Feast logo

Venison Meatballs

Great for parties and meal prep.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Venison Meatballs by Amanda Payne

Moist and tender meatballs made with ground burger and smothered in a rich homemade red sauce. For this recipe, I used ground venison burger, but you can use whatever ground meat you prefer. Ground beef, turkey, and chicken all work very well. You could get creative and use a mixture of more than one meat. Pork sausage is always a great ingredient for meatballs.

For sides, these meatballs go well with most salads and vegetables. My favorite sides are buttery baked potatoes or crispy Southern fried potatoes and a fat biscuit. You cannot go wrong with corn on the cob, roasted asparagus, or a sautéed broccoli and cauliflower mix, either. They are great with rice or pasta, too. Try them mixed in spaghetti or on a sub roll with cheese.

For meal prep, you can freeze these meatballs and thaw as desired. However, I think they are better with fresh sauce so I never freeze them with the sauce. They are great as leftovers, too so making a big batch and changing up how you eat them every day is a great way to meal prep.

Venison Meatballs Recipe

Ingredients:

For the Meatballs

  • 2 pounds of venison, ground
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons of ketchup
  • 1 1/2 cups of dry instant oatmeal
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 3 teaspoons of soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onions or 1 teaspoon of onion powder.

For the Sauce

  • 14 ounce can of jellied cranberry sauce
  • 12 ounce bottle of chili sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of lemon juice (fresh or bottled)
  • 2 tablespoons of brown sugar (light or dark)

Getting It Done:

  1. We will make the sauce first. Put the jellied cranberry sauce, chili sauce, lemon juice, and light brown sugar in a medium-sized saucepan. Stir until smooth.
  2. Turn the heat to medium-low and heat slowly, stirring often.
  3. Once it starts to boil, turn the heat down. Let it simmer for one minute, and then remove the pan from the heat.
  4. Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
  5. Now make the meatballs. In a large bowl, mix the ground meat with 2 eggs, 4 tablespoons of ketchup, 1 1/2 cups of dry instant oatmeal, 1/2 teaspoon of ground black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder, 3 teaspoons of soy sauce, 1/2 cup finely chopped onions or 1 teaspoon of onion powder.
  6. Take a tablespoon full of the meatball mixture and roll it into a ball. Place it in a 9″ x 13″ baking dish.
  7. Continue making meatballs until the bowl is empty. Try to make them all close to the same size.
  8. Pour the meatball sauce over the meatballs.
  9. Bake at 350ºF for about 30 minutes or until done.
  10. Remove the dish from the oven. Let it cool for a few minutes and serve.

I hope you enjoy my recipe!

Venison Meatballs by Amanda Payne

Check out my Venison Meatballs video on Rumble...

Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you enjoy it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes below: Baked Venison Ziti and Venison Steak Subs.

Maybe you want a recipe without venison or ground meat. Check out my Super Easy Ham and Potato Casserole recipe.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This venison meatball recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
2

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.