Fiction logo

Ice Cream Decision

A micro fiction

By Ada ZubaPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
2
Ice Cream Decision
Photo by Anna Ribes on Unsplash

Decisions are hard to make sometimes. I walk in and there was the tinkle of a bell. The line is quite long but it seems to be moving fast. I stand in the queue and start scanning the ice cream flavours. Why am I here all by myself? Well, my boyfriend of four years just broke up with me or was it I with him? It was mutual? Yeah, we were growing distant for some time yet, he was still my best friend and I think I lost a friend over a boyfriend. So I took the day off and I’m standing in a cool air conditioned ice cream parlour. I scan the items in the menu: Cherry vanilla- that sounds interesting and nope it’s made with coconut milk that has grease spelled all over that. Okay, non- vegan options: chocolate, rainbow swirl, lavender maple, maple walnut, chestnut s’mores, vanilla, cinnamon chocolate, mango-raspberry, rose-strawberry, watermelon- weird didn’t know watermelon could be an ice cream flavour. Cinnamon chocolate sounds good. However, I’ve got a box of chocolate salted caramels waiting for me at home. So, maybe I will skip the chocolate. What else do they have? Bubblegum-eww, mint chocolate- super bleh, mint lavender- that can’t be much better. The line is slowly moving up shoot! I need to pick, panic starts to settle in my stomach. Rose-strawberry? But I don’t like strawberry ice cream. Oh wait, there’s a whole other board: lemon-blueberry that might be good. Lemon meringue pie, passion fruit mint- what’s with all the mint. Oh no, they also have cones to choose from? Ooo waffle cone is always yummy! Oh but what if they loaded it up and it falls. I hate that and it’s happened so often. Okay, cones are out so that leaves wait they have waffle bowls- oh but it’s five dollars for that. Regular cup it is. Toppings? Hmm sprinkles are fun, but gummy bears taste great after being frozen. It’s almost my turn I’m one person away. Okay, it’s decided lemon blueberry with gummy bears as a topping and in a regular cup.

“Hi there, what can I get you?” Asked the ice cream attendant.

“I’ll get the lemon-blueberry ice cream one scoop in a cup with gummy bears” I say.

“Oh, we actually just ran out of lemon-blueberry, sorry about that,” said the young girl with a sympathetic head tilt.

“Okay, what do you recommend then?” I ask.

“I personally really like the mint chocolate,” she said, of course the one flavour I despise.

“I’ll give the watermelon flavour a try,” I said hesitantly.

“We are also out…” she said awkwardly.

“That’s fine, the mango raspberry sounds good.”

“Great! Looks like you’ll be second last one getting it today! That will be $7.30 debit or credit?”

I pull out my credit card and show her, she nods and puts it in the system. The screen lights up and I insert my card. The chip reader takes it and I am then moving down the line getting my ice cream. The cup is perfect and they serve it with a small wooden spoon and none of that card board garbage. I take a spoonful and shove it in my mouth. No regrets with that flavour whatsoever. I start to leave the shop when I over hear a little girl say “I don’t like this flavour” she pouts at the ground.

“Honey, I told you that you would not like it, said her mom. “This time we can trade okay?” She tells her daughter and switched ice creams. Must be nice having someone that cares about you so much that they switch ice cream flavours. The mom then took a lick and tried not to make a face.

“Lavender walnut?” I ask as I pass by. The mom nods and hides her disgust as best she could. I left the shop and ate the delicious ice cream. I feel bad for the mom. I had an idea. I turned back around and on purpose I bump into her and knocked her ice cream from her hand.

“Oh my gosh! It looks like we need to get you a new ice cream!” I loudly say. The mom looks at me and smiles as the ice cream attendant waves her over for a free ice cream.

Short StoryMicrofiction
2

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll12 days ago

    I love this ice cream story ❤️❤️❤️❤️Well executed story

  • Truly informative

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.