Feast logo

Keep It Cute With Kiwi!

Exotic fruit making sexy sweet...

By Ashley TerrellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo credit: Medical News Today

Growing up, my parents provided basic fruits for my brother and me. I remember when my father use to pick the peach and plum trees after work. I remember every June, my mom would take my brother and me to the strawberry patch.

We had basic knowledge of fruits and how to cook and bake with them.

As I got older and explored different foods, I came across an interesting fruit I didn't recall eating, nor seeing, growing up in the suburbans of the Tidewater area [of Virginia].

I remember the day I discovered a bright green oval shaped fruit with a brown fuzzy covering called kiwifruit. This fruit was the size of the palm of my hand packed with a sweet, tart and bold taste.

I had to know more about the low-calorie food!

Kiwi is from the group, Genus Actinidia, a large berry grown on woody vines.

Also known as Yang Tao, kiwifruit is the national fruit of New Zealand. Kiwi originated in New Zealand growing during the warmer months, but originated in eastern China. Introduced to the United States in the 1960's, kiwi is grown in California between November to May.

Here's a few fascinating facts I've learned about the exotic fruit.

Kiwi is packed with antioxidants - perfect for glowing skin.

Antioxidants help protect against free radicals, cell damage, and help achieve glowing skin.

According to Aveeno, a 90-day study with 60 participants with aging skin consumed kiwi extract supplement and saw skin improvement with fewer wrinkles.

A study in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology found folate in kiwi can help develop new cells, necessary for healthy and glowing skin.

Eating kiwi can improve your immune system.

A study found kiwifruit can improve immunity against cold or flu-like illnesses.

Vitamin C, an antioxidant found in kiwifruit, is essential for your body's immunity, cell damage repair, and protect against certain health ailments.

According to Web MD, kiwi has over 200% of the recommended intake of Vitamin C.

Studies show eating kiwis daily can lower respiratory tract infections and symptoms.

Kiwifruit can lower reduce the risks of stroke and other cardiovascular complications.

Kiwi contains a peptide called kissper which combats inflammation within the colon.

A 2014 study showed three kiwifruits daily can reduce lower blood pressure and blood clotting.

Another study showed consuming at least three kiwifruits daily can lower blood clotting significantly. The study discovered a reduction in the amount of fat in the bloodstream.

The skin and flesh of kiwifruits is edible as well as high in dietary fiber which can help lower your bad cholesterol, or LDL cholesterol.

Foods high in dietary fiber can help reduce constipation and gastrointestinal complications.

Photo credit: The Mindful Mocktail

Eat kiwi to promote good eye health.

According to Healthline, a study showed consuming three kiwis a day can improve eye health by 36%.

High levels of antioxidants, lutein and zeaxanthin, found in kiwi can help boost eye health.

Kiwifruit is packed with antioxidants and carontenoids which help improve eye health and prevent eye diseases.

Eat kiwi to go to sleep.

I can testify to eating at least two kiwis an hour before bed has helped me sleep better.

When I'm out of melatonin, kiwis are my alternative sleep aid.

Researchers discovered kiwi has numerous medicinal compounds including, but not limited to serotonin, which promotes sleep.

A study of 24 male participants showed improvement going to sleep and sleeping through the night by 42%. Participants total sleep time increased over 100%.

Eating kiwi can reduce lung complications.

Alternatively known as chinese gooseberries, consuming kiwis weekly to improve respiratory ailments, like asthma.

Eating kiwis have helped my lung performance during biking, basketball and pilates workouts!

Interestingly enough, there's a study of 2,000 participants showed improvement in lung function when kiwis are eaten regularly.

I love the taste of kiwi in my green tea.

Luckily, I came across Stella Bistro Foods Steamy Eyed Tea in Strawberry Kiwi Tea. The sweet, tart, yet bold flavor from kiwi is the perfect hint needed with my strawberries in my green tea.

I love to snack on sliced kiwis topped with raw sugar. Kiwis are the perfect fruit to use in a picnic-friendly fruit salad.

How do you eat your kiwi?

healthy
1

About the Creator

Ashley Terrell

Bestselling author. Entrepreneur. Seasonings and spices saved my life. Where sheep and angels share the same color. Newport News, VA. Conqueror and lover of all things Fine Arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.