Feast logo

Sausage, Pepper, and Onion Loaf

It's a great meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Sausage, Pepper, and Onion Loaf by Amanda Payne

A delicious Italian loaf, soaked with homemade garlic butter, loaded with sausage, Italian seasoned sauteed bell peppers and onions, and then a bubbly layer of cheese. Who wants some?

This is another anytime meal. It is delicious for breakfast, dinner, or anything in between. This quick meal is ready to devour in 20 minutes or less, and it is better than takeout. This is one recipe the whole family will love.

Sausage, Pepper, and Onion Loaf Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 Marketside Italian Loaf Bread 16 oz. (from Walmart)
  • 1 pound of ground sausage (I used venison)
  • 1 teaspoon of olive oil (for frying)
  • 1/2 large onion, sliced
  • 2 bell peppers, different colors, sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon of dried basil
  • 2 cups shredded Mozzarella cheese
  • 6 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 teaspoon of garlic, minced
  • Dash of salt (optional)
  • Dash of ground black pepper (optional)

Getting It Done:

  1. Preheat a skillet to medium-high heat. Once heated, add the sausage and fry until it is no longer pink. Scramble and break up the meat into smaller pieces as it is frying. Remove from the heat and drain any excess grease.
  2. While the sausage is frying, thinly slice the bell peppers and onions. Add 1 teaspoon of olive oil to a skillet heated to medium-high.
  3. Sauté until tender. Add the basil and oregano and lightly toss. Remove from heat and set aside for later.
  4. Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  5. Put 6 tablespoons of butter and 1 teaspoon of minced garlic in a small bowl and heat in the microwave just until it’s melted. It should take 20 seconds or less. Add a dash of salt and black pepper.
  6. Split the bread down the middle and remove about 1/2″ of the bread from the center of each half.
  7. With a basting brush, put half of the butter and garlic mixture on each loaf half, making sure to coat the edges well.
  8. Divide the sausage and put half on each loaf piece. Then add half of the onions and peppers and top with 1 cup of cheese each.
  9. Bake at 375°F just long enough to melt the cheese.
  10. Remove from the oven and place on a cooling rack or cutting board.
  11. Cut each loaf half into four equal parts and enjoy.
Sausage, Pepper, and Onion Loaf by Amanda Payne

My son, Chase, does not like peppers and onions, so I double the batch and omit the peppers and onions on one of them. I just leave it off and top it with sausage, cheese, and crushed red peppers. It is so good!

Loaf Without Peppers and Onions by Amanda Payne

Make this recipe your own. Get creative! You can also use any kind of meat you have on hand. I have used several types of ground meats. Beef, chicken, turkey, pork, and venison work well with this recipe. Sometimes I go meatless and only use a mixture of veggies and cheese.

I hope you enjoy my recipe! Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you enjoy it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Cheesy Venison on Ciabatta, Venison Steak Subs, and Meatball Subs.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This Sausage, Pepper, and Onion Loaf recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
4

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.