Feast logo

Recipe Filter: An Essential Tool for Anyone who Cooks

Adding this extension to your browser can help to eliminate hours of frustration

By Annie KielyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Cooking is an essential skill for any adult. It is the perfect way to take care of yourself and your loved ones, practice self-care, and to save money while eating a healthier diet. Many people are natural cooks, and many others are happy to experiment using standard recipes.

I am not an intuitive cook. I need to have a lot of guidance and practice before I feel I understand a dish or flavor profile. As a result, I am constantly searching for new recipes and ways to make my favorite dishes. I love finding and trying new recipes, but there is one part of cooking that causes me endless frustration.

The Frustration of Blog Recipe Sites

When I am getting ready to cook a new dish or meal, I will often look through a few different to compare comments, ingredients, photos and results. I often find this to be an extremely frustrating experience. Many recipe blogs are clogged with endless stories, anecdotes, unrelated information and pop-ups. This can make it very frustrating to find the actual information and make a comparison.

Recipe sites contain these frustrating additions for good reason. More text makes it more likely that we can discover recipes through search results, and pop-up ads are often the only source of revenue for recipe creators. But, it is still a very frustrating experience for someone who is just looking to cook.

I have favorite bloggers, favorite cookbooks, and plenty of bookmarks filled with information for cooking. But by far the most helpful tool I have found as a developing cook is Recipe Filter. Cooking is a hobby I truly enjoy, and the experience of wading through recipes was making me frustrated and far less likely to try new things.

Recipe Filter

Recipe Filter has saved me a lot of frustration and has made me try new recipes again. This is a browser extension (available on Chrome, Firefox and Safari) that cuts out all the frustrations of cooking websites, and lets you cook right to the point.

When you install Recipe Filter on your browser, it will alter the way a recipe website will be displayed. When the filter detects a receipt, it will create a new pop-up window. This window contains only the essential parts of the recipe – the ingredients and the instructions.

Recipe filter makes it easy to focus on a recipe, avoid frustration, and even makes it easy to save or print a recipe as a tidy PDF. If you ever find yourself frustrated while trying to cook from a recipe site, you need to try Recipe Filter immediately.

Now I can still support my favorite bloggers and share their recipes. But I retain only the information I find essential. I have a great collection of saved recipes that I can refer to at any time.

Removing Barriers to Enjoying Cooking

Learning to cook can be a frustrating process for anyone who does not have the right background. There are a lot of steps that you must get used to before you become a good cook. Choosing ingredients, shopping, planning, cleaning up, and the inevitable failures that will come as you learn a new skill can be frustrating enough.

Removing the frustrating parts of cooking is one of the best ways to encourage yourself to continue to learn. Cooking can be incredibly enjoyable once you find your process and begin to memorize all of the steps. But until you’ve settled into that level of skill, Recipe Filter is one of the best ways to ease frustration around trying new recipes, and I recommend it to any home cook.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kiely

Annie Kiely is a freelance writer, editor and researcher who lives in the 'burbs of Toronto with her pets and her partner. Annie is an advocate for wellness, mental health education, and literacy. She loves animals and gardening (and food).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.