Fiction logo

How Ms. May Changed My Life

Chapter One

By Ariana Yeager Published 3 years ago 18 min read
3

I waved to Ms. May from where I was standing on my porch. She flashed a brilliant smile, and waved back with one hand, as her other was holding a watering can. I watched as she watered each plant she had on her porch. She seemed gentle and careful as she watered her plants taking great care as if they were beyond fragile.

    I turned my attention to the front door as my older sister walked out.

     "Ready," Megan said, pausing as she pulled her keys from her bag.

     "Yes," I replied making my way to the car.

Megan always offers to take me to school even though I can drive. Sometimes she'll let me take her car to school and then I get it back to her in enough time after school, so that she can get to work.

     Her and I have always been close, so we like to have the time on the way to school to talk.

    Megan took a gap year from college to focus on her job here in town. She had volunteered for several years at the local veterinary office and when she graduated they officially hired her to help with receptionist work and caring for the animals that stay overnight or for a few days.

     She loves that place and couldn't part from it. Mom and dad were hesitant at first but she told them she'd work on college hunting for the time being. She hasn't told mom and dad yet but she's considering doing online college and staying with her job she has now. She might even try to go to college to be a veterinarian.

Once in the car, Megan started asking me about school but I don't like talking about myself so I changed the subject as politely and nonchalantly as I could.

    "So when do you get off work tonight?"

    "The vet closes at nine tonight so I should be home around 9:20."

    "Is that too late for a movie night?" I asked, being that Megan and I would try to do something fun Friday nights. I don't really like leaving the house so I try to pick things we can do at home. She tries to get me to go out though. Sometimes I agree.

    "Not at all, movie night it is." Megan glanced over and smiled at me. And even though I was dreading school since I have to deal with some mean girls, I felt better. Megan always knows how to make me feel better and she's mature and really wise for being only 19. I've always admired her poise.

    "Aira when you get some time you should visit our neighbor Ms. May. She's a very sweet lady. I've had many great conversations with her and she's helped me a lot. I think she enjoys the company." I don't know why Megan was randomly bringing up our neighbor.

    "I've spoke with her a few times, but I'm awkward and wouldn't know how to initiate a conversation or what to talk about."

   "She could be a very good friend to you, she's very open and like I said she enjoys company, I can imagine it'd get lonely living by yourself with no one to talk to. And she's always been very kind to our family, bringing treats over on holidays and offering to help with anything she could when dad had that knee surgery."

    "Yes she's sweet, I just get nervous talking to people. I mean I know her, just not too well." I stated, thinking this was enough to end the conversation and move on to something else.

     "Well consider it, she could help you and you could help her. It's nice to have a listening ear sometimes, someone to just let you vent."

    "So you and Ms. May are close then?" I asked.

    "Yes, very close, some nights when I got home later than when I normally would have, I was with Ms. May talking and talking.  Sometimes I go over to her house and we sit on the porch and it's so peaceful Aira. It's like her presence helps me relax and I feel free. And she lets me rant to her even though I feel bad, but her advice makes me think and even changes my perspective sometimes."

    "Maybe, I will start talking to her more."              Megan said good and I laughed internally at how Megan can convince me to do almost   pretty much anything.

     Megan pulled up to the school.

    "Thank you, I'll be waiting for you tonight." I started to get out.

    "Sounds good, can't wait, love you!"

    "Love you too." I closed the door and started walking towards the door.

                                   ....

    The day went by slow and I was tired by the time the final bell rang. I texted Megan earlier telling her I'd walk home even though she advised against it. I hate the idea of risking her being late to work just so I can get a ride home. And I know she usually likes to leave early and to do that she can't pick me up. So I just walk. I don't mind, the walk isn't even that far, probably around 10 minutes.

                                   ....

    When I got home, it was just me as my mom didn't get off work for another 2 hours and my dad went to visit my aunt since she just had a baby. She lives about an hour away so my dad should be home sometime this evening. I went upstairs to my room, debating whether I should start my homework right away or take a nap. The nap was sounding like it was winning right now. I looked over at my bed, where I saw a little black box.

    I walked over to my bed, and noticed a little notecard on the box.

Aira, mom told me you were dealing with some mean girls at school. Be the better person and hold your head high. Don't let your crown fall darling. Let this give you some reassurance and strength. Love, Megan

    As I read the note, I noticed I was smiling. This is such a sweet gesture. I lifted the box and opened it, immediately feeling my eyes start to water. Inside is a silver necklace with a crown charm and another rectangular charm that says stand tall, don't let the crown fall.

    I hugged the box holding the necklace to my chest appreciating this gift for being a boost of happiness. It's so sweet how thoughtful Megan is and that she'd do this for me.

    I put the necklace on and sent Megan a thank you text with a picture showing her that I'm wearing it. I'd call her but I know she'd be busy at work.

                                   ....

    The rest of the evening went by uneventful, I did my home work after taking a nap. And mom, dad and I had dinner around 8 shortly after they got home. Mom brought takeout home so that she didn't have to cook so late. I put Megan's meal in the fridge after dinner, and went to go shower.

