Feast logo

The Food Truck that Never Fails

During a time of take out sometimes its best if it comes from a truck

By Naomi RogersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Food Truck that Never Fails
Photo by Katie Smith on Unsplash

During the pandemic there has been a scarcity in satisfying take out. This very well may be due to difficulty acquiring ingredients or lack of customers. The task of finding top tier take out has become a daunting one. In my area there are plenty of varieties and options however not many are worth the price. For example, one thing that should be avoided at all costs is sushi, the only guaranteed satisfactory rolls can be found in the tourist attraction towns that lie 20 minutes or more outside of my driving range. Despite being in Maryland I am not the biggest fan of seafood nor crab eliminating many of the surrounding restaurants. Of course there are always the reliable burger joints however, somedays I am in search of extraordinary flavor. In my search for gustatory satisfaction time and time again I have thrown my money away on bland, cold, or just plain mediocre take out.

Then I found a little food truck located in the parking lot of a nearby gas station. The food truck is called Mi Ranchito-El Buen Sabor. I had seen it before and overlooked it thinking it wouldn't be anything worth investigating. My partner had tried it and insisted I do so as well with great enthusiasm. The first time around I ordered the pork tacos. I was a bit skeptical of getting food off of a truck as an anniversary celebration but I wouldn't have chosen any other place.

If there were any dish I would recommend a new customer trying it would be the pork tacos. The mix of seasoned pork, spicy peppers, flavorful sauce, and pops of sweetness from the pineapple comes together to tickle the five basic tastes. It also comes with plenty of side ingredients including two sauces, grilled onions, and a spicy pepper for your customization satisfaction. The taco accomplished the difficult task of tickling every flavor taste bud while still being able to coexist in harmony. For those not interested in pork or who are put off by the pineapple there are other wonderful taco options including chicken or beef. I must admit the food truck may be a bit disappointing for vegetarians and vegans, I apologize for the lack of inclusivity.

While the menu always has a delicious selection the tacos are their prize dish. Having tried every type of taco offered I can say with utmost confidence that no matter which type you choose you can never go wrong (however my personal favorite is the pork). Often I find the food far too delicious to leave leftovers, even if my stomach suffers from the effort.

Not only is the food delectable the chef is a sweetheart. Soft spoken and polite upon ordering he never fails to inform his customers of the eight minute wait. The food is always served piping hot and fresh with an appreciative "thank you!"

To this day it is one of my favorite go-to food locations. Along with an order of tacos I sometimes pop into the gas station to buy a drink to go along with my meal. Every time the food truck has failed to disappoint. Throughout the pandemic since discovering the food truck it has become a source of celebratory meals as well as recovery ones after a long day. No matter the reason for ordering tacos it has served as a delicious and reliable source of an enjoyable meal.

Recently their truck has suffered from mechanical issues leaving them out of service until they are up and running once again. And when they are I will be the first in line.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.