Fiction logo

A Community Story [Challenge]

Or possibly, the Never Ending Story...

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 10 months ago Updated 29 days ago 3 min read
28
A Community Story [Challenge]
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

Have you ever read one of those choose-your-own-adventure stories? I’ll admit it’s been a while for me, but that being said I think I still understand the concept.

And that concept had my wheels turning…

What if we did a choose-your-own-adventure story? Yes, you read that correctly. I said WE.

I thought it would be such a great community-building and off-the-wall concept if a bunch of us collaborated and wrote a story together!

So here’s what I’m thinking, I will write the opening scene and then those who would like to participate can write what happens next. I will link it to the bottom of this post and readers will be able to choose their adventure. From those continuations, others can write their continuation of the story, this can continue until the story ends... if it does.

I was thinking we could make it a micro-fiction challenge, in the sense that each scene be around 100- 600 words in length (but I won’t enforce this too heavily). All I ask is that those who participate link continuations from other participants to the end of their story until the story finds an ending!

You can do as many entries as you like and with the theme of community-building in mind, use each other for inspiration!

Use your creative genius and take the story where it needs to go! Any genre, any time or space and place that you want! Let’s just have some fun!

The Never Ending Story (Prompt)

Part One:

We loaded off the tour bus one by one, sweat pouring from each of our temples as we gathered like a group of well-trained cattle.

Ms. Solecki shouted over the group of giggling girls in the front “St. Martha’s Seniors, quiet please and all eyes on me!”

It took a moment for our group to fall silent and face our Faculty Liaison.

She went through the usual rules and reminders; stay with the group and within the view of your chaperone, everyone is to meet in front of the bus by 11:30 am so we can head to our lunch spot.

Then she began reading out lists of names and proclaiming their assigned chaperone, instructing us to gather alongside them. Treating us exactly like the almost fully grown adults we were.

I gathered with my group and we began exploring the temple ruins at the pace of our very old and frail chaperone, Mr. Sage. He hobbled along with his cane at a pace that suggested we’d only see the entryway before being destined to return to the bus.

All the makings of a very boring and unadventurous class field trip, or was it?

What comes next? You choose!

A note from the author:

Below I have collections of all the storylines that continue from my openning scene. I have been adding the links of those who want to participate, followed by the add-ons that followed those who chose to continue the story.

So choose a storyline and click the links below and feel free to add your piece on to the storyline of your choosing! Or feel free to start your own!

I will continue to add the add-ons and new storylines as they are submitted. Feel free to add in where you like and I will continue curate this masterpiece we are all making together!

Thank you for reading and participating!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Story Line 1: Kendall Defoe (Community Story Challenge), followed by Mark Gagnon (The Conundrum), followed by Tina D'Angelo (Sage Surprises)

Story Line 2: Alexander McEvoy (Descent: A Community Story Challenge), Mackenzie Davis (Descent (Part 2)), Alexander McEvoy (Descent (Part Three) ) Alexander McEvoy (Descent: Part 4), Alexander McEvoy (Descent Part Five), Alexander McEvoy (Descent: Part Six)

Story Line 3: ThatWriterWoman (The Red-Faced Monkey Part 1)

Story Line 4: Paul Stewart (Passage of Time)

Story Line 5: R. Angeli (When Pigs Fly)

Story Line 6: Novel Allen (The Haunted Mansion), The Invisible Writer (The Haunted Mansion Part Two),

SeriesMicrofictionHumorFantasyAdventure
28

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Ah, I had this thought a while back too! I want in, but I haven't got the bandwidth right now. If it's still going when my brain has space to breathe, I'll come back.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Donna! I did it! This was so fun, too. I'm very excited to be a part of this story now and cheers to Alexander! His story inspired me. (So good!) https://vocal.media/chapters/descent-part-2

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Such a great idea, gutted I missed it until now!

  • I can’t wait to do this!! I can’t decide which to pick either Novel, Paul, or that writer woman they are three of my favorites 🤩 I loved choose your own adventure books! Though admittedly I haven’t seen one in decades lol

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/fiction/the-haunted-mansion-n2t201y9 Not sure if this follows the story line, but here goes. It should fit in somewhere, I hope. Hi Donna.

  • This is sooooo exciting! I always say let's see if my brain comes up with anything. But I I'm now reading 1 week's worth of stuff published by everyone. Unless there is no deadline to this, then I think I would wait to see if my brain comes up with anything, lol! I like Mr Sage. Maybe I can kill him off, lol! 🤣🤣🤣

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago
  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Cool Idea, I've got a fun premise for this one. Stay tuned! :)

  • Tina D'Angelo10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/sage-surprises This is my contribution. It comes after Mark Gagnon's story. A continuation of Mr. Sage's youthful reincarnation

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Hey hey...this is my "effort" make of it what you will. It gets dark. https://vocal.media/fiction/passage-of-time-9j50908mj

  • I love this idea, Donna. Can't wait to find out where it goes.

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/fiction/the-red-faced-monkey-part-1 Here's my branch of the story! I am afraid I went 122w over! Sorry! I enjoyed the writing exercise immensely! Hello to everyone coming along on this community story - readers and writers!

  • Zeeshan May10 months ago

    "A Community Story [Challenge]" - Your invitation to embark on this literary adventure is as thrilling as a tale that knows no end. With boundless creativity from contributors, this endeavor promises to become an everlasting masterpiece. Count me in! 📜🚀🌟 https://vocal.media/authors/zeeshan-may

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    I love this idea Donna. I actually stated something similar when we had to nominate ideas for upcoming challenges amongst a few others, but yours is more precise AND you have already started it!! 👏😅 I think this will be a lot of fun. I’m not very confident in my creative fiction skills (too much staring at blank pages) 🤣 but I enjoyed the mysterious start you have provided and I wanna know what happens next. Kudos!!

  • Caroline Craven10 months ago

    I used to love those choose your own adventure books! You’re AWESOME for doing this!

  • Mark Gagnon10 months ago

    Since I've driven this type of school trip before, how could I not participate? We've done this in the writers group I belong to and the story took some unexpected turns.

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    Temple ruins… hmm… 🤔

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    Fascinating….

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Interesting and sounds like fun. Maybe when the story is finished, someone can compile all the submissions into one story and submit it. I think the only issue might be (just saying) is if multiple people are working on the same 'next' installment. They won't know, unless I missed something. In that case, just tell me to reread the rules, lol. Thank you.

  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    It's a great idea! Quite recently, I've been exploring the concept of playable stories. I think, in general, it's similar (or maybe even almost identical) to what you're suggesting here. Not sure that I'll have enough imagination and time to participate, but I'm already curious about what's going to come out of it. Haha, when I read chaperone, I always start thinking about molecular biology stuff :D

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Are you going to pick people at random with this? Those books were addictive to me and I have a million thoughts in my head right now...

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Sounds like fun, and I like that you've started it with endless possibilities.I'll definitely be reading, and might have to throw my hat in at some point.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oh yeah, Donna! This is an awesome idea and I love the dry and unassuming start you've laid out. I will definitely submit something, if someone dares take my path in this adventure haha! Well done on this though! I think it's awesome!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.