Fiction logo

I made it....or so I thought

Not all destinations are achieved by smooth rides

By Ariana Yeager Published 2 years ago 12 min read
Like

My eyes fluttered open as I lifted my head. My neck was aching pretty bad, and at the same time I noticed that my back was leaning against something extremely uncomfortable. I tried to gather my thoughts and process what is going on but there was only one pressing thought in my head. Why wasn't I at my little sister's hockey game? And what the heck am I doing here? A part of me wants to be scared, but how can I be scared when I don't even know what I'm doing? My thoughts are really jumbled and it's like I don't have the energy to care or to process my thoughts.

The tension in my neck muscles is bad enough to give me the energy to bring my hand up to massage my neck. But I can't. As I try to lift my hand, it just stays where it is, and that's when a jolt of panic shoots through my body. I seem to become more alert as I realize my hands are tied together behind me, around a post. Like a wooden post. My heart rate picks up, and I start to hear my breathing as my mouth opens in shock. My chest is working double time as it rises and falls at an unnatural pace. Only then do I realize the gravity of my situation. I feel stupid thinking it, but I've been abducted!

Fuck!

There's no way. There just isn't. I have to be dreaming. I'm so confused. I was on my way to watch my sister's hockey game. I need to be there! I finally was able to make it home for a weekend. Everyone knows I'll be there. My mom knows, my little sister was so excited to see me. I can't miss her game. I already miss so many. My heart sinks with an unbearable sadness. I'm starting to think of this situation as more of an annoying inconvenience than an abduction. I'm livid that this of course had to happen to me on my way to see the game.

I clench my teeth as hot tears threaten to fall. My breathing quickens again, and I'm huffing and puffing as I try and pull at the rope or whatever the hell it is that is binding my hands. The tears end up falling down my cheeks and it makes me pissed because I can't wipe my face and I don't want whoever did this to see me, all a crying wreck. I won't show weakness.

This rope is almost too damn tight and pulling at it is not working. I think to rub the rope up and down the wooden post to see if I can wear out the rope and when I try I'm not that effective at it and it just ends up hurting and not doing much. I give up too quick and lean my head back against the post. I close my eyes and try to pull myself together, and attempt to stitch my memory back together.

Nothing. I get nothing. All I know is that I got in the car to drive to my sister's hockey game and now I'm here. Maybe I'm just crazy. Maybe I never left the house and I fell asleep but that'd be weird because I don't like sleeping during the day and her game was at 2pm. I wouldn't have taken a nap, and this is too real to be a dream. With that deductive reasoning, I somehow magically got from my car which I was driving, to being in a fucking, I don't know what.

At that thought, I look around. I was too busy panicking I didn't get the sense to start getting familiar with the surroundings. I need to figure out how I can escape, or if there is anything I can use to get free, and then find something I can use as a weapon. At my first glance around, it seems that I am in some sort of barn. It's all wooden walls and posts but no animals. Quite frankly it looks old, and like it hasn't been used as a barn in years. The only light is coming from the small rectangular windows that seem pretty high up. The wall across from me has four windows, so I'm guessing the wall behind me has four as well.

Since the windows are high up I brush them off as an option to escape and I start looking for a door. I turn my head to the left and spot some light coming through a long crack in the walls. But it's not a crack in the wall. It's the doors to the barn. Right there. I wonder if they are locked. If I can just get out of these ropes I can go so easily to the door. I can escape. Hope perches on my soul, and my heart begs for it to stay.

After I get my bearings, I feel lost. Whoever did this didn't cover my mouth, which probably means they aren't worried if I yell or scream, which then means no one is around to hear me scream. I don't want to try anyways because if the kidnapper still thinks I'm asleep or they just haven't come to check on me yet, I'm not going to risk them coming in here. I need time. Time to escape. Time to plan. Time to think. And honestly I'm terrified. What if this kidnapper walks in here ready to end me? The thought is awful to bear and I try to literally shake it out of my head.

I feel new tears form, and my faces scrunches in emotional pain. I just wanted to get to the game. I promised my five year old sister I'd be there. I don't know if I'm too late. I mean it's still daylight. But even though it's daylight, God only knows if it's the same day. I sob, and take in big gasps of air. I curse in whispered sobs and pull my outstretched legs as close to my chest as I can get them.The hope that was perched on my soul has left and had giving no indication that it's coming back.

Life is just never easy. Why is this happening to me? Why now? I barely see the family anymore, living so far away but today or well what is supposed to be today, I was going to see them. And I was going to make it to one of my sister's events. She is always asking me on the phone when I'll be home, and while holding back tears I always say "soon baby". She knew I'd be there and now I'm not. I want to be a good big sister, and do better for her, and always be her number one fan. I needed to be there. I just needed to be there.

Even though there is some light coming in from the windows the corners of the barn are dark. I try not to look too long because I don't want my eyes to start playing tricks on me and making me more paranoid. I need to get out of here before I go insane. I start to move my hands up and down best I can rubbing the rope against the post. The rope mostly just slides on the post and I really don't think I'm doing much. I can't slip my hands out because the rope is too tight. I try to wiggle a hand free anyways but the rope is ripping my skin as I try to wiggle my hand out. This rope is rough and painful to move in.

