Feast logo

Say "Ahi, Ahi" ( Ah-He)

Aloha! Tuna Poke bowls.

By Yodang Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Aloha To you all!

This summer is something I am so looking forward to!

Where I grew on the beautiful islands of hawaii, where summer came to us all year around. Of course you'd have days where it would rain, but living New York and dealing with the diferent climate change I've come to aprieciate summer more.

It has been years since I've been to hawaii let's say I'm pretty homesick, and due to this pandemic it didn't help either trying to go back to my homeland.

So everytime when summer comes around my favorite go to dish that myself, my whole Ohana( Family) and many local hawaiians love to enjoy is a refreshing bowl of Poke. ( Pok-Eh) When it comes to Poke there is so many recipes for you to explore!

You have Ahi poke ( Which is raw tuna in hawaiian) where my Makua ( Ma- Ku- ah , Father) Would make for us on a hot summer day. Recipes will be shared below. There are others who love to enjoy it with raw salamon or any raw fish to their preference.

In Hawaii I remember there were days where my whole Ohana and I would stop at the local food store and grab a bowl of poke. Making our way to the beach we would just sit there enjoying the freshness of the raw Ahi ( Tuna) that was just caught. There are many wonderful flavors that you can add. As hawaiians we love to add the flavors of which the roasted, crushed kukui nut had to offer.

Kukui nut - It has a creamy rich flavor which the closes taste youcan compare it to is a macademia nut. ( For those who had never had this before.)

Other ingredients I love to add is taste of the lightly drizeled sesame seed oil and the light sweetness that came from the purple onions along with rock salt. These ingredients were the perfect combination that I enjoy, it's so simple yet so refreshing and comforting when you eat it along with a bed of rice on a nice summer day.

They were such wonderful memories where I would find my taste buds dancing with these amazing flavors, all meanwhile my eyes were being entertained by the beautiful ocean that I found dancing to the wind's song.

Hours upon hours we would spend our time enjoying the island's many gifts of the sea. This local dish was always my ohana's go to whenever we would enjoy a day at the beach. This recipe here is one of my favorites!

It shows how to replace the kukui nut because it is hard to get around here, instead it shows how you can replace it with macadamia nut which has the same effect! This is not our recipe.

Our Ohana's recipe is right below. So of whenever we get the chance to enjoy this dish, we always get sent back of paradise we miss and hopefully one day get to see again. It is so simple for you to make all you have to do is cut everything up and throw it togther.

(Our Ohana's recipe for Ahi-Poke)

-1/2 pound of raw tuna

- 1 purple onion.

-Sesame oil ( 1/4 cup)

- Green onions (1/4 cup)

- Sea salt ( or any salt is fine.) 2 tablespoon.

(Cut raw tuna into cubes in a bowl. Then add sea salt, sesame oil, green onions and purple onion and mix. Then enjoy with rice and share it with your whole Ohana. Another option is leave it in the fridge for 20 minutes if you like it a little chilled. Ono ( Good) Either way! )

Mahalo everyone!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Yodang

Honestly speaking am I experienced writer? Yeah no, Just a beginner where the thoughts from my eyes pour out to the tip of my tounge and onto a touch of a keyboard. So what is there for you to explore? Come and see for yourself..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.