a sip glass of her favorite Merlot wine... well more of drowning my quilt and shame.

After drinking the first bottle, but before I got up to head towards the kitchen, my I-phone chimed. Alerting, me of a new message. I was confused, because I didn't expect this at all.

At first, I decided to ignore the message grabbing another bottle of wine. "This is going to be a long night... " she said to herself, drinking almost half of the second bottle.

I summoned the courage, to check the notification on my phone.

It was a new message... from him...

"Joshua..." I whispers in shock. "Why?"

I took a deep breath before reading notification. I expected, the message to be rude for not showing up. Slowly I took another sip of her Merlot for comfort and reassurance myself that everything was going to be okay...

After opening it... Finally...

I was surprised, at what the message read.

“So..." the first blue bubble read "I understand this might sound weird, but I really want to see you... Theresa, can I come over?” The message read. Followed by another bubble "Please."

Reading the message a few times, over and over until it was clear. "He wants to still see me... after what I've done..." she whispers. She sips another... Well more like, drinks the entire full glass. She was going to leave It on reading, but deep down told her not to and respond. So following my gut I replied.

“Um... sure, I don’t mind...” then I typed my address then sent it to him. To see if he would actually come.

“Great, I’ll be there in 30 maybe 40 minutes” he responded.

Since the two had each other Instagram and other social media, of course we haven’t seen each other in person. We have seen enough pictures to get an idea of what each other looks like, so she afraid of stranger danger.

Is he serious? He wasn’t going to show up, this was just a joke or a prank to show off to his friends.

Around 8:00 pm, she was about to get up to grab another bottle. When there was a sudden knock at her door.

Standing frozen for a moment, thinking there was no way that was him... no way. Looking herself in the big mirror, she sighs in relief that she looks decent.

Nervously, she opens the door to see a her "blind date" in front of her door. A very tall about 6,5 with orange-reddish hair, handsome face and a muscular built almost like a bear.

His smile was beautiful and he had a small bouquet of flowers in his hands “I knew you would chicken out on our date, so I came to to you” he said in a deep husky voice as I stood there dumbfounded that he really came.

Her was definitely her type, but honestly she was surprised he was interested in her. Especially since I look nothing like the girls that hangs on his arms, in his instagram photos.

"Are you going to invite me in?" he askedwith a cocky but sweet attitudee.

After closing the door behind him, I offered him a seat on the couch... Glad he didn't say anything about the mess.

"would you like a glass of Merlot?"

"Sure..."

This was the best date I've ever had, as we sat on the couch together. Getting to know each other, talking and laughing while drinking several glasses of wine together.

I even let Joshua, stay the night but i'll leave the details to you're imaginations.

dating
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.