I try for a bit longer to wear out the rope against the post but it's literally no use at all. Out of nowhere I get really upset, and anger floods my body as I viciously move my hands up and down on the post trying to break or even wear down this damn rope. I get tired after a few minutes and my arms hurt and as I stop in defeat I yell out a curse.

Then I immediately regret it.

I hear this abrupt flapping like sound coming from one of the far right corners and it scares me nearly to death. I'm dead. I shouldn't have yelled. They probably heard me. They are probably on there way right now to kill me, and Lord only knows what that sound just was in here. I remain statue still as I force myself to look in the direction the sound came from. Oddly, it sounded like it came from higher up. I peer to the right, looking into the upper corner of the barn. The light from the window helps me barely as I make out the shape of some type of bird sitting high up on one of the horizontal roof posts.

The birds snaps it's head towards me and I realize it's a Barn Owl! I've never seen an owl in real life before. If I wasn't in this situation I think I'd appreciate it more. I can just barely see the varied brown of the feathers mixing into a white heart shaped face. This is something I would immediately get a picture of so that I could show my sister. She would think it's cute. I can hear her telling me in her sweet voice "That's soooo cool Anna!". Thinking of this creates yet another set of tears that fall slowly and silently from my eyes. I may never see her again. I may never see my family again. That is a pain I just can not begin to fathom, let alone process right now. I shake my head slowly as it hangs down and I feel every fiber of my being shatter within.

I don't know how much time has passed. I look to the direction of the barn owl and it's still there, staring at me. I don't know if it's the insanity creeping in yet or what but honestly that barn owl is making me feel less alone. What is crazy though is that the owl is more free than I am. It can leave through some hole in the wall or when the doors open but for me I'm trapped.

After losing all hope, I'm pretty sure I start to lose my mind. As the light gets more dim, the darkness dances wildly in the corners. My soul leaves my body as I'm sure I'm just a shell. A shell that will soon be disposed in some horrific way I assume. Every so often I catch myself looking to see if the owl is still there. I don't know why but each time I look I pray that it's still perched on that roof post. I look again and there it is, peering at me. Maybe it's a guardian angel. That would be nice. I'd like to think that. I try to let that reassure me as my eyes begin to flutter until they finally close and my chin drops to my chest.

~~~

She scored! Oh my gosh! My baby girl just scored! I clap and yell loudly and proudly for my little sister. I keep my eyes directly on her through the plexiglass with a huge smile on my face. I finally made it! It's so cute to see all of the kids on the ice, they are all doing great. It's a 4-6 age group, and my sister started last year and wanted to do it again this season. This is a moment of pure joy for me. I'm glad I could make it home to visit and especially to come to this game and support my sister. I look over at my mom in the seat next to me, and smile at her as she glances over. "I'm glad you could make it, I know Finny is so happy." I hug my mom and we continue to watch the game, rooting for my sister and blowing kisses when she steals glances our way. This moment is what happiness feels like. This moment is the kind that makes me feel alive. I made it.

~~~

"I made it," I mumble as my eyes open and I slowly lift my head. The moment I realize I'm not at a rink and my mom isn't next to me I break all over again. It was just a vision. No! Please, God no! Please! Tears fall heavy and fast. I crumble into myself, destroyed. I might pass out again. Maybe I want to, so that I can have that vision again and at least go in peace. My eyesight is blurry as my brain panics and kicks into overdrive. I hear an awful screech and I realize the Barn Owl is still there, and it's what made that terrifying sound. But then I also realize it made that sound because the barn doors just bursted open. I take one last glance at the owl, as I send prayers and apologies to my loved ones. I close my eyes and try to sink into that vision, but it's long gone from my mind. I'm swarmed by a deafening darkness and I feel nothing but the tears that fall down my cheeks. The last thing I hear is one final screech from the owl. However while it's still a screech it's softer, and it's the last comfort I have that I'm not alone, and it's a reminder of what it feels like to be free.

THE DAILY NEWS

Two youth group hockey teams had an excellent game yesterday! The teams consisted of children age 4 to 6. The two teams were The Phantoms and The Termites. While both teams played their hearts out The Termites ended up winning with a 2-1 score and the winning goal being scored by Finny Blossom, a fast 5 year old on the ice!

A beautiful Barn Owl was spotted soaring near North Eastern Noble Hospital today. Many stopped to try and capture pictures. The owl stayed circling the hospital until it finally settled on top of a nearby tree. The owl remains there as if it's keeping an eye on the hospital. Perhaps it's a guardian angel!

Anna Blossom, 22, was rushed to North Eastern Noble Hospital after being found tied to a post in a run down barn. Blossom was reported missing after not making it to a youth hockey game even though she messaged family saying that she was almost there. When she still did not make it home that night and calls to her cellphone went unanswered, her family reported her missing. As the search for her began, authorities found her car abandoned near a corn field about 20 minutes outside of town, and not too far from that, they spotted the barn where she was then found. Blossom is responsive and did not face any serious injury. She will make a full recovery and is surrounded by family. No further evidence has been found in regards to who's responsible or how the abduction occurred. Authorities are still investigating.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ariana Yeager

But, what if it does work out?

She walks through Hell with a smile because she owns her demons.

Don't say why me, say try me.

If you can't beat the fear, do it scared.

You only live once? False. You live everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.