Fiction logo

899

A microfiction series: Part 5

By Real PoeticPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
15
899
Photo by Rick Gebhardt on Unsplash

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 6

Casey is infuriated by what he finds in the recovered transcript. He’s having trouble calming down, so he goes for a run in the park for an hour to blow off some steam. When he’s finished, he has a seat on an empty bench and takes out his phone and emails Nia a copy of the heartbreaking message thread. A few minutes later, she replies in disbelief.

Nia: Casey, you are so incredibly brave for doing this. Maybe we should turn this evidence over to the police, so they can open up a proper investigation.

Casey: No. My brother. My rules. I want to handle this on my own.

Nia: Ok. I respect that. Be careful.

Casey: So, are you in or out?

Nia: You still want my help? Ok. I’m in. What do you need me to do?

Casey: One. Don’t tell anyone else about this. Two. Ride with me to Darlene’s house. I’ll pick you up at 7:00pm. Do you still have the same address?

Nia: Yeah, I’m still on 22nd Street. I’m surprised you remembered.

Casey: How could I forget?

Butterflies flutter in Nia’s stomach as she reminisces about their fling.

It’s now 7:00pm, and Casey is outside of her home. Nia sprays herself with perfume and goes out of the door in a hurry. He gets out of the car and opens the passenger side door for Nia, and she grins. They make their way to the office to follow Darlene home. She doesn’t normally leave until after 7:30pm, and they are only fifteen minutes away, so they have time to catch her.

Casey is relatively quiet the entire way there. Nia is occasionally looking over at him, but he doesn’t glance back at her, so the ride is quite awkward. Once he begins to approach the office, he pulls up behind a large truck to hide, and he waits for Darlene to walk to her car.

Nia’s palms are sweaty. Casey’s blood is boiling. As Darlene drives away, they both look at each other before continuing with their plan. After a couple of cars get behind Darlene, Casey leaves his parking spot and follows her until they arrive at her complex’s garage.

Darlene gets out of her car and heads towards the door that connects to the lobby of the apartment building, when Casey stops her in her tracks. She’s completely startled and feeling defensive already when she says, “Can I help you?” He replies, “You tell me. Why’d you delete the transcript?” She looks confused, but he doesn’t buy her innocent expression. He presses harder, “Did you have anything to do with my brother’s death?” Again, Darlene looks puzzled and afraid.

Casey escalates the situation and pulls out a blade, and he holds it up against her throat. Nia hops out of the vehicle and attempts to intervene, but Casey is unwilling to listen to her.

Darlene gives in and cries out, “Ok! ok! He made me! I’m sorry. Please don’t hurt me. I was just doing my job. I swear.”

Casey says sternly, “Who’s he?”

“The director,” she responds softly and defeated.

MysteryMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
15

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    And the plot thickens... Brilliant writing RP!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Damn, that was intense… Drama time!!!

  • Bozhan Bozhkov2 months ago

    The story is getting more and more interesting. I'm looking forward with great anticipation to the next part.

  • Lightbringer 2 months ago

    Really Nice

  • Casey is a guy!! Why the actual hell did I think it was a girl in part 4? 😅 And oooo, he and Nia had a fling before! Also, the director? More suspense!

  • Who is more despicable in "The Natural": the judge or the woman who follows his orders & seduces Robert Redford's character? My wife & I have never agreed on this. She cannot forgive the woman who commits the deed. I cannot forgive the demon who pulls the strings.

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Now we're getting somewhere! You are creating quite the tale of intrigue, RP. Keep it up!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fabulous!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Oh, this is so good! It is so smart that you are breaking the story up like this. It keeps me coming back for more.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 months ago

    I was just reading part 4 and loooooook here!!! Part 5 is out!! The plot just gets thicker and thicker!! You have my full attention!! 😁 This episode was so mysterious and intense, I can't wait to see what's next!!

  • Steel2 months ago

    This is getting real good!! Keep it coming😃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.