Feast logo

The POACHED blog, a resource for those in hospitality.

Jobs, Food, Drinks, Education and Lifestyle.

By GrassFedSalmonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Finding meaningful work in hospitality is difficult these days. When the stream lined venues of Indeed, Craigslist, and Ziprecruter don’t produce anything inspiring where can someone turn? Wouldn’t it be ideal to use a platform that is centered around your industry? Today I’m happy to share with you my suggestion.

In the beginning of 2019 I walked into a bar whose kitchen I was managing. Sitting on my work pass I found an unopened package along with a black snap back hat with the word POACHED written on the front of it.

No explanation of why these things arrived ever surfaced, but the contents of that box were coveted by my staff. 200 brand new sharpies with the word POACHED stamped on them.

(Sharpies in a kitchen are as sought after as cigarettes in a prison)

I stashed about a dozen of the pens for myself, and within 3 days all of the markers had been pocketed and spirited away by my cooks.

I spent some time looking into the source of this gift and discovered the hospitality resource that is known as “the POACHED blog”

They are not only a nation wide database that lists cooking, serving, and bar tending jobs in your location. They also publish content that is relevant to the education and lifestyles of our industry. They also easily allow employers to post job openings.

Since opening this package of sharpies I have cooked professionally in 4 different states, from the east coast to the boarder of Mexico and back to the Midwest. One of the only things I have taken with me is The POACHED Blog and a bag full of $3 knives. Both have served me well in finding enjoyable employment. Finding a job in a part of the country you are not familiar with can be tricky, add to that a global pandemic and needless to say I was grateful to have POACHED to help me out.

I typically only write to talk about food and share my cooking recipes, but I’m writing this to give others in hospitality an exceptional avenue of finding employment in this tumultuous time. The fact that they also post relavent stories about being successful in the field is a huge plus.

It’s been a hard year for cooks, regular restaurant goers as well, simply because it’s human nature to want to eat together and enjoy each others company. While we can’t go back to normal yet, websites like this help remind me that I do have a community of passionate peers out there. It encourages me that a time will come where we will see full dining rooms of customers enjoying themselves again. I think we can all agree that there has been too much lonely take out lately.

I’m not affiliated with POACHED in any way. However, before writing this I did reach out to them anonymously and asked if I could have a few sharpies for my work. In a true culinary fashion they responded with “Of course!” as any decent line cook would.

I got my pens from them today via mail and it reaffirmed my notions that these are real people who have a pulse on what it means to be engaged in our industries welfare.

If you are looking for work, or feel like exploring what it means to be in the hospitality industry these days I highly recommend you look into POACHED. It has served me well and I beleive there isn’t a better media to share this article on then Vocals Medeia’s FEAST.

Click on the link below to go to there home page.

Link!

Thank you for reading, and check out my profile to view my favorite original recipes from over a decade of scratch cooking. Enjoy!

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

GrassFedSalmon

Young chef from the Midwest writing recipies and cooking stories. My content’s only on Vocal. Please consider supporting by sharing anything you enjoy or by leaving a tip. It’s greatly appreciated! Thanks and enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.