Fiction logo

I am Jack's tumour

Wednesday 5th June, Story #157/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 18 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Created with AI

I've always been able to See things, as long as I can remember. Small snippets of insight. Flashes I call them. That's what they are. Quick. Sometimes big, sometimes small. Could be what a stranger ate for breakfast, or what your nana said to you before she died. I've always accepted it as part of who I am.

I tremble, apparently. My eyes lose focus, sometimes flickering, like I'm dreaming. It's clear to those around me I've spaced out. "Gone blank", Danni says.

There's something going on up there, in my head. Something pressing on something else. Growing. Flashes got more frequent. I've had flashes of temper, too. Bad language. Like a different personality rearing its head. I can't get a bit between its teeth.

Danni convinced me to go and get checked. I hesitated. I rationalised by saying that it's another flash; I should listen to it. But then the blackouts got worse, I'd fully pass out, openly fitting.

Now I wait in this uncomfortable bed, in this ridiculous gown, for them to bring the consent forms.

I'm not sure I'm going to do it. Sign, I mean. Go through with the surgery.

More rationalising: it's because they're going through my eye. I could lose sight in that eye. And this: a nick or nudge one millimetre to the left or right... And I could come out changed. The one that rears an ugly, unbittable, unbiddable head... could be me, permanently.

There's more than one way to die. I'm facing them.

I've been having seizures all this time. It's hard to accept the Sight was a curse, not a gift. I don't want to lose it.

Even if the surgery goes well, I'll be changed.

For the better? Maybe.

It's not a part of who I am. It is who I am. My flashes were my whole personality.

I am a tumour in my head. I glance back at my life, seeing the smugness... I don't like it. Don't like me... But I don't know how to be anything else. Don't want to be anything else.

So I lie here, wrestling with these thoughts, waiting. Hoping I have another flash of insight to guide me.

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count, excluding note: 366

Submitted on 5th June at 21.43

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent. Might buy a star, like that dude in Three Body Problem.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 157 day streak since 1st January.


Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!


Rachel Deeming


Gerard DiLeo


The story behind the story: I got this idea from Beans in Rango. (I love that movie by the way - very underrated!) First time I saw it, her quirk fascinated the heck out of me. I thought, Where does she go when she spaces out? She just freezes, and I have "Jack" go a bit different, but Mrs. Beans is my inspiration for this one.

The image: Created with AI. I didn't ask for a young Cary Elwes, but The Princess Bride is a huge favourite, so I'm not sad about it.

Leave me a comment: it makes it easier for me to reciprocate the read. I know I am behind on reads, but doing my best to catch up!

Thank you

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed!
😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Short StoryMicrofiction

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

  • JBaz12 days ago

    I like your insight into how this one popped into your head. I loved the turmoil and conflict that happens on whether or not to have the surgery and the reasons. Nice Congratulations

  • Danielle Mosley14 days ago

    Very well written. Here is mine https://vocal.media/authors/danielle-mosley-rrf0n40ghs

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Eze Ukamaka 14 days ago

    Nice one, good language artist

  • Donna Fox (HKB)14 days ago

    I love the eeriness of this piece LC!! Congrats on Top Story!! This actually reminded me of that episode on grey anatomy years ago where a psychic was in the hospital and saw visions like your character did, as well as had the seizures!!! That character got the surgery and lost the visions... but I wonder what your MC chose??

  • Gerard DiLeo14 days ago

    You can't fight a dirty fighter! Congrats on TS!

  • Christy Munson14 days ago

    Based on the title, I thought this one would be about Fight Club. This was not about Fight Club. Ha! Enjoyed it! I've not see Rango. Will have to try to find it and watch it. Cheers!

  • Cathy holmes16 days ago

    Hmm. What a conundrum. It is who he is, but it will kill him.

  • Interesting take! PS - Rango was a fantastic movie and highly underrated! "That's what I said!"

  • Babs Iverson17 days ago

    Fantastic!!! Brilliantly written and loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • The Dani Writer17 days ago

    Aw man, this was a great read! Skillful on the insight, details and technique with sentence structure. Oozes talent. You are a rare gift, my friend! And you're right, that movie...way underrated. Now I wanna watch it again.

  • John Cox17 days ago

    I love the fable as an art form. This has that feel. The question who am I boiled down to an unusual personality quirk. Very thought provoking.

  • Another entertaining snippet in your daily journey. Thank you

  • Sid Aaron Hirji18 days ago

    There should be a continuation on this subject. Will the tumor succeed in letting him die or will it be defeated

  • Oooo, this was certainly very intriguing! I've not watched Beans in Rango. Maybe I should hehehe

  • Caroline Craven18 days ago

    But I don’t know how to be anything else. Oof. So good. Are you going to write a follow up?

  • What inspired you to write this was interesting. Loved your fiction.

  • Very interesting! I hope there’s a sequel & we get to find out if he had the surgery!

  • D.K. Shepard18 days ago

    A very interesting consideration! A part of your identity that you cling to is also threatening to destroy you. Very well done!

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.