Feast logo

My pregnancy cravings made me discover Dutch Baby Pancakes

They're yummy and fluffy

By Adrianna Anastasiades Published 9 months ago 3 min read
1
Dutch Baby Pancakes

Pancakes; everybody loves them and most countries make them differently. They are easy to make, and a crowd pleaser as a breakfast dish.

There are also well known pancake styles around the world, such as France being famous for thin crepes, the USA being famous for fluffy buttermilk pancakes and Japan being famous for jiggly soufflé pancakes. There are also savory pancakes too, such as Kimchijeon from South Korea, or Latkes that's in Jewish cuisine.

There are also different toppings and fillings for pancakes; such as maple syrup, lemon and sugar, banana and Nutella.

Being pregnant has made me crave pancakes a lot, and luckily there are many pancake houses in Seoul.

As I was doing my research for a pancake house in a nearby location, I discovered a pancake house that made something that I had never tried before. Poly's Pancakes had Dutch Baby Pancakes on their menu and I was curious.

The interior of this pancake house had a retro style, which was really cool and it had a lot of Pop culture reference to it too. The Dutch Baby Pancake took 20 minutes to wait, so I enjoyed a nice, cool glass of freshly squeeze orange juice as I waited with great curiosity.

What is a Dutch Baby Pancake?

What is a Dutch Baby Pancake? Well, it originated in Seattle, Washington, USA and has been around since the 1900's. They were first served in a restaurant owned by a man named Victor Manca. This restaurant owner put a trademark on this dish in 1942. The pancake itself was inspired from a German pancake dish called Pfannkuchen.

It looks like a giant British Yorkshire pudding or an American popover. It is made in the oven, but deflates once it's out of the oven and can be eaten as a sweet or savoury dish. Poly's Pancakes sold them as sweet dishes, and I had the honey and banana.

The pancake itself is thick, but it is light and fluffy. It doesn't feel heavy to eat and I enjoyed it as a brunch dish.

Have you ever eaten Dutch Baby Pancakes? Well, if you're quite the domestic god or goddess, then you can try to make this at home.

What's in a Dutch Baby Pancake?

To my surprise, baking powder is not used when making this kind of pancake. In fact, the main ingredients for this recipe are the basics: eggs, milk and flour. All you need is a cast iron to cook it in and pop it in the oven. Then you just sprinkle some cinnamon powder or powdered sugar on top and you'll feel like you're eating at a restaurant.

When I was served my pancake in the restaurant, the waitress gave me whipped cream on the side and advised me to eat it with every bite. It was creamy and delicious. The honey wasn't too rich for the pancake, and the bananas are always the best kind of fruit to eat with any kind of pancake.

Would you try them?

Thanks to my pregnancy, I am wanting to try new foods as well as eat comforting ones. I have always been a foodie, and being pregnant has not stopped me from wanting to explore new foods. However, it has limited me from eating some of my favorites (sushi).

If you haven't tried Dutch Baby Pancakes before, I would highly recommend for you to try them, and if you have, what was your favorite topping or what toppings would you suggest to try with it?

restaurantsfeaturecuisine
1

About the Creator

Adrianna Anastasiades

Born and raised in London. Living in Seoul, South Korea. Studied BA (Hons) Magazine Journalism and Feature Writing at Southampton Solent University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    So good! Your post are fire, Adrianna. Have a fantastic Sunday :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.