Feast logo

Mouthwatering Excursion With Pumpkin Pie

A Prose and Reflective Piece Of Enjoying Pumpkin Pie

By DaphsamPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
2
Mouthwatering Excursion With Pumpkin Pie
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

Oh, the pumpkin pie is one of my favorite pies for Thanksgiving. Nothing is better than a warm, spicy flavor full of cinnamon nutmeg with hints of clove.

The pumpkin in the pie is the conductor of this delicious symphony of a Thanksgiving dessert. The pumpkin is the conductor who swings his baton, and with each bite, he cues the sweet cinnamon to make its presence known. As my taste develops, I feel the conductor sweep his baton to the nutmeg to show the flavor in this mouthwatering moment.

The burst of spicy warmth infuses a sense of home and Autumn Delights that I crave. I take my fork covered with the next bite of pumpkin pie, the sweet vanilla and earthy warmth waft to my nose.

This mystical aroma deepens my heart and stirs memories of past Thanksgiving, surrounded by the long wooden table in my parent’s home, with soft sounds of Frank Sinatra serenading us in the background and laughter from young and old. The pumpkin pie, one of my late mother’s favorite desserts, will always hold a special place in my heart.

As I dive my fork into the pumpkin pie, I realize this is not just an act of eating. This is a culinary experience, one that evokes and touches all the senses. My desire to dip the fork into the fluffy, white whipped cream nestled on top of the golden crust of the pumpkin pie is like a siren’s call: taste me.

As I scoop up some of that sweet, whipped cream with sprinkles of cinnamon, my heart flutters with anticipation that’s hard to rein in. I can’t rush this moment. My gut tells me to slow down, but my stomach says to go faster. But I remind myself to let this be a marathon and not a sprint at the table. Enjoy the sweet sensation of this delectable, sweet pumpkin pie. My moist lips envelope around the fork; the pumpkin pie and whipped cream are like dancers that create the perfect choreography of flavors.

Oh, this is divine, a symphony of flavors with harmonious duets. Do I dare change the dance partners and cause an upset?

My gaze is caught by the vanilla ice cream that’s being passed around in a clear glass bowl. How can I not add to this tantalizing trip of autumn delights and sweet sensations? On the silver screen, vanilla ice cream and pumpkin pie are like Tom Hanks and Meryl Streep.

As Tom Hanks is classical and charming, he’s the epitome of a well-scooped vanilla ice cream on a spoon. Dependable with a hint of nostalgia, you know what you’ll get.

As for the classic Meryl Streep, who knows how to take on versatile roles. Pumpkin is no different as it is cast in many different roles throughout the holiday season. Classic, rich and deep, Meryl Streep epitomizes a fine piece of pumpkin pie.

So yes, the pumpkin pie with a hefty scoop of vanilla ice cream will be the perfect balance to excite my palate next.

On the heels of such a flavorful bite, my senses are attuned to this pumpkin pie piece’s velvety and creamy texture. It makes me want to kick off my shoes and rub my feet on the plush green carpet beneath the Thanksgiving table.

Bite after bite fills my stomach with sweet delights. I don’t want to end up as big as the balloon I saw on TV at the Thanksgiving Macy’s Parade. My flavorful sojourn is coming to an end. My fork is placed on the empty white plate as if I just put flowers on a graveside.

Finishing off, I pay my respects and joined the line of procession to the dishwasher. With one last look at the abandoned pumpkin pie tin that now sits quietly at the deserted table, I walk over with a final look and I whisper, “Until we meet again.”

Thank you for reading!

Please share with me your favorite Thanksgiving desserts in the comments.

This was originally published on Medium.

cuisineHoliday
2

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Was this one for a challenge? We don’t get pumpkin pie much here in Australia ..at least not on menus or in the shops usually. I’ve only had it a couple of times but enjoyed. I love spices! Terrific and fun reflection..I almost felt a little full by the end! Somehow even Hanks and Streep even got a shout out too! 😄 Classic stuff.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.