Feast logo

My 2021 Christmas Food Guide

This Cooking Blog Ruined Me For All Others

By FloraPublished 2 years ago β€’ 4 min read
1
My 2021 Christmas Food Guide
Photo by Rumman Amin on Unsplash

This Cooking Blog Ruined me for All Others.

I discovered Half Baked Harvest three years ago, and since then, 99% of my food inspo comes from the blog. And no, I am not being paid by Tieghan or her team to write this. I just am such a fan, I can not recommend her enough. I even bought one of her cookbooks for both my mother and boyfriend's mother. It truly is going to be a Half Baked Harvest Christmas in my house.

You can check out her blog here

So Christmas is coming, and this is what I am serving. I can not wait to get in the kitchen and try new recipes, and a few old favorites. Tis' the season.

Appetizers

Cheese is what I like best. So if I am coming to your party, expect baked brie, a cheese platter, and a cream cheese shrimp dip. But this year, I am branching out slightly, while still keeping my love of cheese as the center of attention.

Honey Whipped Ricotta and Prosccitto Crackers

This looks like the perfect balance of sweet and salty while keeping it classy and decedent.

Cheese and Bacon Wrapped Puff Pastry

Puff pastry... good. Bacon... good. Cheese.... good. You can't go wrong. They seem quick and easy and a snack even my niece and nephews under four will like.

Cranberry Brie Pull-Apart bread

I have made this before and loved it. It is a rich flavor burst that melts in your mouth. A little messy, but everyone raved about it after the party.

Drinks

I am a big drink fanatic. Not in an 'I can't have a good time without a drink' way, but I really like to have feature drinks when I host and like trying new things. I don't want to bore people with highballs. I think I would be a good bartender in another life.

Cranberry Punch

Imagine cold Cranberry cider, with vodka. I can not wait to have this festive drink. You can never get enough cranberry at Christmas time.

Champagne Twist

You can't have New Years' without champagne. This looks light and fruity. A perfect way to sip into the New Year.

Vanilla Gingerbread Latte

Coffee and liquor? Who said you can't start drinking at 10 am? Good thing is, no one needs to know. And gingerbread is my soul sister.

Dinner

For Christmas dinner, we always have family friends over. So although I make a full meal, it will double by the time everyone arrives. With more sides than you can count and desserts that would make you sick if you had your share. I always try to do a lot of different savory vegetable dishes and always try to bake some fresh bread. This year we are doing lamb for dinner, and taking a little break from turkey.

Rolls

These look so light and airy. I can't want to slap some garlic butter on them as they come fresh out of the oven.

Winter Salad

I have made this quite a few times. The walnuts could be eaten straight like candy, and the fruit makes it a light palate cleanser. Such a fresh bowl of greens.

Brussel Sprouts

I know, I know. Most people don't like brussel sprouts. But my boyfriend and I can't live without them. We love the texture, the slight bitterness, and even the smell. Odd, I know. But the goat cheese and pomegranate arils make it seem irresistible for brussel sprout fans.

Butternut Squash

Okay, just look how cool this looks? I usually cube butternut squash, or even on a rare occasion, mash it. But keeping it whole looks so classy and fun. I can't wait to try this one out.

Lamb

I am a 'lamb over any other meat kind' of girl. I always have found turkey to be bland and dry, so I often do a ham, roast beef, or lamb chops for special dinners. I have tried this recipe before and loved it. Can't wait to show it off again.

Dessert

Christmas is the time to eat your body weight in sugar cookies and chocolate. I can't wait to rot my teeth and make my belly hurt with sweets. This year I am going to try a few new things, while still making the classics, like sugar plums and nuts & bolts.

Chai Gingerbread Cake

I am obsessed with all things chai or cinnamon. It is the perfect flavor to add to sweet, in my opinion. This cake looks balanced and so festive.

Salted Caramel Pretzel Bars

You always need some sort of bar or cookie laying around at Christmas time. I usually go for the decorated sugar cookies. But this time I am going to branch out and lean into the pretzel and chocolate fad.

Eggnog Rolls

Eggnog flavored dessert? Yes, please. I am a sucker for cinnamon buns, so add some holiday flavors in there, and you have the perfect new treat. I may even make this for a special breakfast.

I remember my mom always being so stressed when it came to cooking for guests. But I am the opposite.

I can't wait to have my family and friends over. I have already read through all the recipes and made grocery lists and planned when I will make all the items. I find being alone in the kitchen soothing. I put on a podcast or music and just slave away. I have so much comfort in this blog that I wanted to share its magic with you all.

If you need any cooking inspiration, I highly recommend Half Baked Harvest. She makes such incredible dishes that look like art.

Merry Christmas, everyone. Happy cooking, baking, and eating.

xoxo

Flora

recipe
1

About the Creator

Flora

π’―π‘œπ“‡π‘œπ“ƒπ“‰π‘œ-π’·π’Άπ“ˆπ‘’π’Ή W𝓇𝒾𝓉𝑒𝓇

π•—π•šπ•”π•₯π•šπ• π•Ÿ, 𝕑𝕠𝕖π•₯𝕣π•ͺ, π•’π•Ÿπ•• π•™π•¦π•žπ• π•¦π•£

@κœ°ΚŸα΄Κ€α΄€κœ±.α΄€α΄œΚ€α΄€

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.