Feast logo

Weeknight Veggie Ramen Stir Fry

An easy and affordable stir fry with oodles of noodles

By L.A. HancockPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
This weeknight meal is perfect for a small family and at well under $4 a serving, it's the perfect recipe for anyone looking to reduce costs!

As a full-time working mom, I am all about the meals that are easy to prep and fast to make. If we can sneak some veggies in there for my almost-five-year-old, even better! That's why when I saw this recipe idea on Julia Pacheco's $5 Dinners series, I knew I had to give it a try.

Though we are not on a fixed budget, I am always interested in saving money where I can. I have definitely noticed groceries getting more expensive in my little neck of the woods lately, so the fact that this meal is also so affordable is a big plus.

Julia lists her ingredients as three packages of instant ramen noodles, a bag of frozen stir fry vegetables, and low-sodium soy sauce. You will also need a little olive oil to stir fry in.

The recipe is as simple as heating the olive oil in your wok or skillet, stir frying the frozen veggies for about three minutes while you cook the ramen noodles in a separate pot of water according to the package instructions, and then combining the drained noodles in the wok with your vegetables, ONE packet of seasoning from the ramen package, and 1/4 cup of the low-sodium soy sauce. You just stir everything together until it's well combined and heated through, and then serve. I served ours with sesame seeds sprinkled over the top!

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. It seems almost too simple and like there's no way the flavor could be there with just a few ingredients, but my entire family thought it was delicious. With a tossed salad or some vegetable spring rolls, it makes a great weeknight meal.

Though you can use any flavor of ramen noodles, I picked up some of the Nongshim Shin Green Mushroom & Fried Tofu Ramyun Noodles and they were really delicious. Each package of noodles comes with two seasoning packets, so I used both in my stir fry instead of just one of them, as well as added the dried veggie packet that comes with this particular brand.

This is my favorite brand and flavor of instant ramen I have ever tried - and it makes the dish vegan, perfect for Meatless Monday or a healthier version of the dish in general.

I hope you'll give it a try the next time you're looking for something fast, cheap, and easy to feed yourself or your family!

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag frozen broccoli stir fry - look for the kind that has carrots, mushrooms, water chestnuts, and other vegetables to your preference!
  • 3 packages of instant ramen and 1 seasoning packet from inside
  • 1/4 c. low-sodium soil sauce
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • pinch of salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • sesame seeds to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat the olive oil in a wok or skillet over medium heat. Add the bag of frozen vegetables and season with just a pinch of salt, and black pepper to taste.
  2. While the vegetables are cooking, prepare the three packages of instant ramen according to the package instructions. Set two of the seasoning packets aside, and reserve one for adding to the stir fry later.
  3. After the noodles are cooked, drain and rinse briefly in cool water before combining them with the vegetables in the wok or skillet. Add the reserved seasoning packet and a 1/4 cup of low-sodium soil sauce, and combine well over medium-low heat.
  4. Serve hot after noodles and vegetables are well combined. Sprinkle with sesame seeds to taste.

While delicious as is, I think you could modify this recipe further with a soft boiled egg, some sliced green onion on top, or even some melty American cheese. The possibilities are endless with a dish so simple. How would you change this recipe?

If you enjoyed this recipe, please give me a heart, a follow, or a tip, and check out some of my other dishes! I write about foods I love, plus many other topics that interest me.

Mama Eze's Jam Cake

Easy Vegan Fruit Cobbler

Sweet Potato Biscuits

recipe
Like

About the Creator

L.A. Hancock

I'm a wife and mom, and this is my creative outlet. I am experimenting with lots of different writing styles and topics, so some of it is garbage, and I'm totally fine with that - writing is cheaper than therapy. Thanks for stopping by!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.