Feast logo

Traditionally A Big Deal

Seriously

By Laura Featherston Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

One of the biggest days celebrated in my family is, of course, the Super Bowl! Since I was seven years old my dad and my brothers and my mother go all out every year for game day. You would think it would be a simple recipe of maybe wings, nachos, chips, maybe some extras thrown out on a grill but, no. It always starts the day before game day crag legs, fried corn, wings, lobster, sausage, and of course the Winners punch and the Losers punch. I’m talking big messy crab boil, mixed with fried foods and our traditional winner/loser punch! Safe to say that at the end of it all everyone 21 and up are all inebriated and barely functioning.

Crab Boil:

3lbs- Crablegs

2lbs- Andouille Sausage (or whatever your choice of meat would be)

4- Red Potatoes (sliced or diced)

6- corn on the cob

3- lobster tail

Old Bay seasoning

Rosemary

Creole Seasoning

Garlic

Sliced lemons

Boil

On top of the crab boil my father will fry corn on the cob and chicken (for my mother). To top off all the festivities we have our moms famous winner punch and the famous loser punch.

Winners Punch (Purple Haze)

Cranberry Juice

Black Rasberry Liquor

And of course Vodka (varies depending on how my mom is feeling in the moment of purchasing)

Losers Punch (Yuck)

Hennessy mixed lightly with sprite ( It’s absolutely meant to be strong and face twisting)

So the point of the two punch’s is that at every touch down, whoever is in the lead takes two shots of the Winners punch and whichever team is down; takes one shot of the Losers punch. So I’m sure you can imagine the craziness involved by the time we get into halftime. A room filled with animosity and love all at once. The entire room trash talking one another over team stats and bets. All while the game is going, in-between drinks, the crab legs begin to go around and the smell of seafood fills the home. I know it all sounds a little cliche but that’s all I’ve ever known since a child. Of the feuding sometimes get out of control when your passionately watching two teams that you bother equally hate and love but in the end that’s what the food is for. How can anyone be that upset when you crab legs, corn, fried corn, potatoes, lobster tail, and of course alcohol? Needless to say that I look forward to every single super bowl each and every year because I know I get to get together with my entire family and indulge on some amazing foods! Now I know what you’re thinking; how does a 7 year old enjoy the punch’s? Well of course I didn’t when I was seven, I just saw the outcomes of the amazing punch’s. But once I turned twenty one I got a chance to get the full experience of the punch’s and just how they make the entire game a thousand times better. So in my opinion my families super snacks are literally the best when put altogether. The way the alcohol compliments the crab boil and the fried food it is absolutely the best game day EVER, besides the NBA playoffs, haha. It makes me really curious on what other families and friends do to celebrate the festivities of the super bowl, from halftime traditions, food traditions, pregame traditions, or even color traditions. I’m super excited to read other recipes and traditions, I mean who knows I may reinvent my super bowl snack traditions one year and try someone else’s recipes, could be less of clean up.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Laura Featherston

🫀

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.