Feast logo

Recipe for Rajas con Crema

Hispanic dish: Roasted poblanos in cream

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Poblanos in cream with avocado salsa

Are you interested in preparing a delicious dish? Then when you go to the grocery store make sure to buy the ingredients to cook rajas con crema! Rajas con crema translates to roasted poblanos in cream. This is a Hispanic dish and when it comes to Hispanic dishes most of the time they will not taste awful. When I first saw this dish, my initial reaction was that it looked odd, to me it seemed like something that would not be pleasant for my stomach to have, but when my stepmom told me it did not contain any cheese, I was not hesitant to try it. I immediately fell in love with the dish and a few weeks later asked her how she prepared it so I could do it on my own. I am a huge fan of recipes that do not have a bunch of ingredients but are able to have a lot of flavor. I feel that this recipe, although simple, has excellent flavor.

Poblanos in cream is prepared differently by everyone, for example one may use cheese or cream cheese in the recipe. I will share my way of doing this recipe.

Keep in mind that everyone has their unique way of preparing dishes. For my rajás con crema recipe the ingredients I used are five poblanos, two cans of sweet corn, two cans of table cream, and half of an onion.

The first thing to do is to put the poblanos in a comal, a comal is used to warm up tortillas and other things such as peppers or tomatoes! Make sure you turn the poblanos so that they do not burn too much.

After you are done, you place the poblanos in a plastic bag, and let them sit there for seven to ten minutes. After the ten minutes pass, you must cut the top part and bottom part of the poblanos, also make sure to remove the seeds.

When you are done removing the seeds, use a knife to cut the poblanos into strips and put them in a plate.

After you are done with this, get a pan, and insert a tiny bit of oil and butter into the pan. Make sure the stove is in medium heat, when the butter is completely melted insert the onion that was cut into slices. I love the smell of onion when it is being cooked.

After about three minutes, you can now put the poblano strips on the pan. Move the poblanos and onions for about two minutes.

The table cream I used is from the brand Nestle. I used two cans of table cream and poured it all over the poblanos and onions along with a little bit of salt.

Lastly, I opened the 2 cans of sweet corn and put all the corn into the pan. Wait about seven to ten minutes. Make sure to stir around for a bit. After ten minutes have gone by, you can turn off the stove.

This is the final result! People usually eat this dish in a form of a tostada. If you prefer eating this dish by itself, you can also do that. I served myself two tostadas of poblanos in cream along with a delicious salsa that contained avocado.

Preparing this dish taught me that we all have our own unique way of cooking recipes. While I did not use cheese or garlic for this recipe, I learned that others do like their poblanos in cream with cheese and with a hint of garlic flavor. Also, I learned that sometimes people change their minds about how they decide to cook dish. For example, I never imagined myself using onion because back then when I would have to cook, I would never use onion despite my stepdad telling me that onion gives food flavor. I have to admit that my stepdad was right. When I made this dish with onions this time, I did feel that I did a better job than the last time I did it.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.