    I wonder what movie Megan and I will watch tonight. I know she likes the romantic dramas which are fine I guess but I like the thrillers. We'll find something, it may take us an hour just to choose but that's how it usually goes.

I start making some popcorn and took a family size bag of mm's out and put some in the bowl. I love popcorn and mm's. It's a good mix. I glance at my phone and Megan should be arriving any minute as it was already 9:16.

     I sat on the couch trying with all my power not to eat a lot of the popcorn. It's very tempting and after a few minutes I reasoned with myself, telling myself I can always make more. I noticed it was past 9:30 and I started to wonder if Megan was working overtime. I decided to call her to check in.

After several rings I got her voicemail. Megan never works late and if she does she'd tell me.

    I went upstairs to ask mom if she had heard from Megan and she told me she was probably just finishing things up late tonight.

                                    ....

    It's nearly 10:40 and mom and dad are starting to get worried too. We've all called and messaged but there's no answer.

    "Mom, Megan never has been at work this late." I went to look out the window again to see if I could see her pulling in.

    "I know, maybe I can call her work and see if she's still there." My mom went to grab her cellphone again.

    "Hun, Megan is a grown adult, I'm sure she's fine. We don't want to be calling her work making this bigger than it needs to be." My dad chimed in.

    "Well I'm her mom and I'm worried. I'm calling." With that my mom left the room.

    "Dad, I'm a little worried too honestly."

    "Aira your sister is fine, just relax, she'll be home soon." I watched as my dads eyes softened at that last part, as he tried to be comforting.

    My mom walked back in. I looked at her hopeful she got in contact with Megan. She looked as if the blood had drained from her face.

    "Her work said she left at her usual time." The words were nearly whispered.

    I think all of our hearts dropped, as we shared a moment of panic.

    "It's okay, she's an adult, she probably went out with friends or to the store—."

    "She wouldn't go to the store this late." My mom interrupted.

    I decided to tag team with my mom by adding in that Megan told me she'd be home around 9:20 for our movie night. And that she wouldn't ditch me like that.

    "Something is not right, this is unusual for her, I'm going to her work." I watched as my mom got her purse and keys and began to put on her sneakers.

    "Doesn't this seem a little like helicopter parenting, Megan is a good kid, and has never given us a reason to not trust her." Sighing my dad stepped towards my mom, placing his hands on her arms and pulled her in towards his chest in a hug. "Relax," he said.

    My mom pulled away, I'm sorry but it's not Megan I don't trust. It's this world. Something could have happened and we've wasted enough time already. I need to know she's okay.

    My mom moved to go around my dad and out the door. My dad took a seat on the couch reaching for the remote.

    "So about that movie night, are you okay with a stand-in?"

    I felt a slight pang of guilt for not waiting for Megan when something could be wrong but in front of me was my dad trying to help best he could right now, probably trying to distract my mind.

    "Yes, as long as it's not a superhero movie," I laughed slightly trying to relax.

    "But those are the best, I don't get how you don't like superhero movies."

    After much deliberation, we settled on a new thriller that came out recently.

                                    ....

    Half way through the movie and two bowls of popcorn my dad's phone rang. He listened for a moment.

    "What happened!? What is going on? Just tell me now? Hun, hun! Is she okay?" There was a pause and I sat up staring at my dad.

    "Okay okay, I'll be right there." My dad started moving quickly throwing on his shoes, grabbing the keys.

    "Aira, something happened to your sister, she's going to the hospital. I need you to stay here though, mom doesn't want you to see Megan right now."

    "What! No! I need to be there!" I yelled the words out, standing up from the couch.

    "I feel terrible leaving you like this but I promise I'll call as soon as I get there and know what's going on, I can have our neighbor Ms. May come over if you think you'll feel better." My dad tried reasoning with me.

    "No it's fine, I'll stay here alone." I put emphasis on alone but immediately felt guilty when my dad was clearly stressed enough already. I quickly added "I love you dad," and he said it back adding again that he was sorry.

    I watched him leave and right after the door shut and I heard no noise, I felt suddenly very alone. I felt my heart race, and I put my hand to my heart and I felt each beat. My breathing picked up, and all these thoughts went running through my head of what could be wrong. I felt my legs go weak as I dropped to the floor. I couldn't control my breathing. My eyes got blurry with tears. And the panicked thoughts rushed in. I shouldn't be alone right now. I cried losing track of time. I cried until I heard my phone vibrating on the coffee table. I shakily sat up from my fetal position I was in.

    I grabbed my phone, seeing that it was my dad. As I answered I tried to steady my voice best I could.

    "Dad," was the only thing I could manage to say at the moment.

    "Aira, your sister was attacked at work tonight. She was walking to her car and we don't know who yet but someone attacked her. She has a grade 3 concussion so she's very out of it and her rib is fractured. She's covered in bruises and that's partly why mom didn't want you here. She doesn't want you to see Megan like this." My dad sounded like he's been up for days but when he said someone attacked her I could hear the anger in his voice. I began to shake, my hands trembling, my knees wanting to buckle.

    "Aira?"

    "Yes dad," I muttered breathless.

