Fiction logo

A Pit-Stop Pie-Stop at the Roadside Diner

A Story Every Day in 2024 - Jan 8th 8/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
A Pit-Stop Pie-Stop at the Roadside Diner
Photo by Dayanara Nacion on Unsplash

Day 8 means week two. I've made it this far, I may as well see it through, eh?

Thanks to L.C. Schäfer's proposal to spend 2024 choosing to write a microfiction story every day, making 366 stories for every day of this lovely leap year. You can check her original story out here:

Prompt number eight:

Elvis' birthday - Write a story about Elvis. Not the exact prompt but I've been so on it so far, I've allowed myself a deviation today as have Sally and Anna.

Check out their first appearance here from Jan 1st, Day One of 366, which already feels like weeks ago:

***

"Mum. Can we stop?"

Sally was tired but fear was keeping her driven, and driving. Sally did the usual checks: mirror, sunroof, side mirrors. All seemed good. She checked her mind's eye. The hum of danger was present but at the same level of intensity as before. She could do with a rest. High alert was exhausting.

"Okay," she agreed and went to slow down.

"No, Mum. Not here. There's a diner in half a mile. I want to stop there."

"No diner, Anna."

Anna rested her hand on her mother's arm, eyes glowing. "It's okay, Mum. It's safe."

Sally knew better than to question her daughter now. Her instinct was honed and her foresight was exemplary. To date.

*

They pulled in to the car park. A palm tree arched over the entrance, the neon sign "Blue Hawaii" glowing cheerily overhead.

"He sells great pie," Anna said as she headed for door, Sally warily looking around them.

Crossing the threshold, they were greeted by leather upholstered stools at the bar and booths lining the window. An older couple sat at the far end and behind the bar, an octagenarian was slicing pie.

Sally sensed warmth and Anna was smiling for the first time since they had left Rummerton.

Anna got on a stool as the old man turned to serve them. His clear silver hair was quaffed back; his smile was lopsided and his cheeks were high. Sally smiled too, freeing up muscles that had not flexed for days. He winked at her and she actually blushed.

"Well, what can I get you two ladies?" their host asked with his slow Southern voice, smooth like an elixir.

"Pie please," Anna said. Turning to Sally, she said "You can leave me to freshen up."

Sally went to shake her head but he nodded and said, "Go right ahead, ma'am."

Sally wanted to resist but this man's charisma disarmed her caution.

Anna waited for her mum to leave and whispered, "I know who you are."

"Hound Dog" came on and the man started tapping his foot.

"And I," he said, "know you. Shall we keep each other's secret?"

He pushed pie towards her and turning, swivelled his hips.

***

366 words

Hit the word count but if I'm honest, I could have done with a few more. I don't like the ending but I couldn't get it down anymore without losing something and that couldn't be Elvis. Not on his birthday. I found the picture below on Unsplash and toyed with using it for the story but then there wouldn't have been a surprise, would there? Not that it was a great one anyway but I like the idea of Elvis running his own diner and being convivial to passing patrons. Still out there but just at a far lower key.

By Andy Calhoun on Unsplash

For the list of prompts that L.C. has provided for January to get you moving, if you want to partake, go to the link below. It also provides links to everybody else who has joined in the challenge:

Thanks for stopping by. If you've read this story, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

8/366

Short StoryMysteryMicrofictionFan FictionFableAdventure

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Still charming all the girls, I see. The old boy hasn't lost his touch. (And my sister wants to know where that diner is.)

  • Oh! That old guy was supposed to be Elvis? That's such an awesomeeee way to honour him! Also, I was so excited to see Anna and Sally again! Loved this story!

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    He could serve me pie any day

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Could his ego stand it?

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    RD - Fun: My British Wife would Supper with 'Meat Pie' ~ then 'Sweet Pie' for Dessert. All-Pie'd-Out JB

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    What fun! I nearly had him flipping burgers, and then I remembered Pratchett and Gaiman already had him doing that in Des Moines in "Good Omens" 😁 A 50's diner is absolutely perfect. Love the name of it as well 😁

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.