Feast logo

Review Corner: My Old Dutch Pancake House

The place to go for a decadent twist on a breakfast staple

By Nessy WriterPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1

Though my Vocal account is mainly dedicated to my creative work, I thought it would also be a good place to review certain events, places and travels. This is one for the foodies out there!

Place: My Old Dutch Pancake House

Location: 131-132 High Holborn, London WC1V 6PS

If you’re looking for the perfect brunch or lunch spot, have pancakes on your cravings list, appreciate hefty portions and an aesthetically pleasing venue, then this is the place for you!

The menu has a vast array of choices, and even though we only sampled the savoury options on this particular visit I would definitely be tempted by the large range of sweet and dessert pancake options.

But What If You're Vegan or Can't eat gluten?

Never fear, they actually offer vegan, gluten-free and dairy free options and bases. You can also opt to make your own pancake and choose from a wide range of delectable toppings.

So how would I rate my experience? My friend and I ordered two completely different pancakes and I enjoyed sampling both.

What could be described as the “House” option is the “My Old Dutch Savoury pancake”

Ingredients:

Smoke bacon, chicken, ham, red and yellow sweet peppers, mushrooms sweetcorn and cheese.

Verdict:

I felt like this was a well-rounded meal. Even though it was a treat I told myself I was hitting all the major food groups and it was certainly delicious. It was blended well with an even coverage of the toppings in the batter and I did not find the pancake itself too stodgy.

Greek pancake

Ingredients:

Grilled aubergine, tomato, halloumi, feta, olives, cheese, red onion and oregano.

Verdict:

This option is great for vegetarians. A bit on the salty side for me but with a good mix of cheese that is balanced out with the aubergine. I would say I preferred the "My Old Dutch" pancake but if you were craving those kinds of flavours, a great choice.

Now neither of these pancakes were a “light bite”. The portions are more than generous, even difficult to finish for some, though doggie bags are provided if you wanted to finish it off later. The size of the pancake is in fact a pizza size worthy 15 inches. So I do think it is worth the on average £15 price tag. But if you’re on a budget and can show up on a Monday, they have a deal of £7.25 for the classic sweet and savoury pancakes. Though the “build your own” option to create the pancake of your dreams is not included in the "Monday Madness" deal.

In addition to the pancakes, there is also a vast array of milkshakes. I would recommend you save this for dessert as it is basically ice cream in semi liquid form. I made the mistake of ordering the milkshake prior to my pancake, not wanting to be too full with milkshake and having it too melted for my taste by the time I finished the pancake. But to each their own! I went for Kinder Bueno, blended well and a deliciously decadent treat.

The venue itself is colourful and bright with funky signs and whimsically coloured flowers and foliage tumbling from above. A feast for the eyes and stomach. The staff are also friendly and helpful. Overall there's a warm and fun atmosphere in the place.

I would give it a 5-star rating.

Follow for more reviews and let me know your thoughts if you happen to visit!

Check out the website for more info:

cuisine
1

About the Creator

Nessy Writer

A freelance writer of all sorts sharing it out with the world. Poetry, prose, advice, reviews and travel writing.

If you want to show your support and see more please follow me on Twitter: Nessywriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.