Feast logo

What I Eat in a Day as a Black Vegan

In case you were curious about what Black vegans eat--this is just me by the way, everyone eats differently

By Abena Talks Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
What I Eat in a Day as a Black Vegan
Photo by Samuel Regan-Asante on Unsplash

My vegan journey began twelve years ago, a long time, I know. I remember the days when I had no clue what to eat. You see, being a Black vegan is hard. Not all the time, but sometimes. When I first decided to dabble in the plant-based lifestyle, my family was shocked. They asked me some of the most annoying questions like, "where will you get your protein from?" The typical questions that just don't make sense to vegans.

Anyway, I like to document my life, especially the food that I eat as a vegan. People are often curious and they want to know why I went vegan in the first place. The main reason, I wanted to change the way I felt at the time. I felt anxious and tired. Going vegan just made sense. Eventually, I became obsessed with saving the planet and saving the animals. Now, I focus on sustainability, my physical and emotional health and saving the animals.

Now that I have given you the rundown, here are some of the foods that I eat as a Black vegan.

Breakfast

By Sara Cervera on Unsplash

For breakfast, I usually have a smoothie or some kind of smoothie bowl or oatmeal. I rarely eat bread. Sometimes, I cook up a tofu scramble which is similar to scrambled eggs. Vegan pancakes are pretty good too.

Check out this delicious recipe for vegan pancakes in the video below:

I often like to have some ginger tea after I eat my breakfast. Here is a quick ginger tea recipe. I like to use fresh ginger as opposed to tea bags.

Ingredients

-1 medium thumb-sized piece of ginger, washed and finely chopped or minced

-1/2 lemon juiced

-1 teaspoon agave nectar

-Hot water

I let the ginger sit in the hot water for about ten minutes. I usually use a teapot. Then I add the lemon juice and agave nectar to sweeten. As a vegan, I don't use honey but you could replace the agave with honey if you like. I don't use sugar but for this recipe, brown sugar is best.

Hydration

I like to make sure I drink a litre of water before I eat anything in the morning. It's always room temp water that I leave sitting overnight in my copper water bottle.

Lunch

I don't always eat lunch but when I do, I have a big fruit bowl. Fruit bowls are so sweet, delicious and easy to throw together. Since I work from home most days, I don't really like to have a heavy meal at lunchtime, I find that it makes me feel heavy and sluggish. I reserve my heavy meals for cosy nights on the couch with my man. A big meal, some light stretching and then Netflix on the couch with my beau.

By Brenda Godinez on Unsplash

Snacks

For snacks, I have nuts such as almonds, fruit and sometimes sesame seeds or sunflower seeds. I like to make oat bar treats sometimes too. Here is a nice recipe for oat bar treats.

Dinner

For dinner, I usually have something heavier like rice or pasta. I am going to go with rice for the sake of this article. I love my jollof rice which is a West African rice dish made by cooking rice in a spicy tomato and onion- based stew. You can add meat and other things to it if you like but since I am vegan, I usually add mushrooms and vegetables. Here is the best vegan Jollof recipe you can find on the Internet.

Sometimes, at night, I grab a bar of dark chocolate and finish the whole thing. I rarely have desserts but if I do, I like a nice vegan cheesecake or something like a frozen banana ice cream with strawberry toppings or nut and chocolate sauce toppings. Yum!

Stay tuned for some yummy vegan recipe content, coming soon.

vegan
1

About the Creator

Abena Talks

I write about lifestyle, entrepreneurship and other things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.