Feast logo

The Deviant Baker: Cherry Overnight Oats

Incident Five: Cherry Overnight Oats

By catchafrisbiePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Courtesy of Catchafrisbie

If you like to improvise, experiment, or find it difficult to follow a recipe—the Deviant Baker is the place for you where deviating is creating.

Recently, I attended Wanderlust 108 Brooklyn, a "mindful triathlon." And by attend, I mean I showed up, collected my gift bag, ate my breakfast, unrolled my yoga mat, rolled it back up, and left. Due to an unexpected medical emergency, I left without doing a single downward-facing dog. But not without tasting the most delicious cherry overnight oats. I came home enthused over cherry overnight oats, so I put on my apron and got to work attempting to recreate them.

Courtesy of Catchafrisbie

I love overnight oats because they are healthy, easy, and make me feel full for hours. If you Google the health benefits of oats you will find lots of articles noting that they are heart-healthy, may help lower cholesterol, contain vitamins and minerals, and may help stabilize blood sugar, so you do not experience a blood sugar crash.

Check out this Good Housekeeping article for more information on the health benefits of oats.

I prefer to make overnight oats at the beginning of the week and then add my toppings to the oats each morning. This recipe makes approximately six cups, is vegan, and may be adapted for nut or gluten allergies.

Here is my take on cherry overnight oats.

Overnight Oats

Courtesy of Catchafrisbie

Important: overnight oats must sit in the refrigerator for at least two hours.

These overnight oats pair deliciously with cherry compote, almond butter, and almond slices. The cherry compote and almond butter are sweet and savory, while the almond slices offer the perfect amount of crunch.

Here are the ingredients you will need:

Dairy Alternative:

  • 2 cups almond milk (substitute coconut milk for nut allergies)
  • 1 cup full-fat coconut milk (you know the stuff that comes in a can and separates)

Baking:

  • 2 cups rolled oats (may substitute for gluten-free oats)
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup

Toppings (Optional):

  • Almond butter
  • Sliced almonds
  • Cherry Compote (see recipe below)

Instructions (and deviations):

1. In a medium container with a lid, combine rolled oats, chia seeds, coconut milk, vanilla, maple syrup, and almond milk.

Courtesy of Catchafrisbie

Note: As soon as I think there cannot be a way to mess up a recipe. BAM! I do something completely unexpected. There is no butter in this recipe, so there were no butter mishaps (surprisingly). This recipe's perpetrator was almond milk. Maybe I got distracted, but somehow, I accidentally missed the large bowl in front of me and poured the milk down the cupboard and all over the floor. Then, I noticed the bowl looked a little soupy. I rechecked the recipe and realized that I added double the amount of milk required. So I messed that up too. Maybe almond milk will be the next butter. Feel free to skip this deviation, it was a little messy.

2. Stir well, cover with lid, and place in the refrigerator overnight or for a minimum of two hours.

Easy Cherry Compote

A compote is fruit preserved or cooked in syrup. For this compote, dark sweet cherries, water, and sugar cook until it thickens. This compote provides a burst of cherry flavor and sweetness to the oats and almond butter.

Here are the ingredients you will need:

Baking:

  • 1/8 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1-3 teaspoons cornstarch (optional)

Other:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup frozen organic dark sweet cherries

Instructions (and deviations):

1. Melt sugar and water on medium heat. Then add frozen cherries.

2. Simmer on medium heat for 15 minutes. Frequently stir and mash cherries.

3. Add vanilla and cook for an additional five minutes. Note: I added too much water, and the compote was too thin. If this happens to you, add one teaspoon of cornstarch at a time until the liquid reaches your desired consistency.

4. Remove from heat and let cool completely. Refrigerate after completely cooled.

Cherry Overnight Oats

Courtesy of Catchafrisbie

Remove the overnight oats from the refrigerator and stir well. If the oats are too thick or dry, add more almond or coconut milk and stir. Place the desired amount of overnight oats in a bowl and top with cherry compote, almond butter, and sliced almonds. Enjoy!

Until the next standard deviation,

The Deviant Baker

For more recipes from the Deviant Baker, check out The Deviant Baker: Easy Peach Dessert Recipes That Will Leave You Feeling Peachy.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

catchafrisbie

I want to leave kindness in my footsteps and tiny seeds of hope in your brain.

Write your own story here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.