Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

899

A microfiction series: Part 2

By Real PoeticPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
19
899
Photo by Spencer Davis on Unsplash

Click here to read Part 1

Click here to read Part 3

Every employee at Helpful Hands Crisis Center received an email regarding what happened to Preston last night. The counselors were mandated to come into the office for a group counseling session in response to the traumatic incident.

During the session, everyone is too upset to inquire further about the details surrounding his suicide. No one has reasons to suspect foul play, because the transcript from Preston’s most recent chat was somehow deleted from the system. All of the employees except for Nia and Mary accept the cause of death. They begin to message back and forth through email about their suspicions.

Mary: Is it just me, or is something not right?

Nia: It’s definitely not you girl. I was thinking the exact same thing. We work with at-risk people all of the time. Nothing about this makes any sense. If you ask me, there’s no chance that Preston was suicidal.

Mary: Yeah… I know.

Nia: You ok?

Mary: No. He finally asked me out on a date. We were supposed to go out dancing this weekend, and now he’s gone forever… I just can’t believe it. It doesn’t seem real.

Nia: I’m so sorry. Is there anything that I can do to make you feel better?

Mary: Actually, there is. Didn’t you work in tech prior to counseling?

Nia: Only for a few years. Are you asking what I think you’re asking?

Mary: Yes. Can you do it?

Nia: I can try, but I can’t make any promises.

Mary: Meet me at the diner on 23rd street at lunch time.

Nia: Ok.

Nia shuts her laptop quietly and resumes listening to the conversation. Mary abruptly removes herself from the table and heads out of the door to get some air. After pacing back and forth anxiously, she chooses not to return. She makes her way to the diner early and waits for her best friend and colleague to join.

Right when Mary starts to get impatient, Nia comes walking through the doors an hour before lunch. Nia looks around the diner before locating where Mary is seated. She walks over quickly and sits down across from Mary and says with her hands placed on top of hers, “Hey, I couldn’t stay in there after seeing you storm out like that. Talk to me. I’m worried about you.”

The waiter approaches the women and asks, “Are you guys ready to order?” Mary pretends to be fine and requests two milkshakes with a big smile on her face. As soon as he walks away, her head is down and between her legs while she cries silently.

She’s shaking and her voice cracks as she asks, “What if he really did this?” Nia tries to hold back tears as she answers, “I don’t know, but I promise that I won’t sleep until I find out the truth.”

MicrofictionMysteryCONTENT WARNING
19

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    And so the plot thickens... This is so great!! I love that this is a series of microfictions!! As someone with a short attention span, this is just perfect!! See you in part 3!

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    Top notch writing RP! I can't wait 4 the next installment!

  • I can't wait to find out about Jasmine. This is good, Real. Real good.

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    I am eagerly anticipating part 3. Great story so far!

  • Test3 months ago

    You're doing amazing work

  • So glad that Nia and Mary realise something is not right! Poor Mary though. I wish I could give her a hug. Waiting for part 3!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Nice cliffhanger! Can't wait for the next one.

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Ah, the saga continues...excellent.

  • Just getting better and better! I like that the first one was the planted seed and now this story is expanding in the world and with the characters and with the intrigue. Keeps you hooked! Excellent style of writing with these!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.