Fiction logo

Community Story Challenge

Based on Donna Fox's NeverEnding Story...

By Kendall Defoe Published 10 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
13
Community Story Challenge
Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

Note: the following is based on a continuation of the prompt that Donna Fox offered to Vocal readers as a challenge (how could I resist adding to the whole 'Choose Your Own Adventure' vibe?). The idea is to continue the story as well as you can. Please see the link below, and my own efforts...

‘This guy looks like he should be a part of the ruins…’

Melody was trying to get me to laugh, but I ignored her. This was actually a pretty interesting school trip and we had a great guide for it. Mr. Sage – a wonderful name, I thought – was old, but he seemed pretty smart about things he needed to know. He had a lifetime of experience among the stones and statuary. And there was something else about him; something I couldn’t…

‘This spot is older than the founding of the country. Some of the first religious people to settle here were determined to make this a Christian nation, and St. Martha was the first one to be given her own…space.’

Again, something about him made me wonder. He was knowledgeable; knew all about what she was the patron saint of: homemakers, cooks, domestic workers, waiters and waitresses, and hotel employees (not students, strangely enough). And I could see that he was enthusiastic about the place.

'The sad thing is, it was not successful in the original spot. That was several miles away, nearer to the open sea and passage back to the old world. That's why so many left the spot. ''It was a sign of God's displeasure with our arrogances and this harsh land.'' You can read that in the literature about this spot.' Mr. Sage looked quite sad as he spoke, turned to face the narrow path and continued his slow walk and tap with the cane.

Melody was unimpressed.

‘So, what did you bring for lunch?’

She was starting to drive me up the walls, the way that only a good friend could.

‘Bread and water, what else?’

‘Would you two knock it off?’

‘No, we shall not.’ I really hated Marjorie, Miss Perfection; Miss Immaculate. The fact that she was Melody’s sister was a great cosmic joke.

‘Well, I’m reporting you two!’

‘Cool off, twerpette!’

Their voices were still muted, but I knew that would not last. I just wanted to continue with this tour, hopefully get to some fresh air soon (it smelt of incense, ashes, dirt, mud, and something that I would call 'rot'), and have whatever lunch my loose change could afford. They were beginning to get loud and their voices echoed near the back of the chamber.

And that was the moment when I noticed that we had passed another passage that Mr. Sage chose to ignore. I would have ignored it, too…if it wasn’t for the voice all three of us heard right then and there (a half-whisper that made us freeze and stare into that darkness):

‘Welcome.’

By Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

And you can continue here:

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Young AdultShort StorySeriesMystery
13

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Dayumm, Kendall! You have made me crave the next installment. Fantastic work on this.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Hey Kendall, Mark Gagnon sent me an add-on to you story. https://vocal.media/fiction/the-conundrum-my58a08a3 Do with it what you like, thank you for playing along and helping people get into this exercise! I am so grateful to you! 🩵

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    I love the atmosphere you created here! And what a great place to leave it for the next writer! Nicely done!

  • I have not read any of the rest of this as of yet, but this was indeed exceptionally good, Kendall. Once I've caught up on my notifications, I'll try to come back & find what else there is to this.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Whoa left me hanging

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    “Weak effort” -.- More positive self-talk please. That “welcome” was super unnerving and I’d love to what happens next!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Okay... "weak effort" my ass!!! This was amazing and I love the direction you took it!! Great work Kendall!! Thank you again for participating and for such a fast reaction!! I love it!

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    What a cliffhanger!

  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    You reacted quickly! :-D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.