Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

899

A microfiction series: Part 1

By Real PoeticPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
22
899
Photo by Malte Helmhold on Unsplash

Click here to read Part 2

Client: I need help.

Counselor: Ok. I can do that. My name is Josh. I want to assure you that you've reached the 899 suicide and crisis lifeline. Can you tell me more about what’s going on?

Client: I have thoughts of hurting myself.

Counselor: Sorry to hear that. Do you mind sharing your name?

Client: I do mind. I prefer to remain anonymous.

Counselor: No worries. Did you hurt yourself in the past or today?

Client: Don't be too concerned about me. I haven’t cut in a while, but I really want to.

Counselor: I understand that certain stressors in life can cause pain and lead to cutting. Do you have thoughts of suicide? What typically happens before you decide to cut?

Client: I’d never go that far, but you should…

Counselor: Can you clarify exactly what you mean by your last statement?

Client: Was I not clear enough? It's for the best that you off yourself.

Counselor: Ok, let’s refrain from using threatening language and stay on topic. This is about you. What are some things that help you to relax when you're feeling stressed? Do you believe those methods could also help you not to cut in the future?

Client: Preston, you have a mother named Meredith, one brother named Casey, and a sister named Marissa. She's fine as hell too.

Counselor: Huh? How do you know my real name?

Client: I've been monitoring you.

Counselor: I'm ending the chat since you aren't taking the session seriously.

Client: I know about Jasmine.

Preston’s facial expression goes from empathetic to pure ice cold. His soul exits from his eyes. He doesn’t shake or shed a tear as he reaches for the pistol in his drawer and shoots himself in the head without taking time to rethink his choice.

He falls to the ground and leaves a horrifying scene in his home office. A neighbor in the house down the street calls the police to report hearing what sounded like a single gunshot.

Click here to read Part 2

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you or someone you know are having thoughts of suicide or in a crisis, text or call 988 for help.

MicrofictionMysteryCONTENT WARNING
22

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Well that was a wild twist!! I loved this, it was bite sized and so captivating! I love how you just kept cranking up the intensity until the end!! Great work and I'll see you in part 2!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    Phenomenal writing RP! I'm headed to Part II!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Crazy stuff... Not sure where this is headed, but I'm down to know.

  • Whoa! This was so unexpected and such an awesome story that just came from out of left field. Thrilling and mysterious and leaves me wondering about it.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Holey moley. Wtf? That was wild. Well done.

  • Whoaaaa! Who was the client and why did they know so much about Preston? What happened with Jasmine and why did the client knowing that make Preston shoot himself? I need part 2!!

  • This Randy wants you to know that the other Randy is absolutely correct. This is reminiscent of the opening scenes in the Scream movies.

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Whoa. It's like the start of a mini-movie. I hope you don't dilly-dally in giving us Part 2. Good job!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Damn, Ms. Real. You got me with this one!

  • Steel3 months ago

    I like it!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.