Feast logo

Prairie Island Tart

Recipe

By Juniper JonesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Prairie Island Tart
Photo by Tijana Drndarski on Unsplash

So here it is!

The beginning of summer and you don't know what to do or what to make for those friends of yours that will be eating you out of house and home in no time!

The tarts are a recipe that I made when I had little on hand in the cupboards and I needed something quick to snack on. It actually worked out better than expected. Creamy and light with a soft caramel flavour I found them scrumptious. Melt on your tongue making you want more with every bite, this I swear.

Below you will find the very simple and easy to prepare desert. After keep reading to see where this recipe might show up in other works on the site.

Solution:

Creamy Caramel Coconut Tarts

Filling:

2 cans - Coconut milk

1/2 can - Evaporated Milk (Dulche de Leche)

2 tsps. - Sugar

2 - 4 tbsp. - Baking Powder

3 tsp. - Vanilla Extract

Garnish:

Dash of Cinnamon

First, I want to admit something: It is perfectly fine to use store bought tart shells instead of making your own. If you are feeling ambitious enough to make your own pastry shells, I have one quick tip: Always use very cold to freezing cold water and or liquid ingredients. This also includes the butter or margarine that you would use when breaking it up into pea sized portions before adding the liquid.

I prefer graham crumbs crusts. They can be any kind, but the ones that I think that would be the best for the filling in this case would be the chocolate kind. I don’t know about you, but, who doesn’t love chocolate and with the delicate crumble that the graham crusts can have it’s hands down one of the best to have.

Bake the shells.

This should take between 12 to 15 min. At 365 degrees Fahrenheit.

For the main filling all I can say is that is was a dream cream puff when I made it the other day and it was well received. The tarts didn’t leave the kitchen. I am still smiling about it to this day.

I shared these tarts with a long-time friend. And, it inspired me to write a short story where I would incorporate them into the story. Sci-fi romance? Maybe. I have a love of anything sci-fi and well sharing a tart on a date that didn’t end in global disaster might be just what everybody needs right now.

When opening the can of coconut milk drain the water and only use the cream. Pour cream into medium sized bowl and mix the evaporated milk, vanilla and sugar in. Add the baking powder last.

Then spoon the mixture into the cooked shells. Dash some cinnamon over the top. You are done.

Voila!

A quick and easy treat that is light and airy. Vegan and gluten free. (Depending on the crust).

If anything this could be served as a pudding as well for those that are sensitive to gluten.

I was thinking:

What a great treat to take with you to the movies! Are there any drive-in’s anymore? In all of North America? I don’t know. If you are looking to read some more on the topic of Drive-in’s feel free to check out my other stories.

Who knows, maybe, I will have the desert appear in a scene with a futuristic Drive-in. Yeah, I think that would work!

So I hope that if you try this recipe that you will love it as much as I did. Share it with someone else and if you have the chance make something of your own in the process!

Cheers!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Juniper Jones

A woman with an inked and indented index finger bent over a keyboard wondering: "Am I really going to do this?"

Writing hopefully will be able to support my renovations.

And to my friends and cohorts: Forgive me. I know naught what I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.