Feast logo

Shun Japanese kitchen

A unique experience

By Crossroads of inspiration Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The fluffiest

There are a few great restaurants in my area, but one to me just stands out. Shun Japanese Kitchen in Houston Texas.

I remember the first time I went there. It was because of Facebook ads for their fluffy pancakes. Saw those for about a year before I finally decided to check them out. Turns out they were in a part of town I sometimes visit, just off of highway 59 on shepherd.

The building looked the same as many other building along that road which kept me from seeing it before I decided to search it out. When we got there, my friend and I had forgotten to get a reservation.

On sundays they have a special, the whole reason why I decided to check them out. Their fluffy pancakes also known as soufflé pancakes. They are so popular that for the first half of the day they need people to give them reservations orherwise they wouldn’t beable to serve their guest.

Each order of two pancakes takes 30 minutes to make. They have on the menu the original fluffy pancakes, with a orange butter, fresh maple syrup and whipped cream. Then they have their specialty pancakes which changes month to month. I have seen them have a chocolate and netella one, a berry one, a bacon one, and I’m sure they had more that I am just not remembering.

I always tend to go with the original just because it is so good.

But I digress as I was thinking about their food. So the first time I went there we entered and were greeted by the hostess who told us about the reservations, so we made one for later that day and spent time going to the stores nearby. When it was time we went back to the restraunt.

The hostess greeted us warmly and took us to our booth. It was sitting near to the bar. The atmosphere was very much authenticly Japanese. On the tv screens behind the bar they had video walks around different parts of Japan.

Ken was our waiter and we ordered the pancakes and drinks. The first time was only for the pancakes. They got me hooked and I ended up bringing almost all my friends and family there to try their food.

It was the third time I was there with another friend of mine. He saw that they had Australian wagyu beef. And decided to try it. He ordered the basic steak and I ended up getting the wagyu skewer. We shared pieces of each other’s meals. The meat was absolutely amazing. I remember vividly that the skewered wagyu had a bbq flavor to it.

I saved a couple pieces of the skewer for some friends they all tried it and thought it was delicious. One even said it was the best tasting thing she had ever put in her mouth. Her coworkers were jealous that she got to try that fantastic meat.

The time after that they had managed to get authentic wagyu beef from Japan. Went there again and this meat was so tender we were able to cut the meat with chopsticks.

My friend and I managed to become know as regulars there. When they see use or hear us call to make reservations, they treat us by name.

I brought a while group of friends from out of town to try it out, and everyone there loved the pancakes, one friend she also got the okonomiyaki. Also known as a Japanese pancake. I didn’t get to try it but I might next time I got there.

This restaurant is absolutely my favorite place to eat at in the Houston area. Do not get me wrong there are some other amazing restaurants. Like Seabrook waffle company, but Shun Japanese kitchen has everything superb.

I have not had one bad experience there. The waiters when they greet you ask if you’ve been here before, and if you have any food allergies. A few friends of mine did so it made their ordering smoother and ensured that they got to enjoy their meals without any risk to themselves.

I can not recommend that restaurant enough. So if your ever in Houston take a moment to stop by and try it out. If your in town on a Sunday, then make a reservation and try their flufffy pancakes along with their seasonal menu.

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Crossroads of inspiration

we stand at a crossroads. In idea proposed, and a new path forged. Each of us going our own way, guided by the inspiration we have left behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.