Fiction logo

Dog

A Story Every Day in 2024 - Jan 7th 7/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
6
Dog
Photo by Henrique Ferreira on Unsplash

Seven days of stories. Well, who'd have thought it. A milestone reached.

This story has been written in response to L.C. Schäfer's proposal to spend 2024 losing my mind...sorry, I mean, choosing to write a microfiction story every day, making 366 stories for every day of this lovely leap year. You can check her original story out here:

Prompt number seven:

The picture is the prompt today and here we are already on Day 7.

***

Hey. You. It's me. Dog.

When're we going out? I'm restless. I'm itching to go back to that place you took me with the smells and the dogs and the smells and the posts and the smells.

Come on! Look at me! Look at me! Not that thing in the corner with the moving pictures. I don't like that thing. It's got weird stuff on it. Cats and food that doesn't smell and other dogs looking at me. I'll get 'em! I'll get 'em one day! They can hear me! Oh yeah! They hear me bark! I'm angry and I'm protecting and they ain't getting at me or you or coming in my home! No way, mister!

I'm going to lick your face. Come on! Look at me! That's it! I knew you'd look after a lick! And you're doing that noise I like. It makes me want to move my butt and get that tail a-wagging and lick you some more!

Yes! Let's play! You do love me more than the light box! Yes! Let's wrestle! Yeah! I'm going lick you to death!

How about we play tug? Yes! Stay there and I'll get my ropey thing that I love to chew. Mmm, mmm. I love to sink my teeth into that and give it a good old gnaw. Nom, nom, nom. It won't escape me! Ever! Unless it shoots under that thing you sit on. It's not a bed but you sure do a lot of relaxing on it.

Oh man! That light box! How does it do it? I'm much more interesting than it! Come on! Let's play! Here. Have my tuggy rope thing. Look at me! Look at me! Let's play!

Sigh. That light box, man. I can't compete. If only I could find out how to stop it.

Perhaps I'll have a snooze. Yawn. I'm hot now. Panting. Wrestling was fun. I want to go out. I don't know how to move him.

I hate that light box.

Where's my ropey thing? I want to chew. I love chewing.

What's this black thing? Hard. Squashy buttons. My teeth like this. Crunchy. Good noise.

Too easy.

What's happened to the light box?

***

366 words on the nose, as it were. I love a pun. And I love a pup. I have tried, maybe with a degree of success (?) to try and be a dog in this story and do a stream of consciousness thing centred round the frustration of a dog with pent up energy wanting to do something and being relatively ignored by its owner. How do you think I did?

And that's Day 7 done, 359 to go. I might just be able to do this, if I don't become too overconfident.

For the list of prompts that L.C. has provided for January to get you moving, if you want to partake, go here. It also provides links to everybody else who has joined in the challenge:

Thanks for stopping by. If you've read this story, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

7/366

Stream of ConsciousnessMicrofictionHumorFantasy
6

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Squirrel!

  • Hahahahahahhahahah you nailed this! Like it's exactlyyyyyyy how a dog would behave!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I have lost remotes from "bad" dogs...lol Yes, they get bored and mad, too.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Smashing, going to link to it now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.