Chapters logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Trying Something New

Chapter 2

By Raven St. WoodePublished 8 months ago 7 min read
Like

After I checked my book out, I turned around and saw Diaval leaning against the wall. He looked up, and saw me walking up to him “Are you ready to go?” he asked. I nodded my head. “Yep all set” I hummed, he turned towards the entrance of the library, and offered me his elbow. “m’lady” he whispered, I rolled my eyes, and took his offered arm. He walked me out, and headed to the parking lot. “Oh Diaval, I walked here, I don't drive,” I said, giving him a sideways look. “well… just because you walked, doesn't mean I did.” he purred catching me off guard

“Gallus.” I muttered under my breath, and let Diaval pull me into the parking lot. “Hey. if you want you can put your book in my bag, just for safekeeping.” he shrugged the straps of his backpack off and opened it. I shrugged, and tossed my book in. “So Diaval, where are you parked?” I asked, putting my hands behind my back.

“You see that black, and purple Honda civic.” he said. pointing to a far corner, I had to squint to see it in the sun. “Ooh that's your car, she is a beaut.” I said, Diaval smiled. “Practically built her myself, yeah I had some help. but… it was mostly me.” he explained, I hummed, not knowing about cars except what i learned from the fast and furious series….which really didn't help me. Diaval kept talking about his car as we walked after a couple of minute we made it to the car “You're a real Blether aren't you?” I said, giving a side eye glance, and a smirk he stopped, looking at me. “What?” He said, looking very confused as he wormed his hand into his jeans front pockets, feeling for his keys. I leaned on the driver's side door, watching him. “It means chatter-box.” He made an O-shape with his mouth, and nodded.

“Gotcha. Sorry I talk a lot when I'm nervous.” he sighed, finding his keys. “Well in my opinion, I don't mind. I'd rather you talk my ear off than not talk at all, gives me a chance to learn about you” I said walking to the passengers side front seat, I looked over and saw Diaval absolutely red. “Diaval?” I questioned, raising an eyebrow at him, he blinked a few times and shook his head. “I'm fine. Sorry to worry ya.” he unlocked the car. Shooting me a quick smile, we got in he took a deep breath and sighed. I glanced at him, biting my lip. ‘Why does he seem so nervous now?’ I thought to myself, watching him chew at one of his lip rings. “Oi, breath lad,” I chuckled gently, pushing at his shoulder. “I ain't gonna eat ya.” I said leaning back into my seat, Diaval let out a breathy laugh. “I'm sorry Rowan. But you're like really hot, and I'm trying to keep my head outta the gutter…” He trailed off in a lightish tone, we buckled in and he started the car.

“Where to princess?” He asked, slowly pulling out of the parking space. “Hmmm well…” I looked at the time on his dash. “It's just a few minutes past noon, lunch?” I asked. He nodded, licking his lips. “Subway?” He threw out, looking both ways before pulling out. “Sure! Haven't been there in a while. Are you sure you don't want me to pay for myself? I really don't mind.” I pressed him, Diaval shrugged, keeping his eyes on the road and other cars. “I really don't mind paying for lunch, Rowan I really don't.” He said, warmth in his voice. “But for a lass ya just met? Jesus, Mary, and Joseph!” I exclaimed, I couldn't help but smile. Diaval just shrugged again. “Ok ok maybe i'm just hopin that you're a vampire, or something.” He laughed, I smacked him lightly laughing as well. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw him take a quick look at me. “You know, you can let your hair down. I have A/C.” He offered. “Och no. i haven't washed my hair for like two days, it's like a wee rat's nest at best.." I ranted, suddenly feeling how loose my hair was. I sighed and pulled it loose from the scrunchie, using my fingers to comb through it.

“Wow.. your really letting your accent slide in aren't you?” He snickered. I gave him a fake growl, and winced. “Oww… For feck sakes…'' I whimpered, working on a particularly bad knot.“Rowan, chill out, check in the glove box. I usually have a hairbrush in there, maybe some leave-in conditioner if that helps.” Dival said pointing to said glove box. I opened the compartment and found the hair brush, and the leave-in conditioner in a spray bottle. “Interesting items to have on ya..” I muttered, spraying my palm with the conditioner. He laughed.

