Feast logo

The Healing Power of a Familiar Aroma

A Vietnamese Girl's Journey to Find Comfort in a Foreign Land

By Chole LamPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
An afternoon walking along in Adelaide

The Adelaide winter seeped into my bones, a damp chill that reminded me of the monsoons back home in Vietnam. I huddled deeper into my scarf, the familiar scent of pho spices clinging to the wool, a small comfort in this foreign land.

The city was beautiful, no doubt. The sprawling parklands, the charming laneways – I had explored them all, camera in hand, capturing moments to share with my family back home. But as the days grew shorter and the nights colder, a longing for the warmth of my homeland grew stronger.

The leaves fall in late autumn, and winter begins

I missed the chaotic energy of the streets, the fragrant aromas wafting from food stalls, the comforting chatter of Vietnamese filling the air. I missed my family, their laughter echoing through our small apartment, the shared meals that were a symphony of flavors and stories.

The restaurant where I worked had cut back my shifts, blaming the slow winter season. With too much time on my hands and a heart heavy with longing, I turned to the one thing that always brought me comfort: cooking.

Today's menu was a simple but hearty beef pho. As the familiar aroma of star anise, cinnamon, and ginger filled the kitchen, memories of bustling Saigon street markets flooded back. I could almost hear the vendors hawking their wares, the clatter of chopsticks, and the murmur of conversations over steaming bowls of pho.

For a brief moment, the chill of the Adelaide winter faded away, replaced by the warmth of my Vietnamese kitchen. I may have been thousands of miles away from home, but in that bowl of pho, I found a taste of comfort, a reminder that even in the darkest of winters, the warmth of home is never truly out of reach.

The winter chill still lingered, but a newfound warmth bloomed within me. I knew that this experience, this journey, was shaping me, teaching me resilience and independence. And when the time came to return home, I would carry a piece of Australia with me, a reminder of the challenges I had overcome and the memories I had made.

Finding Warmth in a Bowl of Pho

The Recipe

Ingredients:

  • Beef bones for the broth
  • Onion, ginger, and spices for flavor
  • Fish sauce, sugar, and salt for seasoning
  • Dried rice noodles
  • Thinly sliced raw beef
  • Bean sprouts, basil, cilantro, mint, and lime for toppings
  • Optional chili peppers, hoisin sauce, and sriracha

Steps:

Cook the broth in the Instant Pot:

  • Pressure cook beef bones with onion and ginger for 60 minutes.
  • Strain the broth and season with fish sauce, sugar, and salt.
  • Prepare the noodles and toppings:
  • Cook rice noodles according to package instructions.
  • Wash and chop herbs, slice chili peppers if using.

Assemble and serve the pho:

  • Divide noodles and raw beef among bowls.
  • Ladle hot broth over the top to cook the beef.
  • Garnish with toppings and serve with hoisin sauce and sriracha.

Tips:

  • Roast bones and onion for a richer broth.
  • Simmer on stovetop for 4-6 hours if you don't have an Instant Pot.
  • Adjust seasonings to taste.
  • Add more chili for a spicier pho.
  • Use vegetable broth and tofu/mushrooms for a vegetarian version.

As I finished the last spoonful, a quiet contentment settled over me. The pho had nourished not only my body but my soul, reminding me that home isn't just a place, but a feeling woven into the flavors and aromas of my childhood. With a renewed sense of warmth and belonging, I knew that even in this faraway land, I could always find a piece of Vietnam within me, one delicious bowl at a time.

recipe

About the Creator

Chole Lam

A 27-year-old Vietnamese girl living and working in Adelaide, Australia. I love exploring new places and getting lost in a good book.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chole LamWritten by Chole Lam

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.