Feast logo

Review: Starbucks’ Strawberry Funnel Cake Frappuccino

My Honest Opinion About Starbucks' Newest Addition For The Summer

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7
NEW!! Starbucks' Strawberry Funnel Cake Frappuccino

When I first heard Starbucks' new Strawberry Funnel Cake Frappuccino, I knew I had to try it for myself. I love ice coffee/blended coffee, so when Starbucks introduces something new, it's a must that I get my hands on it to try it for myself. Combining strawberries, cake, and coffee in one delectable drink made my tastebuds jump for joy. Starbucks has never failed me, so on this particular day, I couldn't decide if I wanted a Grande or Venti. After seconds of contemplation, I decided on the Venti. I eagerly swiped my card, told the barista my name (in which she spelled right, by the way), and stood to the side patiently waiting for my order. I decided to discuss presentation, taste, texture, and overall rating for this review, which is why you're here, right?

The Presentation

Based on the look alone, it does reflect summer. Light, sweet, and calm. My first impression of the drink didn't look like a tall cup of coffee. It also differed from the promo photos I've seen online; it's not labeled a refresher, but the drink did look refreshing. Strawberries stuffed at the bottom, blended in the middle, and strawberry syrup drizzled on the top for decoration; this is a drink you can sip on poolside and have no regrets; it screams cheat day as you prepare your body for summer. Your junk-food tastebud will be tested. Sip wisely.

The Taste

The initial taste was unique, with bursting flavors of strawberry and cake hit my tastebuds heavily. After the sixth or seventh sip, I got tired of the flavor. As the ice melted, the flavors tasted artificial. I don't remember tasting chunks of strawberry or even coffee, for that matter. Imagine pouring a cup of pure sugar into your mouth and chewing. The coffee would've taken away from the sweetness of the puree so maybe done with intent. That was the taste after a while. I've never been diagnosed with diabetes, but I felt my sugar levels reaching their peak.

I was disappointed that this Starbucks creation didn't meet my expectations. I tried my best to finish the drink out of frugality, but my stomach wouldn't allow me to torture myself continuously. I felt nauseous and sick to my stomach. I threw the whole Venti in the trash. When I drink coffee, I can taste the vanilla or hazelnut, but I didn't taste any coffee with this drink. The flavor is one-sided. I'm not sure if the barista was aware of the measurements, but my first impression of this drink was that it didn't provide what is needed. To cut out the coffee taste, they may have added more sweet than savory.

Would I purchase this again? No. The sweetness of the beverage was overpowering. I've tasted a plethora of Frappuccinos, and this one failed in providing a coffee taste. I know that this drink is getting its customers ready for the county fair, but it didn't offer nostalgia or enthusiasm. I probably should've been more modest with my purchase and got the Grande instead of the Venti. When new and exciting flavors drop, I always asked the barista for their recommendations before making any final purchase. This time I was confident in my purchase and the taste.

I sadly would have to give this drink a 2 out of 5 and won't be purchasing it for a second time.

Nutrition Facts: (16 oz) 410 calories, 20 grams of fat, 12 grams of saturated fat, 0 grams of trans fat, 60 milligrams of cholesterol, 220 milligrams of sodium, 53 grams of carbohydrates, 0 grams of fiber, 51 grams of sugar, 4 grams of added sugar, 4 grams of protein, and 85 milligrams of caffeine.

My Latest

Click here to read more of my stories.

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

product review
7

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.