I started with my ends, working out all of the knots and tangles, working my way up. Diaval pulled into the small lot for subway, and parked. Finally, being able to brush my hair without it getting tangled. I tied it back up, and looked at Diaval. “So, how do I look?” I asked, biting my lip. I knew my hair was going to look frizzy, but the conditioner kinda helped with the wild curls. His warm brown eyes glossed over me, a smile playing at the corners of his lips. “I think you look amazing.” He said with unwavering honesty, I blushed and looked away. “Aww, ya wee sook.” I cooed, looking at him. He raised his eyebrow.

“Ok,” he started, “I'm gonna need a list of what you are saying, cause I have no clue..” He admitted, I giggled. “Are ya serious?” I asked through laughter, “With a name like Horne, I thought you knew some slang.” I gasped, trying to catch my breath, Diaval turned off the car, and unbuckled, shaking his head. “Just because I live with it, doesn’t mean I actually know what it means.” He said, unbuckling me. His hand grazing my thigh softly, I let out a pleased sound subconsciously. Closing my eyes, and leaning my head against the headrest. The hand stopped, and stayed where it was. I immediately snapped my eyes open, quickly looking at Diaval, who had a dangerous smirk. “Hey now, what was that?” He asked, gently squeezing my thigh. I squeaked, and cleared my throat.

“Your hand’s warm, and I-I like the feeling.” I said, trying to keep my voice level. I cleared my throat again, and playfully smacked his hand away. Blushing at how blunt I was being with him. “We eating or what?” I asked, opening the car door. Looking back at him, he smiled. Then opened his door. “Yeah, let's go.” He said, getting out. I got out and shut my door, walking around the front of the car. I waited for Diaval to lock it. After he sauntered over, and offered me his arm again. “Hmm, so gentlemanly.” I hummed gently, leaning my head on his arm. “Nah,” He huffed, opening the door, and holding it open while I sneaked by. “i'm just trying to seduce you mawhaha.” He said, faking a villainous laugh following me into the restaurant. I rolled my eyes at him.

“Uh huh, sure.” I mumbled. Wrapping my arms around myself, as I looked at the menu. “So whatcha getting Rowan?” Diaval whispered in my ear, still looking at the menu himself. I smiled. “I'm gonna get my usual steak and chee-oh” I squeaked as Diaval put his arm around me. A person in the line ahead of us looked at us, rolled their eyes, and turned away. I blushed, and looked down, my cheeks heating up. “Why are you holding my waist?” I questioned softly, as we moved in the line. “You looked cold with your arms wrapped around yourself, I usually generate a lot of body heat...” He trailed off. ‘He wanted to keep me warm…’ I thought, throwing caution to hell, I cuddled closer. Diaval responded by tightening his grip.

“So what are you getting?” I asked, leaning my head up to look at him. He shrugged. “Steak and cheese too, I wonder what you get on yours.” He whispered, poking my waist. I gasped softly, poking him back. “Usually spinach, banana peppers, cucumbers, the chipotle sauce, and a little bit of honey mustard.” I said, looking ahead waiting for our turn. Diaval nodded, and smiled. “A girl after my own stomach, oh get whatever you want; my treat ok Rowan.” He said, his thumb sneaking under the hem of my pants, rubbing small circles into my hip. I nodded, feeling kinda dazed. ‘Why is he so warm?’ I thought, trying to clear my head.

“Y-you like the same toppings?” I questioned blinking a few times, mentally cursing myself for stuttering again. Diaval nodded, his grip on my hip tightened slightly. “Well then, I guess you can order for the both of us.” I chuckled, pushing my hip into his hand. “i can do that, if you'd like me to” he said earnestly, i gave him a small nod yes. “Could I get a large drink, and maybe a cookie?” I asked, slowly wrapping my arm around his waist. He shifted closer.“Anything you want, doll.” He said, moving his hand up under my shirt. Gently gripping my waist, making me bite my lip. “What cookie do you want?” Diaval asked, looking down at me. “Hmm, just chocolate chip please.” I said, looking up, meeting his gaze. He smiled, and nodded.

“As you wish.” Diaval whispered into my ear.

RomanceFictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Raven St. Woode

I've been writing off and on for a few years. I have a lot of topics to write about now. I'm 24, nonbianary, and love listening to music. I've been working on a oringinal story for some time now, and I'm excited to share it with y'all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.