Fiction logo

Big Brotherly Things

Challenge #6 The Gossip Cab

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Big Brotherly Things
Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

The perks of the job were always the stories; no one drove these yellow death cabs for the money. Everyone always raved about the gossip they’d catch during the rides, gathering ‘round for drinks and petty poker to share. There’d always be a contest for the craziest story. Some would spill stories of bank robbers in the making, killers depositing bodies at the bridge, and always of the typical shady affair that the asshole would think no one knew about; we all knew though.

We knew everything.

We knew the dark secrets of the city like they were baseball player stats.

The fraudsters, the sloppy cheaters, the drunk clubbers, the big dreamers, the heartbroken.

But rarely we shared about the simple rides, the ones that weren’t filled with adventure, thrill, or romance.

There was this one kid though, climbed in with his little sister. He couldn’t have been more than ten, and I was betting high. He hailed me down in a pretty rough neighborhood with more confidence than I’d have expected. “Where ya headin’ kids?”

“To Benni’s Ice Cream store on King’s please.”

“It’s my birday!” The little girl squealed, her face all cheery and shit.

The place wasn’t far, but with the sketch area, I didn’t question their choice to ride instead of walk. I guess big brother was doing his big brotherly thing.

It took less than ten minutes to get there, they sat politely and happily the whole time. When I pulled up to the curb, I told the kid the total and he just handed me a handful of coins.

“That’s all you got kid?” He nodded innocently. Poor dummy probably didn’t even have enough for two vanilla cones. Darn kids.

I picked a few dimes from the jingle jangle of coins he had handed me and swapped ‘em for some quarters of my own. “There’s your change kid, and happy birthday to your sister.”

He pocketed the change and climbed out, helping his sister with full care and attention.

“Thanks mister!”

Darn cute kids.

-----

I decided to take a different angle with this challenge of mine, including with going over the word count whoops. I have read some pretty thrilling and unique stories so far for this challenge and thought to go with something cute and simple. Sometimes we overlook the little acts of kindness, but they're still out there.

You can find out more about James' and I's Summer Writing Challenge Extravaganza below:

Also, check out some of the other entries shared:

ExcerptMicrofictionfamily

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Thavien Yliaster5 months ago

    Well that's a cute story. I know everybody's expecting a twist and I wonder if the kids have been hustling cab drivers by being cute and adorable while acting all innocent like. Makes me think of the kids in other areas of the world where they sort of have to panhandle. I remember one time a little girl walked up to me with a flower and as soon as I twirled it around in my hand she asked for a dollar. I tossed her a penny and when she ran away I looked over to my left and saw a bush full of the exact flowers she was selling people. I felt sad for her cause I knew that her parents put her up to it. Less I digress, I wonder what sort of other innocent stories the cab drivers had. Like one where a kid just wanted to go to the park with their pet dog or something like that.

  • That is quite an engaging story. I really enjoyed it. Great job!

  • Got to admit I was waiting for the sinister twist but you’re right sometimes what we really need is a nice story to remind us kindness is still out there

  • I like this Take on the challenge ❤️😉💯📝👌🚖How sweet-

  • Awww, this was just so sweet!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Cute story Oneg!

  • Darn cute kids. They'll get you every time, lol.

Oneg In The ArcticWritten by Oneg In The Arctic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.