Feast logo

Vegan Apple and Cinnamon Scones

A Baking Story (Pt.16)

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Of course, you probably know me very well for invading Vocal with my film studies stuff and articles entitled ‘a filmmaker’s guide’. I have often explained that I love to bake as well. Since I was young, I have loved the idea, the creativity and the relaxation of baking different things. I love to make macarons, layer cakes and gingerbread in particular and the activity of it really gets me away from my laptop (where I’m sure you know that I spend most of my life). So, I hope you enjoy me talking about what I bake and why I bake it complete with pictures (if not very good) of me actually baking, my baked goods in the process of being created and when they’re finished. I’m really happy to share this with you. And if you like, you can show me your baking (yes, I spend a lot of time writing, but I also spend a lot of time reading other people’s articles!), I would love to see it. Since I was in school, I was always interested in creating things, whether that be pieces of writing, welding things to make small statues or baking foods and making sweets (candy, if you’re American). I hope you enjoy looking at some of the stuff that has honestly kept me sane, because I seem to be going slightly mad.

Vegan Apple and Cinnamon Scones

What better way to celebrate Christmas than to have some Christmas flavours in a lovely English Scone? Well, I don't particularly like scones that much unless they are packed full of raisins, sultanas and possibly nuts. But I think I have devised some great flavoured Christmas-flavoured scones that are quick and easy to make. It takes less than half an hour to make them altogether and you serve them hot with a side of syrup, honey or a sprinkling of flaked almonds and some jam.

But why apple and cinnamon specifically?

There's no real reason. I took the flavours from an apple pie: apple, cinnamon, brown sugar and a tiny bit of ginger, and put them into a lovely recipe for a nice scone. With these scones as well, you want to remember to keep them slightly smaller than usual so that they are not too much to eat as pieces of apple will be in there.

I used Pink Lady Apples for my recipe because of their sweet and tartness, but Granny Smith Apples, Envy Apples and Jazz Apples work just as well. I would avoid Golden Delicious as they let out a lot of water and can make the scone stodgy and stop it from cooking as well. I would also avoid apples such as Gala, Cox and Braeburn as they do not give off too much flavour and, in my experience, tend to blacken easily. They can make the scone look unappetising and burnt. But, Pink Lady Apples are the ones I have found to be the best for what I do. Flavoursome and light, they are fragrant in taste and require very little nudge to get going in the oven. They brown and don't burn and keeping the skin on just adds to the kind and inviting texture that the apple has.

Why do I use almond milk and not normal milk?

Well, nobody in my house really likes normal milk for a start. But the real reason is that almond milk has a lovely sweet and smooth taste to it, adding sweetness without having to add more sugar. We have the apples, the sugars and even the jam or honey afterwards - so we don't want to add too much sugar. Using almond milk is not only a great way to keep it vegan, but is also a great way to sweeten the dish without using too much sugar.

Here's your recipe then...

You Will Need:

  • 350g Self-Raising Flour
  • 85g of Plant-Based Butter
  • 2tbsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2tbsp Ground Ginger
  • 1/2 Diced Pink Lady Apple
  • 2tbsp Caster Sugar
  • 2tbsp Brown Sugar
  • 170ml Almond Milk
  • 5ml Almond Milk to Glaze

Instructions

Oh gosh, mine are about to go into the oven - wish them luck!
  1. Preheat your oven to 180C and line a baking tray with parchment paper. Avoid using oil to grease, or even your plant-based butter because of the liquid that will make the scone soggy from the bottom.
  2. Mix together the butter and the flour until it forms a breadcrumb-like mixture
  3. Add the spices and mix once more then add the sugars.
  4. Put in your almond milk, leaving 5ml on the side to glaze the scones once you put them on the tray
  5. Add the diced apple and mix it together to form a wet dough.
  6. Fold the mixture until the dough comes together some more and looks more like a ball-shape
  7. Grab a tablespoon and scoop up one heaped tablespoon of the mixture. Put it on the tray and pat the top down slightly - remember, it is going to rise.
  8. Do this until you have finished your dough and then go through with the 5ml of almond milk to glaze your scones.
  9. Set them in the oven for 15-20 minutes.
  10. Serve warm or cold with a side of honey, crushed nuts, almond butter, cream or jam.

Enjoy your scones!

I think I'll take mine with a cup of coffee and a thin layer of almond butter. That will be delicious!

recipe
2

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.