Chapters logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Trying Something New

Chapter 3

By Raven St. WoodePublished 7 months ago 5 min read
Like

I gasped, and looked at him. “Was that a Princess Bride reference?” I asked, pulling away to look at him properly. He smiled, and winked at me, I shook my head smiling. “You’re something else.” I said, chuckling lightly. “So are you.” He shot back. “Do you want your sub toasted?” He asked, and I nodded. “Yes please!” I chirped, he nodded. “Why don't you go grab a table for us? I'll order.” He said, quickly pressing his lips into my hair. I chuckled, gently pushing him.

“I'm not your wee hen yet, lad.” I said, not bothering to cover my smile, Diaval smirked. “Yet.” He said with a smile, wiggling his fingers at me as I walked away. Shaking my head, and laughing to myself. I headed straight to the corner table, which had a good view of the whole store. I sat down, looking out the window. ‘Tch clouds.. Probably gonna rain soon.’ I thought to myself, pulling my phone from my back pocket. I saw that my mom texted me a few minutes ago.

Mom: Aye where are ya?

Me: Well right now, I'm at subway with a cute guy I met at the library! :)

Mom: Well just be careful, a loue ye.

Me: I will, and a loue ye!

I smiled to myself, and put my phone back into my pocket. Looking towards the line, I saw Diaval ordering. I bit my lip, kinda eyeing him out of the corner of my eye. He had a slim build, but when he wrapped his arm around me; he had a pretty good grip on my waist. I smirked at the thought, then shook my head. ‘Chill out lass..’ I thought to myself, clearing my throat into my elbow. I could feel my cheeks. and ears heating up. “Hey, you ok Rowan?” Diaval asked, walking up to the table with our subs and stuff. I jumped in my seat slightly. “Oh bloody ‘ell..” I gasped, covering my chest, then laughing lightly at the situation. I looked up at Diaval, smiling. “Yes, I'm fine.” He nodded, handing me a cup.

“Go get a drink, I'll watch the food.” He said, a small smile playing on his lips. “Oooh if the food does any tricks, lemme know.” I said, trying to keep a straight face. Failing miserably, when I saw Diavals' shoulders shake with laughter. “Go get your drink, woman!” He said between gasps, I smiled and turned towards the drink dispenser. As I approached it, my phone buzzed. I sighed, grabbing my phone from my back pocket. I set my cup down under the lemonade, opening my phone to look at the notification. It was from Diaval. I bit my lip and smiled, opening the notification. It was a picture he took while I was looking out the window.

Diaval: Thought you looked really pretty, plus against the clouds your hair is so bright. I couldn't help it.

Me: I'm speechless. Thank you.

I typed back, filling up my cup with lemonade. Setting my phone down, I put on a lid and grabbed a straw. ‘He took a picture of me… and called me pretty? What is happening to me today?’ I thought to myself, heading back to the table, smiling at Diaval. “Hey beautiful, come here often?” He asked through a fit of giggles. I chuckled, and rolled my eyes at him. Sitting down I took my straw out of its wrapping, and put it into my drink. Taking a sip, I looked at Diaval. “Go get your drink, I'll be ok watching the food.” I said, picking at my cookie, and nibbling on a piece. He smiled, and nodded.

“i’ll be right back.'' He said, turning away. I patted my back pocket, not feeling my phone. I gasped, and looked towards the drink dispenser. Seeing Diaval holding up my phone, an amused look on his face. I sighed, and nodded, placing my hand on my chest leaning back in my seat. After a minute, Diaval came back to the table with his drink, and my phone. I smiled at him, while taking it back. “Thank you love, i gave myself quite the shock.'' I said laughing. He smiled, and chuckled. “I bet you did. I literally watched you set it down ,then walk off. You seemed deep in thought.” He said, handing me a sub. I took it ,and set it down in front of me, biting my lip. “Yeah, I was actually,'' I started chewing my bottom lip. “i was thinkin about you calling me pretty…'' I trailed off, looking at the table, scared of looking at him. “Rowan, look at me.” He said gently, but also very firmly. I brought my gaze up from the table, to meet Diavals serious one. I instantly felt my cheeks heat up. “Y-yes?” I questioned, nervously tapping my fingers against the table top without looking away. Diaval covered my tapping fingers with his hand. Yes, I think you are very pretty.” He chuckled, finally looking away. I let out the breath, I didn't know I was holding.

Panting lightly, I tilted my head."Truly?" I asked, raising an eyebrow carefully watching his face. He nodded slightly. "Yeah, I do. i-i know we just met, and shit… But I honestly really do like you." He said, his brown eyes sparkling in the low light. I chuckled, and shook my head chuckling. "You seem pretty confident." I said, looking down at his hand on top of mine, he cleared his throat, and moved his hand. "Why don't we eat, don't want our sandwiches getting cold." He said, unwrapping his sandwich. I nodded, and started unwrapping mine. "So…Diaval, do you treat all the girls you meet to lunch?" I asked, keeping my tone light, he looked up mid bite. I laughed. "You can finish the bite before you answer." I said, giggling hysterically, taking a small bite from my sandwich. He chewed thoughtfully for a few minutes. "Honestly? No," He paused, taking a sip from his drink. "You're the first girl who really caught my eye." He said, a genuine smile forming on his face. I blinked a few times, trying to make sense of what he said. "W-wait, seriously?" I questioned, Diaval nodded, taking another bite. "I don't….i don't believe that! Yer a braw young lad." I shot back, Diaval just shrugged humming. "I don't know what to tell you Red, you're different." He said, my eyebrow twitching at the nickname. "Red?" I asked,smiling as I leaned back in my seat. Crossing my arms over my chest, biting my lip. "Is that stereotypical?" He asked, worried, sneaking into his voice. I reached over the table, and gently took his hand. "I certainly don't mind, I actually think it's cute." I said,reaching over, giving his hand a small squeeze.

RomanceFictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Raven St. Woode

I've been writing off and on for a few years. I have a lot of topics to write about now. I'm 24, nonbianary, and love listening to music. I've been working on a oringinal story for some time now, and I'm excited to share it with y'all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.