Chapters logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Trying Something New

Chapter 1

By Raven St. WoodePublished 8 months ago 7 min read

I met a guy today, at the library. He had a book in his lap, and a notebook. He seemed to be taking notes from the book in his lap. What was strange, was he was sitting in the middle of the adult literature section. Typical libraries, putting all the good books in the back. Always the quietest place in the whole damn building. I didn't want to bother him as he seemed very focused on what he was writing, but the book I wanted was right behind him.“Excuse me.” I whispered. He jumped slightly and looked up, his eyes wide and bright with excitement. Then going back to his writing, finishing something.

“Yes?” He asked, dragging his eyes up from his writing after he was done. “There is a book behind you that I would like to grab really quick.” I said, biting my bottom lip. He looked behind himself, and clicked his tongue. “Nah. You don't want these books,” he said, with a smirk. I scoffed. “Och, i think i know what i like,” i said. Looking down at him, crossing my arms. He stood up and kinda leaned against the shelving, tilting his head to the side. Now looking down at me, a smile playing at the corners of his mouth. “Trust me. Actually no, don’t.” He let out a small chuckle, making me smile unexpectedly.

“But you seem to be the type who likes to try new things…” He kinda trailed off, his voice becoming a warm and almost seductive tone. I blinked a few times, trying to make sense of this situation. Staring directly at him, raising an eyebrow. “Are you trying to flirt with me?” I questioned. I could feel my cheeks getting warm, but I stood my ground. Something about his warm brown eyes flickering down to my lips, then quickly back up…was actually getting me worked up. “And if i was,” he paused, looking me up and down

“Is it working?” he asked, his smile faltering slightly. The confidence in his voice seemed to waver, I brought my gaze back up to his face and really studied him. A soft yet sharp jawline, a slight roundness to his cheeks, his eyes were rounded. Wide, and quite curious, his warm brown eyes standing out against the strawberry-red fringe against his forehead. his hair seemed well kept, it was dyed. But it looks very soft, bright and shining in the low soft light of the library. His nose had a purple septum ring, and looked bad ass with his features. His ears were stretched to about 10mm, he had just plain black tunnels in.

He smiled, and my eyes shot down to see brilliant teeth. I took a moment to really look at his lips, light pink, thin gold lip rings on both sides of his bottom lip. I forced myself to look up from his smile, his gaze locking in with my own. I could feel my ears getting hot. I didn't even know his name, and yet there I was getting worked up. I couldn't stop staring at him, I was so curious. Finally, he looked away. Kneeling down to put away his things, I took the opportunity to catch my breath and collect what coherent thoughts I had. “Anyway,” he said, standing up, and dusting his knee off.

“I'm Diaval” I let out a light laugh “Diaval? Like from the Maleficent movies?” I asked, biting my lip with a smile. He looked away sheepishly, a light blush dusting his cheeks. “Yep. My adopted parents let me change my name, I didn't want anything to do with my birth parents. Worse twelve years of my life, but since being adopted; I’ve been doing a lot better.” He explained, in a hushed voice. I nodded slowly, taking in the delicate information he just shared. I smiled, looking him up and down. “You know,” I started softly, looking him in the eyes.

“You kinda do look like Sam Riley to me.” I said, smirking up at him. A playful gleam sparkled in his eyes, blushing as he smiled. “So, what's your name? Also real quick, I absolutely adore the accent.” He said, leaning over me. His head getting closer to mine.

“Well, do you want my full name or just my first name?” I asked, leaning against the shelving, looking up at Diaval. He closed his eyes, biting his lip he drew in a quick breath. “Full name.” he said, quickly adding. “You tell me yours, and I'll tell you mine.” His eyes once again wide and bright. I took a deep breath, exhaling through my nose. “Ya got yerself a deal! Thank you by the way, that means a lot to me." I said, pausing to look at his excited smile. “My full name is Rowan Zephyr Alexander.'' I said, watching his reaction. What I saw astounded me, he closed his eyes, his lips moving almost as if he was testing out my name. “Diaval? You alright " I whispered gently, so as to not scare him. He stopped, and looked at me “Why yes, I'm fine. Rowan huh that's a pretty awesome name truth be told.” he said, whispering my name again. He smiled warmly, his eyes soft and inviting.

