Feast logo

Mustard

Top 3 Foods That You NEVER THOUGHT You Could Have This With!

By Ronnie GonzalezPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I LOVE mustard. It's a really good condiment! In fact, I favor mustard over ketchup at times. I can name you some pretty good combos—the foods that you can incorporate mustard with. Whether it's French's (my personal favorite brand) or Heinz (my second favorite), mustard is my go-to condiment!

3. Mustard with French Fries

I believe I have one or two relatives that share this same adoration: Mustard and French fries!

Instead of the usual ketchup that always pairs with fries, I tend to go for the yellow goodness that mustard offers. That tangy taste pairing with the saltiness of the fries, I believe, is a good combination.

The funny thing about this is that every time I go a fast-food place like McDonalds, I would hope and pray for packets of mustard in the condiments section of the restaurant. Unfortunately, I haven't come across a McDonalds restaurant that actually carries mustard packets along with the ketchup packets. In fact, I'm so much as tempted to write a petition telling McDonalds to start carrying mustard packets in their stores (that would be a good idea, right? That way the restaurant chain can cater to mustard-lovers like me!)

In the meantime, I could only hope to bring my McDonalds meal home with me, bust out the bottle of French's mustard, and squirt some on a plate to go with the fries.

2. Mustard on Hard Boiled Eggs

I actually came across this combo when I started liking hard boiled eggs.

I was learning how to boil eggs from off a cooking website, when I was thinking, "What if...?" That "what if" turned into an experiment, because at that time, I was craving mustard. At that time, I wanted mustard; I wanted so badly to eat some, but I needed an excuse to do so, so that no one would find it weird of me to eat mustard by itself.

So, once the eggs were boiled, I sliced each of the four eggs in half, placed them in a bowl, and then wet them in Italian dressing. Next came the mustard, which I had squirted on top of each slice. The final touch, I believe, was Old Bay seasoning. And the end result was me smiling, as I took a bite of the egg. The mustard brought this sour, bitter taste that made the egg taste so good, especially since Italian dressing and Old Bay were involved.

1. Popcorn with a Side of Mustard

I remember enjoying some popcorn with my peers in grad school, and I had asked if it was weird to pair mustard with popcorn. And they thought it was cool. And, to be perfectly honest, I was relieved, because I had someone message me in a blog that that was weird.

But anyway, this has been my favorite thing to pair mustard with, which is popcorn.

I came across this combination when I was an undergraduate at the University of the Incarnate Word. I took a bag of microwave popcorn to school, because the cafeteria had a couple of microwaves for students to use. And for some reason, I had grabbed a few packets of mustard, thinking that I would eat some out of the packets. But instead, curiosity took over, and I was testing the mustard on one or two pieces of popcorn. I tried this combo, and I was amazed. The buttery-and-sour combo was awesome. It was so awesome that from then on, I didn't dare eat popcorn by itself again. Mustard was my go-to side to have with popcorn—hands down!

Conclusion

Ever since I began experimenting with what I can pair mustard with, it's been a culinary journey for me, even though I don't consider myself a chef in any way. I'm just a girl who likes mustard a lot.

list
Like

About the Creator

Ronnie Gonzalez

YouTuber: LarryBoy Fanatic

Gaming Connoisseur: gamer_vrouw

Writer: "Dolphin Princess" series (Barnes and Noble Press)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.