Feast logo

Peach Pie That Is Somewhat Homemade

Yes, it's somewhat- read more to find out why!

By DaphsamPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
8
Photographed by Daphsam

I photographed this peach pie to convey a charming, sweet, and syrupy summertime pie.

There is nothing better than having a sweet, delicious home-baked Peach pie. It is one of the true joys of what summer brings with luscious, ripe Peaches. And there's one thing I truly enjoy baking in the spring and summer, which is a sweet peach pie with hints of almond permeating the kitchen air.

Now, there is one thing I must admit to….. drum rolls please……

I use frozen pie crust.

BOO!!!!

Kick her off the stage!

Please! I ask you not to judge me; I promised myself that I plan to learn how to bake a homemade pie crust this summer. It's just, well, I am lazy:)

Growing up with a mom who wasn't into full-fledged baking, she was into shortcuts. As my role model in the kitchen, I am close to fifty and have never tried to make my own pie crust. It is one of my goals for the summertime. So stay tuned for that article!

Frozen or homemade, it doesn't matter unless you are a Martha Stewart in the kitchen. My recipe stands on its own with frozen pie crust and all!

"There is no single recipe for success. But there is one essential ingredient: Passion"

Martha Stewart

Sweet and sticky peaches that are too irresistable to pass up! Daphsam’s Peachs

Now, when it comes to picking peaches, there are a few things to consider.

  • Color: Look out for rich, deep yellow or orange hues. They are likely not ripe if the peach has a slight green cast or pale yellow.
  • Scent: Take a deep whiff around the stem of the peach. You have a winner if greeted with a sweet, aromatic fragrance.
  • Texture: Gently push around the stem end and see if it yields a bit without getting mushy. The key is to find a firm, but some give.
  • Appearance: Look closely at the peach and check for bruises and soft, hard spots. You may prefer to avoid buying a peach that is too damaged.
  • The best season for peaches is May through September.

"The ripest peach is highest on the tree"

James Whitcomb Riley

By Ian Baldwin on Unsplash

So, without further ado, please enjoy my peach pie recipe.

Daphsam's Somewhat Homemade Peach Pie

Ingredients

5-6 Cups of Peaches

1 Pillsbury Deep Dish Pie Crust

½ cup White Granulated Sugar

2 Tablespoons Kraft Minute Tapioca

1 Tablespoon Almond Extract

Pinch of table salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450º
  2. Pull out the frozen pie crust to begin thawing
  3. Cut and peel the peaches
  4. Gently mix the ingredients with the peaches to ensure they are fully covered.
  5. Spoon the peach mixture into the deep pie crust.
  6. Place dots of butter on the upper pie crust.
  7. Using a fork, make some air holes in the upper pie crust.
  8. Bake at 450º in the oven for the first 10 minutes.
  9. Reduce the heat to350º and bake for 35-45 minutes or until golden brown.

Once you have pulled the pie out of the oven, let it stand for 15 minutes before serving. A peach pie can be served hot or cold, depending on your liking.

"So the pie isn't perfect? Cut it into wedges. Stay in control, and never panic."

Martha Stewart

It may be a little runny but as Robert Breault says:

Family life is a bit like a runny peach pie - not perfect, but who's complaining?

Robert Breault

This pie goes very well with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. If you love apple pie, you will love this pie, but as George du Maurier put it:

"An apple is an excellent thing -- until you have tried a peach.:"

George du Maurier

I hope you have as much fun and enjoy this pie as much as my family does.

This was originally posted on Medium.

quotesrecipephotographyhow to
8

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    There is nothing wrong with using premade pie crusts. My mom did make her own crusts, but even she kind of preferred the Pillsbury crusts.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I don't want you to think badly of me but I read this whilst eating a nectarine, the peach's less furry cousin. Your pie sounds delicious and who doesn't use ready made pastry? I use puff pastry in a sheet and it's much better than anything I can produce. And quicker.

  • Sounds delectable. And yeah, I've never felt the knead to make my own crusts, either. I just roll with whatever & pin my hopes on what I find in the freezer section. (Unless of course, I'm wanting graham cracker crust instead. Then it's usually right next to the chocolate chips.)

  • Xine Segalas2 months ago

    Yum! I look forward to making this sometime!

  • Test2 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your recipe and your passion for baking with us! It's clear that your peach pie is made with love, and I'm sure it's a hit with your family and friends. Keep up the fantastic baking, and I look forward to hearing about your homemade pie crust adventures in the future!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.