Fiction logo

899

A microfiction series: Part 4

By Real PoeticPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
16
899
Photo by Jennifer Lim-Tamkican on Unsplash

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 5

It’s the end of the workday, and Nia is anticipating a reply from her former coworker and friend about recovering the lost messages from the night of Preston’s unfortunate death. She hasn’t eaten or slept in twenty-four hours, and she has no plans to sleep until she gets answers. When Nia makes a promise, she intends to keep it. She sends another text in desperation to her old friend in the technology industry.

Nia: Casey, I know you saw my message about the file that I need you to recover. I’m sure you’re busy, but I promise it’s urgent. Get back to me ASAP!

Nia places her phone on her desk and stares at it for approximately sixty seconds before leaving it and heading into her bathroom to take a cold shower. The water is freezing, but she never flinches. She stands there motionless with her eyes slowly closing.

Mary’s the only family that Nia has ever had. When Nia was a little girl, her mother gave her up, and she was never adopted. Sadly, she spent years in and out of different foster homes and never got to make friends in school because she moved around too often. Letting Mary down is not an option for Nia, but living up to her promise is consuming her.

Her text ringtone sounds, and Nia cuts off the water immediately. She swings the shower door open and rushes to her phone still wet and without a towel.

She touches her phone screen and screams, “Yes!” aloud as she unlocks it to read the message from Casey.

Casey: Hey, I’ve been busy. I wish I could help, but I have a lot going on. My baby bro died unexpectedly and arrangements for his funeral have to be made.

Nia: I’m very sorry for your loss. Take as much time as you need. I’m here for you if you need to talk.

Casey: Thanks Nia. I just don’t know why he would take his own life. My mind is all over the place right now. I don’t understand it. Whatever it was that was bothering him, we could’ve worked it out together. Preston was the most resilient person I ever met.

Nia: Wait a minute! You and Preston are related?

Casey: You knew him?

Nia: Not exactly but we worked for the same company. I was actually trying to get in contact with you regarding his last conversation he had with a client. I believe it could have something to do with… you know. I can back off if you don’t wanna talk about it. I understand if it’s too soon.

Casey: I’m good. Go on.

Nia: Ok. Again, I’m so sorry! I’m praying for you and your family. I hate to bother you during such a difficult time, but can you please gain access to a deleted conversation from the 899 crisis chat portal? I have reasons to suspect those missing messages have vital information about what happened leading up to your brother’s passing. Something isn’t adding up, and you’re the only person I know that can do this.

Casey: It really is a small world. Well, it’ll definitely take a few hours, but I can get it done. Send me the details.

Nia: The website where the clients and counselors interact is called iLifeline.com. My supervisor’s administrator account username is D.Rivers. Her password is Dolphins88. If there’s anything I can do for you, let me know. I mean it. I’m free to talk anytime.

Casey: I’m on it. Thank you.

MysteryMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
16

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabile3 months ago

    Wow wasn’t expecting that twist! These become more and more tantalizing. And I like how it’s revealing more about Nia’s character, we learn and see more of her, the details in the descriptions are excellent and succinct and I can really picture it all! Amazing!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Nice episode. So glad she’s making progress. I didn’t make the connection that Casey could be referring to Preston. Nice reveal!

  • Blest be the ties that bind our lives in suspicious deaths. Hmm, Darlene Rivers, Dolphins 88..., the Miami Dolphins won only six games in 1988 & missed the playoffs for the third straight year, dolphins are warm blooded sea mammals, she seems possibly a combination of cold & hot blooded.... Nope, I got nothin', lol.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    RP!!!!! This is so well set up and I love where this is going!! The small world aspect of this is genius and such a great touch to continue to layer into the story!! Can't wait for part 5!!

  • Mohamed fasim3 months ago

    Nicely

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾 Can't wait 4 the next one!!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Now, we're getting somewhere!

  • Scorpion3 months ago

    Quite interesting 🤍

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    You are weaving quite a web, RP. I look forward to seeing how this all plays out.

  • Oh wow, Preston is Casey's brother! I'm sure she would be on it ASAP!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.