    "She's going to be okay, I'm telling you all this because you're 17 and old enough to know the truth about what's going on. I didn't want to hide anything from you. The police are taking a statement when Megan wakes up. Unfortunately the vet doesn't have working camera footage so we are hoping Megan will be able to remember who attacked her or at least give us a description."

    "Your mom will be staying at the hospital tonight, and I'll be running home to pack her an overnight bag and then I'll be staying there too."

    "If you feel more comfortable we can have a family member come over or Ms. May so that you aren't alone."

    "It's okay, I'll be fine. Just please keep me updated." I rushed the words but kept them at a whisper.

    "Aira are you sure? I want to make sure you're okay too." My dad sounded like he wanted me to have someone here.

    "Yes, I'm fine. I just want to clear my head."

    "Okay, well I'll be home in a bit, try to sleep if you can. I love you."

    "I love you too," by the last word my voice was barely audible.

    I hung up, and had a wave of sobs hit me at full force. I fell to my knees, praying Megan would be healed, praying that whoever did this would be caught. I laid in the fetal position with my arms wrapped tightly around me, crying. I wanted to know why  this happened when Megan was so nice, and such a good person. I questioned why bad things happen to good people. I felt anger, anger for whoever the heck did this.

    I couldn't breathe, couldn't stop the panic. It caressed every nerve, making my body shake, my thoughts wrapped a hand around my throat and squeezed until I was gasping for air. The salt from all my tears began to sting my eyes and my face was soaked.

    I knew I needed to pick myself up. I needed to be strong, strong for Megan, strong for my parents.

    I need to be strong.

    And that's when I remembered.

    I reached up to my neck, grasping the necklace I now wore. I felt the crown charm. And then I remembered the saying on the other charm.

Stand tall, don't let the crown fall

    I took a very deep breath, hoping it'd be stabilizing. It didn't do much justice.

    I slowly peeled my body from the floor, and began to get up. I stood feeling dizzy, my vision was slightly blurred. Everything ached, my throat was tight, and I feel tingles everywhere. I took a hesitant step forward not knowing if my legs would allow it.

    Slowly putting one foot in front of the other I made it to the kitchen. I sat at the table unable to go further. I stared off into the distance, crying slow silent tears not knowing how much time was passing.

    I stayed like this until I heard the front door unlock and open.

    My dad walked in, and immediately went over and hugged me. We didn't have to say anything, the hug said it all, said what we were both feeling and thinking.

    After a few moments, he released me and went to pack a bag for my mom and himself.

    "Aira let's just get through tonight and we'll see about having you come visit. Also mom said you can stay home from school tomorrow. I think you need time to process. If you need anything at all during the day just call one of us. I've already spoke to Ms. May and she knows what's going on so if you need anything she is more than willing to help."

    "You called her this late?" I was surprised our neighbor answered, she's not that old but she's in her 60's and it's around 2 in the morning.

    "Yes, your mom and I wanted to make sure there was someone close if you needed anything. And she's helped us a lot already especially when I had that knee surgery. Megan will be okay, it's looking like it will take awhile for her to heal but she's strong. We are going to get this sorted out. Right now try to get to bed, you need sleep."

    As my dad spoke to me I noticed more closely the way his eyes glistened as if he was crying on his way here. I noticed the pained, worried look that seemed permanently placed on his face. I gave my dad one last hug, telling him I love him, and asked if he can tell Megan I love her if she is cognizant.

    After my dad left, I opened the fridge to get some water. I paused, for what felt like a very long time. My eyes locked onto the takeout that was supposed to be Megan's dinner. She'll be home soon I thought. She'll need something to eat when she gets home. Staring at the takeout, uneaten, unopened, made my eyes start to water. I looked away, closing the fridge, not even getting water.

    I went upstairs to my room. I laid on my bed, crying. Worried, confused, and exhausted I tried to sleep. When I couldn't I looked at my phone, I opened my last message to Megan, which still said delivered.

    She never saw my message.

    She must have been too busy, she didn't see that I was so thankful for the necklace. She didn't see my picture of me wearing it. She didn't see that I told her I loved her.

    I started racking my brain for the last words I said to her, my last time seeing her.

    I had to remind myself that she didn't die.

But then I think, she could have. We still don't know how she'll recover or how bad the attack really was. Or at least I don't know yet.

    When she dropped me off at school I know we told each other we loved one another. I think I told her I'd be waiting for her. And I did text her in the middle of the day saying I'd walk home and then she advised against it but let me do as I please anyways.

    My last interactions with her were like any other day.

     I put my phone down next to me on the bed, making sure the ringer was on in case anyone called. I closed my eyes, and stared at the back of my eyelids. It was well past 4am by the time I fell asleep. And it felt good to have my mind swept blank, to black out, to not feel, to not be.

    I didn't notice until I woke up, but I went to sleep clutching onto the necklace like a lifeline.

    Like it was her lifeline.

Love
3

About the Creator

Ariana Yeager

But, what if it does work out?

She walks through Hell with a smile because she owns her demons.

Don't say why me, say try me.

If you can't beat the fear, do it scared.

You only live once? False. You live everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.