Feast logo

The Best No-Bake Oatmeal Candy Recipe

The perfect Christmas candy.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3
The Best No-Bake Oatmeal Candy. Photo by Author, Amanda Payne.

When I was growing up in the mountains of West Virginia, one of my favorite sweets was no-bake chocolate oatmeal candy. I didn't call it oatmeal candy, though. I had another name for it.

While growing up, my cousin Shelia and I loved roaming around our grandparents' place. They raised cattle and other animals. We saw our fair share of cow patties. For those of you that don't know, cow patties are cow manure. They are typically flat and roundish.

One day while out walking, Shelia accidentally stepped into a cow patty. I joked that it looked like my favorite chocolate oatmeal candy. So that's what we have called them ever since. I know I am gross. I have no shame.

When my kids were still in school, I made cow patties for their teachers for Christmas. I wrapped the candy up nicely and put a pretty red bow on top. When I handed it to one teacher, she said, “Preacher candy!” She dug into it immediately with a smile on her face.

I had heard no one call oatmeal candy preacher candy. I asked her why she called it that. I didn't tell her I called it cow patties. She told me when she was growing up, the town preacher would drop by their house unexpectedly. Her mom rushed to make oatmeal candy so he would have a snack while there. She said it seemed her mom only made the candy when the preacher came around. She and her siblings nicknamed it preacher candy.

I thought that was a cute name, but I still call it cow patties. For the sake of this article, I'll call it oatmeal candy, though. My daughter-in-law says these are cookies, not candy. I told her that cookie ingredients include flour and eggs. This recipe doesn't have flour and eggs, so they are candy, not cookies. Whatever you call it, enjoy!

It only takes a few minutes to make and does not require many ingredients. It's perfect as a Christmas gift or as an added treat in Christmas stockings.

The Best No-Bake Oatmeal Candy Recipe

Prep Time: 2 Minutes

Cook Time: 1 Minute

Set up: 30 Minutes

Yields: 3 dozen

Photo by Author, Amanda Payne

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of white sugar
  • 1/2 cup of butter (1 stick)
  • 4 1/2 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 1/2 cups of 1-minute quick oats
  • 1/2 cup of peanut butter (smooth or crunchy)
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Directions

  1. First, gather and measure all of your ingredients and set them aside until later.
  2. Rip off a couple of sheets of aluminum foil, each a couple of feet long. Lay them on a table or countertop. Rub the foil with butter, leaving a thin layer. You can do this with your fingers or by using a paper towel.
  3. In a 3-quart saucepan, combine sugar and cocoa. Then add the milk and butter and mix well.
  4. Heat the pan to medium heat. When the ingredients are at a rolling boil, count down one minute. Stir the mixture continuously.
  5. When the minute is up, remove the saucepan from heat.
  6. Add peanut butter and vanilla and mix well.
  7. Then add the oatmeal. Mix well.
  8. Drop the candy by the spoonful onto the foil.
  9. Allow it to cool and set. Remove the candy from the foil and store it in an airtight container.

This chocolate oatmeal candy will be soft set within about 30 minutes. If you are in a hurry, you can pop them in the refrigerator.

You can use a variety of other ingredients. Try adding raisins, pretzels, or nuts. You could also leave the cocoa out for a delicious peanut butter oatmeal candy. Try adding chocolate chips or even maple flavoring.

If you do not want to make individual pieces of candy, you can pour the mixture into a 13" x 9" lightly buttered pan and make bars instead.

You can also freeze it and take out a few pieces whenever the mood strikes. Layer the candy in a freezer bag using parchment or wax paper. Then seal the bag and freeze.

Enjoy these cow patty preacher oatmeal candy cookies!

recipe
3

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.