Feast logo

The Notorious D.I.P.

A Tradition Touchdown

By Claire McKeanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
My son and his three children.

2 packs of cream cheese

1 can of deviled ham

1 can of black olives

1 bunch of green onions

Milk (enough to make it creamy)

Black olive juice

Salt and pepper

Mix cream cheese and deviled ham until well mixed. Add black olives to taste. Add milk and mix to desired consistency. Add desired amount of olive juice. Sprinkle in desired amount of green onions. Add salt and pepper.

This is a recipe that has become a family tradition, but it didn't start out as one.

When I was young we had very few family food traditions. Yes, there were turkeys at Thanksgiving and Christmas, birthday cakes and the occasional BBQ but that was about it. When my son was two years old he fell in love with football. He was crazy about anything that had to do with it.He had to have a football, a helmet and a jersey. Once he had his gear he was ready to go. We spent hours throwing the ball. I taught him how to put a spiral on the ball, use "suction cup" finger tips to suck in the ball, tuck the all when he ran and a few jukes to shake off any persuers. The minute I opicked him up from daycare he started in "football!", "play football!" "pleeeze?!" As soon as we hit the front door he would race into his room to suit up. I would change my clothes, we'd grab a snack and head out to the yard. Many happy days were spent tossing the old pigskin around.

As he got older we would watch the games on T.V..He would sit mesmerized studying every move. Soon he had a favorite team and player. Sunday games and Monday Night Football were must watch television in our house it wasn't long before a never ending game sprang up in my front yard. After school a group of gangly youngsters would show up at the house and play til dark. They would just show up eager to play. Snacks became a necessity to keep the hungry hoard at bay. I started whipping up all kinds of "football food". From natchos, wings, chips and dip, pigs in a blanket and hot dogs were staples. They ate whatever I threw at 'em. They'd gobble it down slug down a drink and run back out to get a little more game time in.

At some point I decided to doctor up a dip recipe I had and make something new. I mixed cream cheese and deviled ham and called my son in to try it out. He suggested we add black olives and was pleased with the outcome. He scooped it up with a saltine cracker and proclaimed "mmmmm that's grubbin'". We eventually decided to add a few things to it to jazz it up a bit. Black olives and black olive juice, milk to make it a little creamier, green onions for a little zip and we experimented with different spices.My son's goal was to perfect it and offer it as a snack at an after school game. When the time was right he decided to unveil the concoction at snack time. He was very nervous "what if they don't like it?", "what if they really hate it?!". I did my best to reassure him. he stiffened his spine, squared his shoulders, set the bowl of dip and crackers onthe table and called the kids in.

A gaggle of sweaty, red faced kids streamed into the house. As soon as hands were washed they gathered around the kitchen table ready for a tasty treat. They fell silent and uncertainty filled the air. The lumpy mixture with black and green chunks mixed into it was definitely not what they were expecting. Furtive glances flew around the table as my son watched anxiously. One kid nudged the guy next to him and nodded at the bowl. His hand slowly snaked toward the bowl. He tentatively scooped some dip onto a cracker, put it to his mouth and took a nibble. Everyone leaned in to get his reaction. He flashed a little grin and popped the whole cracker into his mouth. The rush to the bowl was on. The notorious D.I.P. was a hit! High fives all around.

My son went on to play football in school. Of course the notorious D.I.P. was featured at all the games on the field or at home. He also became quite the chef creating everything from killer breakfasts, to marinades, to baked goods. He would find a recipe, change it up a bit, go with me to the store for ingredients and come up with something great. Our next door neighbor had been a baker on a ship, while in the Navy, stationed at Pearl Harbor. He took my son under his wing and taught him how to bake. Soon he was whipping up everything from pies to turnovers to cheese cakes for the local church potlucks. When my son eventually armchair quarterbacked or tailgated the notorious D.I.P. was ever present. The basic recipe has been changed up in many ways since it's inception. Sometimes hot peppers are added, other times chicken replaces deviled ham. Saltine crackers have made way for more adult crackers. The notorious D.I.P. has grown along side my son and is now a family tradition served at any family gathering.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.