Feast logo

The Path to True Mastery

Global Pancakes: The Pannukakku

By Philip L. CressPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Finished Pannukakku

True Master is a real life adventure game like no other. Every week we are presented with three cards that represent three challenges to complete. These challenges range from learning a new life skill to communing with nature. This week, the Baker card was dealt, which challenged members of the True community to bake something. I chose to revisit a previous challenge titled Global Pancakes, one aimed at helping us learn how to make pancakes from various cultures around the world. A list of several were provided. I decided to make a Finnish specialty called the Pannukakku, which is baked in the oven as opposed to on a griddle.

Simple Ingredients

The Pannukakku was surprisingly easy to make. I even had all the ingredients ( 4 eggs, 2 cups of milk, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup of flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon baking powder) already in my kitchen. The steps to making it were almost as easy. Not a baker (I have only baked two things in my life - both for a True Mastery challenge), I had to rely on online sources to research and find a recipe. A quick Google search unveiled many to choose from. I went with one found on www.thespruceeats.com as provided by Keri Diehl (see the link provided below.) If you don't want to watch the video, it goes something like this...

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2) Melt butter in cast iron skillet (they used a square pan in the video, but I love my cast iron)

3) Combine all dry ingredients into a large bowl and blend together

4) Beat the eggs and add them, along with the milk, to the bowl and mix well

5) Swirl melted butter around the skillet to coat the sides and add the rest of the melted butter to the mixing bowl. Blend together until smooth and well mixed

6) Dump contents of the bowl back into the skillet

7) Put in oven for approximately 20 minutes

8) The Pannukakku is finished when the top is golden brown and the middle has a little bounce to it

9) Slice, top, and enjoy!

I pulled it out of the oven when top was a beautiful golden brown and the center was slightly springy. After just a few minutes of cooling, it was ready to cut into slices and eat. The edges were firm and spongy, while the center of it was creamy and delicious. I liked how tiny holes formed on the top showing the contrast between the crisp outer layer and the softness bubbling just below the surface.

Baked Pannukakku

As I was researching how to make the Pannukakku, I noticed that most of them recommended a berry topping. The adventurous side of me wanted to use one of Finland's more exotic fruits like lingonberries or cloudberries, but such things require me to order online and I only had a couple days to submit my challenge proof. I decided to go with blueberries, which are also in abundance in Finland and ripe and ready in my neck of the woods as well.

The compote is incredibly easy to make. All you do is boil a 1/2 cup of sugar in a 1/2 cup of water with a couple strips of lemon zest. Once the sugar is fully dissolved, you remove the lemon zest and add a pint of blueberries. These then are left to simmer for about twenty minutes until the berries have all popped and released their flavor. When it's reduced to the point you like (depending on how thick you prefer you're compote) remove it from the heat and add a couple squeezes of lemon juice. It is now ready.

Blueberry Compote

I then finished the plate off with a sprinkle of powdered sugar and thick sliced, butcher prepared smoked bacon. It proved to be a delicious way to start the day. My kids, although they were skeptical of calling it a pancake at first, devoured their slices and asked for more. I have a feeling I may be trying to make these again in the future, albeit with a couple of alterations. First, after tasting it, I thought the Pannukakku would taste that much better with a little touch of vanilla. Not imitation either, but real vanilla extract. Second, doing it on my own (and not as part of a challenge), I would have the time needed to try to score some fresh lingonberries for it. Either way, I am sure it will be delicious.

Breakfast

recipe
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.