Feast logo

SUSHI!

My Top 3 Places In Las Vegas!

By Richard SkeemPublished 3 years ago β€’ 5 min read
2
SUSHI!
Photo by Vinicius Benedit on Unsplash

Sushi is definitely a dish that is not for everyone. I have spoken to a lot of people about it and it seems the general consensus is you either LOVE it or you HATE it! Well sorry sushi haters but this article ain't gonna be for you! I'm in love with sushi. Always have been and always will be. I think my favorite types of prepared sushi are anything with salmon 🀀 just thinking of the texture alone is enough to make my mouth water! BUT, I digress -- you didn't come here to read about my sushi fantasies. You're here because of the promised top 3 sushi places right here in Vegas! (in my opinion at least 😬) I'll explain the restaurant and also give you my go-to dish for each one. Let's do it!😁

3. Osaka

Here at #3 is this lovely restaurant. Osaka was my very first experience with sushi. I first went here as a kid, I had probably just barely turned 9 if memory serves. I also remember walking in and the hostess asking if we wanted a regular seat or a tatami booth. I was so confused at the time! My parents wanted my brother and I to experience the tatami so tatami it was. Not to mention my brother was super excited because he loves everything about Japanese culture, haha. For those of you who don't know, tatami seating is basically just a bamboo floor area where you sit or, in most cases, kneel around your table. Sometimes accompanied by a square sitting pillow. Oh, and if you choose to sit tatami style be sure to wear your best socks πŸ˜‰ because you MUST take off your shoes, (whispers) otherwise it's disrespectful. In addition to the different seating, some locations also offer Teppanyaki style which is super fun! I did it once, had a blast.

Osaka does serve more than sushi, and their selection of other foods is a big delicious variety. They also have a wine and beer selection to satisfy some of you boozers out there. So my go-to dishes for Osaka: First, the appetizer. Kalbi Sticks have been a long time favorite of mine and I get those every time I go to Osaka. Love those kabobbed sticks of BBQ'd meat. As for the sushi rolls, I usually like to go with their signature roll called "Oh-My-God" because of this sauce they put over the rolls called banzai sauce πŸ˜‹ so "God"! If I still happen to be hungry after that I grab some "Ultimate Salmon" rolls just to get some of my favorite fish in there.

So those are what I'd recommend for Osaka! Its fun atmosphere and variety of seating with their extensive delicious menu to satisfy your every craving have landed it a solid spot at #3! Now onto bigger better things with the next on the list 😏

2. Sapporo

If you have never had revolving sushi before, you are totally missing out! You must try it right now! Stop reading and go get some revolving sushi!

Essentially revolving sushi is like a conveyor belt buffet with plates of all kinds of different sushi that "roll" on by, heh. I'm not sorry. You only pay for the plates you grab, so you better be sure you wanna eat it. Now even just from the outside of this place it looks pretty expensive, right? Well let me tell you, I've not broken the bank any of the many times I have visited this place. It's super affordable and super delicious!

Apart from the revolving sushi they have these convenient touch screen menus where you can order other foods like ramen soups, salads, desserts, etc. To be honest though, I'm not a big desserts person. 😬 sue me. Oh, and if you happen to order any rolls from the menu, a small robot on wheels will deliver it to you on a platform from above the conveyor belt, it's super cute! As far as me recommending a good dish, that's a little difficult because it is conveyor style, but I usually love anything with salmon, as you already know at this point, haha! However, I can tell you that a MUST HAVE would definitely be their Yumyum sauce. Always ask for the yumyum!

No other place deserves the #2 spot in my book! The menu may not be as extensive as Osaka, but that's not always a bad thing. The atmosphere is a breath of fresh air and you gotta love the little robots and conveyor belts just tantalizing you with all of this delicious food they carry around...I'm craving sushi real bad now...Imma be right back!

1. Naked Fish

Ah, that was delicious! πŸ˜‹ So anyway!

I'll be honest, this restaurant was not what I expected! I must admit that I kind of pre-judged this place from the outside since it looked like a generic shopping square πŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈ. Big mistake on my part. Never gonna judge a book by its cover again!

Naked Fish isn't any type of conveyor belt place nor does it have any special seating apart from the bar. It's simple and I love it! The menu is done a completely different way from what I've seen before, though, which is pretty cool! It's basically just a QR code that you scan with your phone and it takes you to their menu -- Fancy! Now, the restaurant is fairly small, but it definitely makes up for it with the quality of their food and service. Not to mention when you're about to leave, the sushi chefs give you an awesome Japanese farewell! It makes me feel special 😊

Undoubtedly all of their food is incredibly good, however Mr. Richard here--That's me--has got some choice picks for you, and my pick for this one is sashimi! Sashimi is where it's at! They have two different types of sashimi plates the only difference is how much sashimi you get, so it's basically up to you and how cost effective you want to be with it. My other pick would be the "Cat Eye Roll"! This roll is very unique compared to any of the many sushi I have tried. It has a crunchy texture on the top of the roll, then the inside is slightly sweet and savory at the same time 🀀 Very tasty.

I had the best of times with the few that I've visited here. I have visited many other sushi restaurants in Vegas, and this little hole in the wall of a restaurant has definitely outshined them in not only the quality of food and general atmosphere, but service as well. Which makes this restaurant, for me, the #1 sushi place I have been to!

Thanks for reading! Oh, and definitely keep these places in mind if you plan on travelling to Vegas for the holidays! 😁

Sources:

Osaka Photo: https://urbandiningguide.com/city/las-vegas/place/osaka-japanese-bistro/

Sapporo Photo: https://www.yelp.com/biz/sapporo-revolving-sushi-las-vegas-2

Naked Fish Photo: https://www.lasvegashappyhour.net/happy-hour-for-naked-fishs-in-las-vegas-nv-89147/

restaurants
2

About the Creator

Richard Skeem

Just a gamer geek who likes to think...and eat.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.