Feast logo

My Ultimate Green Bean Casserole

Recipe

By Raven St. WoodePublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like
This is what mine looked like after taking it out of the oven.

I love green bean casserole, it's a recipe that most people know by heart a lot of the time. It's one of my favorite side dishes at Thanksgiving. But having to wait until Thanksgiving was so hard, and to have it only have a side dish? I wanted to make a meal in itself. So here's my Recipe.

Ingredients

3-4 cans of French cut Green beans (Drained)

2 cans (10.5 ounces each) condensed cream of mushroom soup

¼ cup whole milk

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 lbs of bacon

1 lbs of cubed ham

2 containers (2.8 ounces each) French-fried onions

2 TBSP of kelly's irish butter salted

2 TBSP of brown sugar

Instructions

Heat oven to 375°F.

Chop bacon into about ½ inch pieces. Cook bacon to your liking, drain excess grease with a paper towel. Leave a little bit of grease in the pan, then add a tablespoon of butter to the pan. Then add a tablespoon of brown sugar. Stir to combine with bacon. Once the brown sugar is melted, and the bacon is coated. Put the bacon aside in a bowl.

Then take the cubed ham, and put it in the same pan and give it a good sear. About five-ish minutes. Then add the rest of your butter, and brown sugar. Then add back the bacon, and combine them together. Then put it all back into a bowl to rest while you make the main casserole mixture.

In 1 1/2-quart casserole or glass baking dish, mix green beans, soup, garlic powder, one container of the fried onions, bacon, ham, and milk. salt and pepper to taste. (I usually use a huge bowl to mix everything together, then dump it into the casserole dish.)

Bake for 30-40 minutes, topping with the other container of onions during the last 5 minutes of baking, until bubbly.

NOTE: If you don't want to candy the ham and bacon. you don't have too. Just get good deli ham, as thick cut as you can get it. enough to get to a pound. Same with the bacon. If you wanted to you could just candy the ham, and get a pound of black peppered bacon. Either way, it'll be fantastic. I've done it all of these ways. I prefer to candy both, but its up to you. Also If you can, get a can of normal cream of mushroom soup, and a can of roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup. I find that using this combination is really nice, and flavorful.

It took me a while to get this recipe perfect for my family. My partner loves this recipe, and has requested it every year for his birthday since I first made it for him in 2020 for Thanksgiving. I hope y'all like it too, please let me know if you've tried it. Also let me know what you think! This is my second time publishing a recipe, so I hope it's written well enough to follow easily.

When I make this, there are hardly any leftovers. My MIL and FIL Love this recipe well, they get so excited when I make this. It's warm, comforting, and filling. I made this for Thanksgiving in 2021, to take over to my partners' grandmothers house. Where a lot of his extended family was as well. I also made Jello Fluff. But everyone there loved my green bean casserole, and asking how I made it. To be honest, I didn't want to share my recipe at first. This is honestly a recipe that I knew by heart, that I tweaked around with to get it the way I liked. A lot of experimenting, figuring out what I wanted, how I wanted it to taste. But now, I want to share my favorite recipes that I make for my family. I also have this recipe up on allrecipes: RedPanda13.

recipecuisine
Like

About the Creator

Raven St. Woode

I've been writing off and on for a few years. I have a lot of topics to write about now. I'm 24, nonbianary, and love listening to music. I've been working on a oringinal story for some time now, and I'm excited to share it with y'all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.