Feast logo

Nourished

Grandma*s nourishing soup

By Vincent onyangoPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Nourished
Photo by Matthew Hamilton on Unsplash

"Grandma's Nourishing Chicken Soup"

Once upon a chilly autumn evening, when the wind whispered secrets through the rustling leaves, I found myself feeling weary and a touch lonely. The weight of the world seemed to bear down on my shoulders, and all I craved was a warm, comforting embrace. That's when I received a message from my grandma.

"Come over, dear," her text read. "I have something special for you."

With a heart warmed by anticipation, I made my way to her cozy cottage, nestled at the edge of a tranquil forest. The air smelled of woodsmoke and pine, and the path to her door was lined with golden leaves, crunching beneath my steps. When I arrived, the warmth of her kitchen enveloped me like a long-lost hug.

Grandma was there, bustling about with the grace and ease that only comes from years of experience. Her eyes sparkled with mischief, as if she held a secret she couldn't wait to share. And indeed, she did.

As I settled into a worn but oh-so-comfortable chair, she handed me a steaming bowl of her legendary chicken soup. The aroma alone was enough to chase away the chill in my bones, and as I took my first spoonful, I felt a wave of comfort wash over me.

"This," she said, a twinkle in her eye, "is my secret recipe, passed down through generations. It's not just food, dear; it's a potion for the soul."

The broth was rich and golden, infused with the essence of tender chicken, earthy herbs, and love. Carrots and celery added a hearty crunch, and soft, fluffy dumplings floated atop, like little clouds of joy. Each mouthful was a dance of flavors, a symphony of warmth and nourishment.

As I savored the soup, Grandma began to weave a tale of family traditions, of how this very recipe had been a beacon of comfort through trials and tribulations, a constant companion through the ups and downs of life. She spoke of how the simple act of sharing a meal could mend broken hearts and fortify weary spirits.

That evening, as I sat with my grandma, spooning up the soul-soothing concoction she had crafted with such care, I felt a profound sense of connection. It was as if, with each bite, I was absorbing not only the nutrients in the soup, but also the strength, wisdom, and love that had been poured into it.

As the night grew darker and the firelight flickered, I realized that this bowl of soup was more than just a dish. It was a vessel of history, a token of love, and a reminder that sometimes, in the simplest of gestures, we find the greatest nourishment.

And so, dear reader, I pass on this cherished recipe to you, in the hope that it brings you the same comfort and warmth it brought me on that chilly autumn evening.

Grandma's Nourishing Chicken Soup

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken, about 3-4 pounds

8 cups chicken broth

3 carrots, sliced

3 celery stalks, sliced

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon dried rosemary

Salt and pepper to taste

For the dumplings:

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

Instructions:

In a large pot, combine the chicken, chicken broth, carrots, celery, onion, garlic, thyme, rosemary, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for about 1.5 to 2 hours, or until the chicken is cooked through and tender.

Remove the chicken from the pot and let it cool slightly. Shred the chicken meat and discard the bones and skin. Return the shredded chicken to the pot.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt for the dumplings. Stir in the milk until just combined.

Drop spoonfuls of the dumpling mixture into the simmering soup. Cover and let it cook for about 15-20 minutes, or until the dumplings are cooked through.

Taste and adjust seasoning if needed. Serve hot and enjoy the nourishing embrace of this comforting chicken soup.

May it bring you as much warmth and solace as it did for me on that special autumn evening.

healthy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VOWritten by Vincent onyango

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.