Feast logo

Venison Baked Beans

Aha! With bacon!

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Venison Baked Beans by Amanda Payne

If you like store-bought baked beans, you will love my homemade recipe. Your mouth won't know what hit it. My beans are made with ground venison, crispy fried bacon, onions and peppers, beans, tomatoes, BBQ sauce, and many other delicious ingredients. It is the perfect dish for family gatherings, parties, or just because.

They are teasingly beautiful before baking them. So much so that my youngest son, Brandon, had to steal a few bites after he saw them in the casserole dish. He did not want me to bake them because they were so good already.

Once they were done, he filled his plate up twice with the baked beans, bacon-wrapped backstrap, and bacon and cheddar scalloped potatoes. He said it was well worth the wait.

I just realized everything I made included bacon. I must have really needed bacon that day!

This recipe is enough to feed a small army. It serves 19 at 3/4 cup each, so if you are not planning to feed an army, you might want to cut it in half or even further. There are several online recipe converters for dividing recipes if needed.

Yields: 3.56 Quarts of Venison Baked Beans

Serving Size: 3/4 Cup

Calories: 241

Fat: 4 g

Carbohydrates: 34 g

Protein: 15 g

Venison Baked Beans Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground venison (or other ground meat)
  • 12 slices of bacon
  • 1/2 of green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 28 ounce cans of Bush’s Best Country Style Baked Beans
  • 10 ounces of Hunt’s diced tomatoes
  • 2/3 cup of Sweet Baby Ray’s Original Barbecue Sauce
  • 1/2 cup of light brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons of McCormick Grill Mates Smokehouse Maple Seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon of Colgin Liquid Smoke Natural Mesquite Original Recipe
  • 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire
  • 3 tablespoons of yellow mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground black pepper
Venison Baked Beans Ready to Bake by Amanda Payne

Getting It Done:

  1. Fry the bacon and set it aside for later or use leftover bacon. Break each piece into smaller bite-sized pieces.
  2. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  3. Put the ground meat, peppers, and onions in a large kettle on medium-high heat and brown until done.
  4. Add all of the other ingredients, mix and pour into a 9″ x 13″ casserole dish, and bake for 30 minutes.
  5. Stir and let it cool for at least 10 minutes and serve. They will thicken with time.

The first time I made my own baked beans, they looked dark and ugly when I took them out of the oven. I thought I burned them and was so disappointed. On closer look, the juices had formed a thick layer on top. They were not burned at all but just needed to be stirred. I was so relieved.

You can also use any kind of ground meat you have on hand. I have used beef, chicken, turkey, and venison and they all work well with this recipe.

This pic looks so good I can almost smell it! I just need to concentrate.

Venison Baked Beans by Amanda Payne

I hope you enjoy my recipe! Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you enjoy it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Bacon-Wrapped Backstrap, Heavenly Tenderloin Bites, and Ding Dang It Burger.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This Venison Baked Beans recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
4

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shelia Terry Collins5 months ago

    I can’t wait to try this dish! Looks delicious!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.