“Well a deal’s a deal! You told me your full name, it's my turn.” he stated, standing straight, taking a quick breath. “My full name is Diaval Eli Horne. That's Horne with an e at the end.” He chuckled. “Well nice to meet you Diaval Eli Horne with an e.” I said through a small giggle, giving him a fake curtsy. Bowing my head down, he laughed. I straightened myself, he bowed himself. “Very nice to make your acquaintance, Rowan Zephyr Alexander.” He whispered, taking my hand and quickly brushing his lips over my knuckles. Giggling, I rolled my eyes and snorted.

“Wow, you are such a charmer ain’t ya?” I muttered, squinting my eyes at him. Gently dropping my hand, Diaval raised his arms and stretched. “You betcha.” He shot back, flashing another smile. My eyes flashed to the shelf where the book I wanted before was, then back to Diaval. “So, can I get my book now or…” I trailed off, not quite sure what to say. My gaze fell to the floor, I could feel my face heating up in embarrassment. I could tell Diaval was staring at me; I could feel it, but he said nothing. When I looked at him, he had a crooked smile. He looked behind him, and pointed to the exact book I wanted. “This one?” He asked. I bit my lip nodding. “Yes it is.”

He looked at the back of it reading the little excerpt, he clicked his tongue again. “As I said before, Rowan, you seem to be the type who likes to try new things” He dropped his voice low, as if he didn't want others to hear him. “What…kind of things?” I asked slowly, slightly leaning away, suspicious of his thoughts. Apparently I didn't keep my resting bitch face on very well, because he looked at me and raised his hands innocently. “Hey hey nothing too weird, or creepy.” He joked, handing me my beloved book. I smiled at him, taking a deep breath. “Do you want my number by chance?!” I practically shouted at Diaval, he stared at me with relief in his eyes. “I mean yeah. I'd love your number.” He was looking through his bag for his phone, slightly breathless. “By the way, are you a natural redhead or is it just dye?” He asked; pulling his phone out and handing it to me, I giggled.

“It's natural, both of my parents are from Scotland.” I said, typing up my number into his contacts. Tightening my ponytail, I quickly took a somewhat decent selfie; and used that for my contact photo. After I saved everything I handed Diaval his phone back, he checked everything and nodded. “So that explains the accent! So, uh you doing anything for the rest of the day” Diaval asked, rubbing the back of his neck. I shook my head “Nope! Nothing that I can think of. Yes, that would explain it wouldn’t it…” I trailed off, thinking about what we could do.

“Maybe, we could get some coffee or something to eat?” I suggested, playing with a bit of hair that got in my face waiting for his reaction. “I'm so down for both” he said excitedly. “But I'm paying,” he added. “Oh no, you don't have to, i can pay for myself i don't mind,” i quickly said not wanting him to feel like he had to foot any kind of bill. “Nope.” he said popping the p “I'm paying, so don't worry your pretty redhead.” He patted my head, grabbed my hand, and started pulling me through the library. “Uhh Diaval? I still need to check this book out," I reminded him. He stopped with a blush and a quick cough.

“Of course. Go right ahead, I'll wait right here.” He said pulling his phone out. I shook my head, and gave him a light little shove. “Dork” I giggled, and snorted. He looked up and laughed. “Hey, she does have a soul!” he exclaimed. I walked away, giving him the bird. He laughed, and I turned my focus to checking out the book that had led me into this wonderful situation.

RomanceFiction

About the Creator

Raven St. Woode

I've been writing off and on for a few years. I have a lot of topics to write about now. I'm 24, nonbianary, and love listening to music. I've been working on a oringinal story for some time now, and I'm excited to share it with y'all.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Raven St. WoodeWritten by Raven St. Woode

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.